Arlington - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Nacho Cheese Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I just made this with sea salt and it turned out great. The only modification I did was add 1/8 cup of water. It was a little too thick for my liking but after adding water it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MizzTona

Bacon Wrapped Water Chestnuts III

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Just made these and they turned out great! The only modification I did was 1 less cup of ketchup. Will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Pie III

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
So very close to a recipe I have been searching to match for over 25 years. My husband says this is the one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SepulvedaMom
Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SmartLikeAFox

Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Made this exactly to the recipe and the dumplings were perfect. This is now my go to dumpling recipe. I have tried many that just weren't quite right, but these were exactly what I was going for. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmartLikeAFox

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Cranberry Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This is a good and simple recipe. But I use 1 cup of water instead of orange juice. Once the mixture is cool, I add a tbsp or two of orange liquor such as Grand Marnier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fast Salmon with a Ginger Glaze

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Used this on Salmon prepared with the Simple Seared Salmon recipe (also by Chef John). That technique was as easy and tasty as he promised. I was apprehensive that this sauce would be too hot for my young son so I used chile sauce instead of chile paste and added about 1/2 tsp. of chile powder to "heat it up" a bit. He said his favorite part of the meal was the sauce! My wife, not a fish lover, enjoyed this. (Although she did let me finish her portion.) I put the skillet directly on the "flavorizer bars" of my gas grill instead of the hot coals described in his Simple Seared Salmon recipe. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starsfan101

Starbucks® Caramel Frappuccino Copycat Recipe

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Made my own caramel sauce and im in love with this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsfan101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Freckle Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe has been in our family for years too! it's a super easy cake that everyone raves about. We top it with powdered sugar...it's never failed me....I highly recommend trying this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I must agree with others that the dressing was a bit too sweet. I used an olive oil based mayonnaise with black pepper in place of the "creamy salad dressing." I think next time I will reduce the sugar and half the dressing or double the cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paposgirl

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Note to self (&other newbies) when it's "crumble" ....CRUMBLE! I made mine into little pats of topping! HAHA! Tasted REALLY awesome! I spatula-ed off the tops into a bowl & then spooned the bottoms into anther. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Everyone in my family loved this, even my picky kid cleared his plate. I did make some changes, as usual. Like others. I lightly pounded out the chicken breasts, then floured them with seasoned flour. I browned them inbutter and olive oil, then took them out, added the garlic and some shallots, then the tomatoes. I deglazed the pan with chicken stock and a bit of Sherry, then reduced it for about 15 minutes. Then I added the cream and cooked it down a bit, thenadded the chicken back into the pan along with some artichoke hearts, and added some fresh parmesan. I let that bubble away whilemy pasta cooked. Added the fresh basil before serving. I did think that there wasn't enough save, but I don't think youreally need to double it, I will just add a bit extra cream and broth next time. And there definitely will be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I am not much of a chocolate cake fan, but even I have to say this cake is one of the best I've ever tasted. I've been making this a lot since I've found the recipe. It's rich and moist and very easy to make. I bake in small bundt pans, drizzle with chocolate ganache (overkill, I know) and use in my holiday goody bags as presents around Xmas. It's a hit every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
This is so easy to make you can increase or decrease the amount without any problem. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. I am not a big fan of tiramisu, but I've already made this twice in less than 2 months and everyone loves it. I will be making it again. There's also a video that matches this recipe that's very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zippy Summer Shrimp

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I love it that you can use this shrimp dish with almost anything (rice, pasta, salad, etc..). It's become one of my favorite ways of cooking shrimp. Thank you for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maguie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Lemon Chicken

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I really liked this but my SO said the sauce was too sweet. I served mine with mashed potatoes (and that may have been the problem). He said it would probably be better with rice or something else for a more Asian fare. Rated it 4 stars because it was super simple (as the name implies) and I used ingredients I already had in the house-- no running to the store to pick-up that one thing I forgot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creations by ME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I am having a very difficult time rating this dish. My husband HATED it (didn't eat more than two bites); however, I really liked the spices used with the chicken and the butter/oil frying method (I am actually adapting a chicken fettuccini alfredo recipe from this base). I don't know if it was the sauce coating the chicken or what. I am going to play around with this and adapt to my tastes. P.S. I would have rated 2 1/2 stars (as he hated and I liked)-- but I felt the easy in preparation should count for something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Creations by ME

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This was my fist time making Alfredo sauce from scratch. I LOVED it! So much better than the jars of sauce I had been buying. I was super impressed with how easy it was to make. Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizzTona

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tex-Mex Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I thought this recipe was a good baseline recipe. I did however make some modification based on what I had on hand. I used plain tortilla chips in place of the Doritos, added chopped sweet bell peppers to the onion step and substituted taco seasoning for the chili powder and ground cumin. I also used leftover Rotisserie chicken. I layered crushed chips, chicken/soup mixture, shredded cheese twice ending with shredded cheese on top. It tasted even better for leftovers the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beau Monde Dip

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
sub some greek yogurt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stir Fry Glazed Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
This is actually good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Lipsius Evans

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States