Amarillo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Wonderful Banana Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Needs more stars!! "Wonderful" is modest. As justacitygirl suggested I added another banana, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/2 c. sour cream. I didn't have Duncan Hines Butter yellow cake mix, but made it twice in one week with two different yellow mixes (one was Sugar Free) and just added 1 Tbs. softened butter into the cake batter before adding the bananas and other ingredients. Made it in a dark non-stick bundt pan, so I reduced the oven temp per the cake box instructions (The different types were different temps.) After the first one was so incredibly moist I decided not to even flour my pan on the second one. I came right out and was smoother on the surface. I ate mine plain with nothing added. My husband LOVES frozen whipped topping. He nuked his for a few seconds then generously dolloped the topping on. This cake is DEVINE; naked or not. :-D Thx for posting this winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonderful Banana Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Needs more stars!! "Wonderful" is modest. I didn't have Duncan Hines Butter yellow cake mix, but made it twice in one week with two different yellow mixes (one was Sugar Free) and just added 1 Tbs. softened butter into the cake batter before adding the bananas and other ingredients. Made it in a dark non-stick bundt pan, so I reduced the oven temp per the cake box instructions (The different types were different temps.) After the first one was so incredibly moist I decided not to even flour my pan on the second one. I came right out and was smoother on the surface. I ate mine plain with nothing added. My husband LOVES frozen whipped topping. He nuked his for a few seconds then generously dolloped the topping on. This cake is DEVINE; naked or not. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caraway Rye Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I really like this recipe. I am enjoying my second batch of these muffins. Second time is much better now that I know a little more on high alltitude baking. I added more Caraway seed because I like the flavor. Thanks so much for listing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I love this recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocoa Rub

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a wonderful reciepe. And the flavors are FANTASTIC. I only gave this 4 stars because as written is far to much salt. So I would suggest decressing the salt. It is also not made for the spice sissy as it has a pretty good kick. I'll be lowering the ground pepper as well. But the flavors are on point. Wonderful and I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Holy Cow People!! This is one excellent alfredo recipe. I did make a few alterations merely to suit my family's tastes and what I had on hand. Specifically, I upped the mushrooms, omitted the tomatoes, and deglazed the pan (after browning the chicken) with a nice white wine. I would recommend trying the wine modification, as nothing is yummier than wine with garlic. Very nice recipe. Thank you, Emily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: New Market, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Delicious! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
YUM!! These are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caribbean Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
The recipe is quite good as is, but based on what I had in stock and what we really like, I made the following changes, and it was awesome! 1) Changed the flours to 1 cup white & 2 cups whole wheat 2) reduced the oil by about 1/3 3) didn't have any applesauce to use but used a little crushed pineapple instead (even more Carribean) 4) added one more very small banana 5) reduced the sugars by more than half and added some Splenda or Sugar Twin to replace just some of that (maybe half). 6) added some coconut as another poster mentioned (also a sweet component) 7) added about 1/2 c chopped pecans too (actually ait was probably a little more than that, because we really love them down here in Texas) 8) tossed in a few raisins and dried cranberries too as well as about 1/3 c of flax seed. 9) lastly I added about 1/3 - 1/2 c of quick oats for a little extra fiber. I used 4 mini loaf pans. Just make sure they are evenly spaced in the oven and check for doneness with a toothpick a little sooner than you would with the larger loaves. Next time I may leave some of those ingredients out and try fresh chopped cranberries (for a little tartness and maybe substitute a little grated carrot for some of the zuchini just for a little change-up **Btw if zucchini is on sale or you just happen to have a lot on hand, grate it and freeze in 2 1/2 c portions to be ready to bake the next batch. Spread it thin in a freezer container or flat in a freezer bag for quick incorporation on short notice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Georgia's Tennessee Jam Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
I hate to tell you this but my grandmother made that exact same cake more than 60 years ago in Arkansas. I don't know where she got the recipe but I have it and I have loved it all these years including the black walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bjr6350

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond-Topped Fish

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Delicious. I substituted thyme for the dill. The toasted almonds make the dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Parker Cordova

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Cauliflower

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Love this! So easy and so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I did as others and marinated the chicken breast in buttermilk first. The changes I made were as follows: I used cream cheese instead of sour cream and added sauteed mushrooms, onions, spinach, red pepper flakes and fresh garlic. I mixed in parmesian and asiago cheese. I fried the bacon and added half a strip in the middle with the cheese mixture. I topped this with a spoon full of crumbled blue cheese before folding over the chicken breast. I topped with gouda cheese in the final baking step. It was soooo good. I will definately make again. The only sad part is that there were NO leftovers. Yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEBUGSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollandale, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adobo Chicken with Ginger

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I was looking for a dish to make for girl scout international Night (we did the Philippines). And I found this. WOW this went over fantastically. I did 10 lbs and came home with less than a cup. I did follow the recomended changes. (used 1/4 cup Apple Cider Vinegar added 1 cup water. Used ground ginger). This has been added to our main dishes to cook. WOW amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amphiktere

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Delicious! You can't get better than 2 ingredients, and the end result is so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amphiktere

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Style Twice Baked Potatoes

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Hi there. I'm Keri, the person who posted this recipe. I submitted as is due to the fact that I like raw vegetables but since this posting (2006) have found that it would be best to cook the onion and peppers first. Wonderful suggestion! My intention for the sour cream is to top the potato and is optional but it does taste great to add it into the potato mixture as well. I submitted the edits about 2 years ago, it takes a while for it to be processed. Also, use real bacon, not fake bacon pieces if you can. Thank for all of the nice reviews. I'm glad you all have enjoyed is as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Garlic Carrots

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Easy--Quick--Delicious--Different--Inexpensive! What more can you ask for? My hubby doesn't like anything sweet with his meals, and we're both diabetic, watch our sodium intake (used only half the salt called for), and opt for extra fiber wherever we can. Presentation (color & texture variety) and nutritional value are always a consideration for us as well. The aroma builds anticipation quickly! What a home run this recipe is! I tried to stick to the recipe as best I could, but he and I both are a bit impatient when it comes to measuring. I may have cooked them on a lower heat than some of the other reviewers, because I had several other dishes going at the same time and didn't want to have to watch them all that closely. Using a slightly larger skillet makes it easier too since you can just swirl and toss the pan without having to actually stir it. My garlic cloves were enormous, cut the baby carrots in half or thirds if they were really large. I did add extra water somewhere in the process (not necessarily hot water), and was a little heavier handed with the thyme (compared with the photos posted here.) I will definitely ALWAYS use EVOO for this dish as it cranks up the flavor but doesn't overwhelm. Forgot to sprinkle the parmesan on top at the end as suggested by other posters, but I can't wait to try it next time. Definitely will try adding other vegetables too at some time. BTW, this would be a great dish to teach your kids to make too. Thanks, Chris. These are winners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Florns' Chinese Steamed Fish

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I used 2 Roma tomatoes and a pack of shiitake mushrooms (3.5oz) and tilapia in a rice cooker. We loved it. We steamed it for 25 minutes and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

'Dressed' Cucumber

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Of course I added two small limes instead of juice from one. It just didn't seem like enough from one. I also put in more Hot Sauce (Louisiana Hot Sauce) and put in some pepper and a pinch of salt. Didn't have a red bell pepper, so I added a couple slices of tomato to add to the mix. Added a purple onion...and a LOT at that! It was good but I for sure want to try and mix it up a bit for the next times. A great afternoon snack for work and very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Green Eyed Texan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smoked Salmon Vodka Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I loved it, but my husband did not like it at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States