Arlington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Used this on Salmon prepared with the Simple Seared Salmon recipe (also by Chef John). That technique was as easy and tasty as he promised. I was apprehensive that this sauce would be too hot for my young son so I used chile sauce instead of chile paste and added about 1/2 tsp. of chile powder to "heat it up" a bit. He said his favorite part of the meal was the sauce! My wife, not a fish lover, enjoyed this. (Although she did let me finish her portion.) I put the skillet directly on the "flavorizer bars" of my gas grill instead of the hot coals described in his Simple Seared Salmon recipe. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starsfan101

Starbucks® Caramel Frappuccino Copycat Recipe

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Made my own caramel sauce and im in love with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsfan101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Freckle Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe has been in our family for years too! it's a super easy cake that everyone raves about. We top it with powdered sugar...it's never failed me....I highly recommend trying this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I must agree with others that the dressing was a bit too sweet. I used an olive oil based mayonnaise with black pepper in place of the "creamy salad dressing." I think next time I will reduce the sugar and half the dressing or double the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paposgirl

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Note to self (&other newbies) when it's "crumble" ....CRUMBLE! I made mine into little pats of topping! HAHA! Tasted REALLY awesome! I spatula-ed off the tops into a bowl & then spooned the bottoms into anther. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Everyone in my family loved this, even my picky kid cleared his plate. I did make some changes, as usual. Like others. I lightly pounded out the chicken breasts, then floured them with seasoned flour. I browned them inbutter and olive oil, then took them out, added the garlic and some shallots, then the tomatoes. I deglazed the pan with chicken stock and a bit of Sherry, then reduced it for about 15 minutes. Then I added the cream and cooked it down a bit, thenadded the chicken back into the pan along with some artichoke hearts, and added some fresh parmesan. I let that bubble away whilemy pasta cooked. Added the fresh basil before serving. I did think that there wasn't enough save, but I don't think youreally need to double it, I will just add a bit extra cream and broth next time. And there definitely will be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I am not much of a chocolate cake fan, but even I have to say this cake is one of the best I've ever tasted. I've been making this a lot since I've found the recipe. It's rich and moist and very easy to make. I bake in small bundt pans, drizzle with chocolate ganache (overkill, I know) and use in my holiday goody bags as presents around Xmas. It's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is so easy to make you can increase or decrease the amount without any problem. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. I am not a big fan of tiramisu, but I've already made this twice in less than 2 months and everyone loves it. I will be making it again. There's also a video that matches this recipe that's very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy Summer Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I love it that you can use this shrimp dish with almost anything (rice, pasta, salad, etc..). It's become one of my favorite ways of cooking shrimp. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was my fist time making Alfredo sauce from scratch. I LOVED it! So much better than the jars of sauce I had been buying. I was super impressed with how easy it was to make. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tex-Mex Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I thought this recipe was a good baseline recipe. I did however make some modification based on what I had on hand. I used plain tortilla chips in place of the Doritos, added chopped sweet bell peppers to the onion step and substituted taco seasoning for the chili powder and ground cumin. I also used leftover Rotisserie chicken. I layered crushed chips, chicken/soup mixture, shredded cheese twice ending with shredded cheese on top. It tasted even better for leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beau Monde Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
sub some greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir Fry Glazed Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is actually good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lipsius Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

Honey Parsnips

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I am still in the middle of cooking this. Something must be off here. Too much water? Too short cooking time? As directed, the honey, water, butter mixture never coated the parsnips to begin with....Just became honey water. And so..after the initial 30 minute cooking time, the parsnips were nowhere near soft..I kept adding to the cooking time...I am now at over an hour and 30 minutes going on two hours. Looks like this sauce is reducing slowly and may coat..Probably will taste fine when done. After all,,boiling in buttered honey water will most definitely make most vegetables taste pretty good.....End result...OK,,after 2 hours+ cooking time (I added some cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper..) this was indeed delicious..but I find the directions need some editing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njbruce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dump Cake V

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
So good and so easy. Doesn't get much better than that for this Texan. Altho, not for dieters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Buckley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Lasagna Lite

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
This was really good. I failed to get the refried beans so I sauteed an onion with the turkey. If you have high blood pressure, there's a salt-free recipe for taco seasoning and enchilada sauce on this website. I fried an egg and put on top of a serving for breakfast. My husband LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindainthelabratory
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
The very first time I made this cake, it came out SOO very moist. The only change I made was instead of using 1 cup of boiling water, I used 1 cup fresh brewed strong coffee. It added a flavor to the chocolate that my dinner party enjoyed a lot. By the end of the night, there was only a few slices left. Thanks for this addition (and staple) to my dessert collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mikayla22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This one is really good. This recipe here is the best just the way it is. Thank you Laria for sharing YOUR recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lipsius Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

Korean BBQ Chicken Marinade

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was a big hit. I made exactly as specified. I doubled the recipe and then after marinating I used the juices to make a gravy/ sauce by adding 2 tbsp of cornstarch mixed with 2 tbsp of water and bring to a boil until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmartLikeAFox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Made exactly as specified and it was delicious. My kids loved it too. I will being making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmartLikeAFox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States