Amarillo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Flavorful Beef Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
This is an excellent - and quick - stir fry. The sauce is very good, and acts as a good thickener for the finished product. My only real complaint is that 6 Tbsp of soy sauce is too salty overall - even with the veggies. I've made it twice now, and the second time, I altered it slightly: 5 Tbsp of soy, and I added a large crushed clove of garlic to the meat sauce. The garlic really punches up the flavor, which I found slightly bland the first time around. I served this with brown rice for everyone else, and I ate it on a bed of cold, fresh iceberg lettuce (to meet my low-carb needs). It would also be excellent with some slightly undercooked cabbage. Overall, though, it's a great dish, and will be a part of my regular cooking regimen. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canis Canon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Onion and Cheddar Burgers

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My whole family loved this burger, we did add A1 sauce to the burgers...But they are quick and delicious Great meal... Fix some french fries with it and there is your meal.... Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juddlebug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Brownfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fantastic, moist, fluffy pancakes. Hint, I added a half teaspoon of pure vanilla extract and the taste was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt at making fudge and it turned out perfect. I read the reviews and followed the hints the other reviewers suggested. Great recipe that reminded me of the fudge my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry Stuffing

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Far to dry as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turkey Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
When I found this recipe I had not saved any of the drippings so I replaced it with chicken broth. Very simple to make and tastes wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry Cake from Scratch

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a very fresh tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
It tasted a little too milky for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Chicken and Dumplings

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Yum, yum, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckeye Balls II

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
These candies really take me back to my mothers kitchen at Christmas time. I lessened the powdered sugar to make it taste more peanutty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a very hearty and delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Curry Tofu

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
I used red cabbage instead of bok choy. It's what I had. Cook it first as it takes longer. I had cauliflower and broccoli so I added that. I used extra firm tofu I had pressed the water out of and baked slowly in the oven spritzed with Braggs Liquid Aminos. It's better for you than soy sauce and you won't be able to tell the difference. You can find it in the natural section of larger grocery stores. I used red curry paste and also so red chili hot oil paste to bring up the heat. You can add just about any vegetable you want. I also added bean sprouts. Just cook the ones that take the longest to cook first. I served this over rice noodles. Quinoa is another good choice and gives a different option than just rice all the time. I also topped it with extra scallions and chopped peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Polish Sausage Kraut Skillet

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I had to use brats sausage because thats all I had but we thought this was delicious. I wondered about the sour cream but I really think it makes this recipe sooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Glazed Apple Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This recipe is definitely a keeper even with the two changes I made. I used one stick of sweet cream butter rather than the 1/2 c. shortening, and I used 1c whole wheat flour with 1c white flour.You talk about good! My husband fell in love wih them, and the group I'm making them for probably will do the same. Thank you, Sandy, for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Frikin' Party Dip Ever!

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Amazing stuff, and of course I tweaked it on the choice of meats as we don't like our sausage hot. I used a mild sausage and it was still amazing. Next, I intend to try it with a mild Italian sausage...or maybe pepperoni, who knows?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Pizza Sauce III

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
mmm! This pizza sauce is so delicious! Have made it twice now. First time was at my daughter's school - we followed the recipe exactly, but added about 1 tbsp fresh basil in the sauce from the kids' garden. This second time, made it just as the recipe indicated and this pizza sauce is beyond delicious! Combined with the "Master Pizza Dough" recipe for her, fresh mozzarella and the pizza taste so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amphiktere

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Pastry Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is amazing. I decided to find another recipe other than my mother's (don't shoot me mom) and this sounded so interesting. I used it for pumpkin pies this year. The dough is very easy to work with. I did not change a thing, following the directions to the letter. Prior to baking I brushed the crust with beaten egg whites (and if I were making a double crust pie, sprinkled the top with sugar for a crispy, shiny crust) The mini test pie I made got rave reviews from the "testers" aka the kids. I have been instructed to always use this recipe from now on. I can't thank you enough for your amazing recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Courtney Putnam

Kitty Litter Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I used Little Debbie Cosmic Brownies (colorful chips removed) for the poops this go around. Did Tootsie Rolls last year. Brownies work MUCH better! Smeared a little on the side of the box and refrained from adding too many. If you notice, if you put too much poo in the cake, it looks artificial. My picture is currently 149 and is a green box with ingredients around it. The camera flaked out and made everything yellow, but I was rushed because everyone wanted to start eating the cake. I also put the box on newspapers...that was a really nice touch. It was a major hit this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Putnam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Hooper, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff I

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
Absolutley delicious! All I added was more mushrooms. My husband finished all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Cake II

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I made this recipie into cupcakes and they were a smash! I forsted them with a buttercream and sprinkled a little brown suger on top for looks. WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet_nothings101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States