Amarillo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These were so good! Everyone enjoyed them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Smiling Caprese Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Perfect as is! The sauce is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Manicotti

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I always enjoy making these. I double the beef as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
These are great! Crispy just as stated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almost Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is one of those dishes that people always ask me the recipe for! Like others, I add spaghetti sauce and cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Best Barbercue Chicken I have had. My boyfriend always requests it. Sometimes I add 1-2 Tbsp of Liquid Smoke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Best fruit dip ever. As others have mentioned, I add Cool Whip to yield more dip and add brown sugar for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pudding Shots

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
These are always a hit. I fold in Cool Whip when mixing the ingredients and top them with Cool Whip too. I also freeze them and we eat them with spoons like ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
So I have NEVER EVER baked a pie crust from scratch. I have always bought it already in the pan and added my own fillings. (yes I know it was cheating! lol). I tried this recipe and it was pretty great. Flaky, manageable. I only came across two problems. It needs more salt. And after looking I will be doubling the Salt. and needed a little bit more flavor. So I will be using Butter or Butter flavored shortening next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Not Red Spaghetti Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
My hubby was thrilled there were leftovers! Made some changes because 1) didn't have everything called for 2) suggestions from other reviewers 3) needed to use up some things 4) we prefer robust flavors and 5) I'm ALWAYS short on time. I used some browned venison Italian sausage I always keep in the freezer for quick pizzas, and to reduce fat. Likewise, I cut butter in half and added 1/4 c. olive oil. Used about 1 tsp., rounded, chicken bouillon powder since it is quicker than cubes, less sodium, and since I didn't have the extra fat to cook the cube. Used cider vinegar, and added 2 very large cloves minced garlic. Sauteed briefly with the sausage and 8 oz. of mushrooms. Added 3/4 c. of the pasta water, the green onion, and about 3/4 lb. cubed zucchini and cooked just until squash began to soften, then added 2 c. broccoli florets plus thinly sliced stems and about 3/4 - 1 c. thickly julienned red bell pepper. Mixed about 1 1/2 Tbsp. cornstarch and 1/4 c. water and added it to the rest to make it more "saucey". Cooked just until all vegetables were cooked crisp-tender and sauce was no longer watery. Served it over whole wheat pasta and sprinkled with some sliced black olives, chopped fresh basil and crumbled feta cheese. Quick, easy and devinely yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonderful Banana Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Needs more stars!! "Wonderful" is modest. As justacitygirl suggested I added another banana, 1/2 tsp. cinnamon, and 1/2 c. sour cream. I didn't have Duncan Hines Butter yellow cake mix, but made it twice in one week with two different yellow mixes (one was Sugar Free) and just added 1 Tbs. softened butter into the cake batter before adding the bananas and other ingredients. Made it in a dark non-stick bundt pan, so I reduced the oven temp per the cake box instructions (The different types were different temps.) After the first one was so incredibly moist I decided not to even flour my pan on the second one. I came right out and was smoother on the surface. I ate mine plain with nothing added. My husband LOVES frozen whipped topping. He nuked his for a few seconds then generously dolloped the topping on. This cake is DEVINE; naked or not. :-D Thx for posting this winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wonderful Banana Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Needs more stars!! "Wonderful" is modest. I didn't have Duncan Hines Butter yellow cake mix, but made it twice in one week with two different yellow mixes (one was Sugar Free) and just added 1 Tbs. softened butter into the cake batter before adding the bananas and other ingredients. Made it in a dark non-stick bundt pan, so I reduced the oven temp per the cake box instructions (The different types were different temps.) After the first one was so incredibly moist I decided not to even flour my pan on the second one. I came right out and was smoother on the surface. I ate mine plain with nothing added. My husband LOVES frozen whipped topping. He nuked his for a few seconds then generously dolloped the topping on. This cake is DEVINE; naked or not. :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caraway Rye Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I really like this recipe. I am enjoying my second batch of these muffins. Second time is much better now that I know a little more on high alltitude baking. I added more Caraway seed because I like the flavor. Thanks so much for listing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Banana Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I love this recipe,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cocoa Rub

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This is a wonderful reciepe. And the flavors are FANTASTIC. I only gave this 4 stars because as written is far to much salt. So I would suggest decressing the salt. It is also not made for the spice sissy as it has a pretty good kick. I'll be lowering the ground pepper as well. But the flavors are on point. Wonderful and I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
Holy Cow People!! This is one excellent alfredo recipe. I did make a few alterations merely to suit my family's tastes and what I had on hand. Specifically, I upped the mushrooms, omitted the tomatoes, and deglazed the pan (after browning the chicken) with a nice white wine. I would recommend trying the wine modification, as nothing is yummier than wine with garlic. Very nice recipe. Thank you, Emily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: New Market, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Delicious! It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
YUM!! These are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caribbean Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
The recipe is quite good as is, but based on what I had in stock and what we really like, I made the following changes, and it was awesome! 1) Changed the flours to 1 cup white & 2 cups whole wheat 2) reduced the oil by about 1/3 3) didn't have any applesauce to use but used a little crushed pineapple instead (even more Carribean) 4) added one more very small banana 5) reduced the sugars by more than half and added some Splenda or Sugar Twin to replace just some of that (maybe half). 6) added some coconut as another poster mentioned (also a sweet component) 7) added about 1/2 c chopped pecans too (actually ait was probably a little more than that, because we really love them down here in Texas) 8) tossed in a few raisins and dried cranberries too as well as about 1/3 c of flax seed. 9) lastly I added about 1/3 - 1/2 c of quick oats for a little extra fiber. I used 4 mini loaf pans. Just make sure they are evenly spaced in the oven and check for doneness with a toothpick a little sooner than you would with the larger loaves. Next time I may leave some of those ingredients out and try fresh chopped cranberries (for a little tartness and maybe substitute a little grated carrot for some of the zuchini just for a little change-up **Btw if zucchini is on sale or you just happen to have a lot on hand, grate it and freeze in 2 1/2 c portions to be ready to bake the next batch. Spread it thin in a freezer container or flat in a freezer bag for quick incorporation on short notice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States