Amarillo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This is a family favorite. I have to bake it about 1 hr 15 minutes, but I think that has something to do with the climate/altitude here. It comes out moist every time and never falls in the middle. Perfect for Christmas gifts! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jennellie

Delicious Raspberry Oatmeal Cookie Bars

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I was looking for a cookie bar that would be good and delicious, but also easy to make. I came across this recipe and my first thought was, "Wow, how easy and delicious this sounds", but then I started reading the reviews and I began having doubts. But since I really didn't have time to look for anything else, and I already had the ingredients for this I decided to go ahead and risk it. I was suprised with the results. It was delicious!!! Thank you so much! It was not dry at all, the sides were a bit crunchy, but if you let it sit a day or two they soak up some of the jam. It is not at all like a "bad granola bar". I personally loved the way the sides were crunchy and the center was soft and moist. It did not crumble at all, especially if you let it sit. I added about 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the "cookie dough", and when I do this again (which I will do:) I will add 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. Also since I didn't have enough raspberry jam, I did half (oh, I doubled the recipe, and used a 9x13 pan) of raspberry and the other half of blackberry. Quite delicious! I used seeded, and it worked out fine. Well, hope someone else finds this usefull. And people, STOP being so pessimistic! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Pretty good,and very fast and easy. I added meat also. Everyone but my 5 year old daughter liked it...but she liked helping make it =) Yep...it's that easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seraphim26
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Day Before Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Thanks soo much for posting!!! It really helped me out! Plus tasted great, although i did tweak a bit. If you like a slightly acidic taste, you can add natural yogurt. I also added garlic salt. I also lessened the amounts of creamcheese, butter, and sour cream, by a little bit and added some of the water i used for cooking, and milk. THanks again, Erin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Homestyle Turkey, the Michigander Way

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I am fifteen and I live in Mexico. I begged my mom this year if she would please let me fix a thanksgiving dinner. She let me, and i spent a week searching for just the right recipes. I came upon this recipe, and imediatley liked it for it's simplicity ( and it had ingredients i could actually get or find here), besides it had rave reviews. It seemed like it made the most delicious turkey on earth, and the juiciest according to the reviews. I have to say I am VERY disappointed!!!! with the actual results. I did everything, following sugestions given in the reviews, and i even brined it overnight. I was so hopeing for it to come out juicy. I basted it, and did not overcook it. When i took it out of the oven it looked soooo juicy and flavorful. And there were plenty of pan dripings. Sorry to say it waas tasteless and so dry!!!! i don't what i did wrong!!!! :'( i was/am soooooo disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Double Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
The first homemade chocolate pie I've tried that didn't taste like plastic. Amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Loved it, loved it, loved it. I probably added some extra garlic and basil or something but a fantastic change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Oh my gosh. This was the peach cobbler recipe I've been looking for. So good, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
So good =) I have 2 very picky kids...and everyone loved this! Next time, I'm doubling the recipe so I can have left overs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seraphim26
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Pumpkin Seeds

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Great recipe my kids and hubby love them but I boil the seeds for about 10 minutes to ensure the pumpkin slim really comes off then I bake as instructed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eveg06

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pat's Mushroom Saute

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
After so many years of great reviews, I felt like commenting again on this recipe - since it is, after all mine. I've spent a lot of time refining this recipe, and thought I'd share my thoughts on the subject. These days, I start with an 8 oz. package of mushrooms - 1 pound was another clerical error by my mother-in-law - it was always 8 ounces. I start with medium-high heat, and just the butter and mushrooms. Once the 'shrooms start to give up their moisture, I lower the temp to medium andI add crushed garlic and sea salt - two cloves usually. I try not to add the balsamic vinegar too soon, so it doesn't get scorchy and lose its punch. This only takes around 10 mins or so. After I add the vinegar, I kick the heat all the way to high for a couple of minutes. This quickly reduces the balsamic/butter mix without overcooking the shrooms and killing their flavor. The mushrooms shouldn't spend more than 10 -12 minutes on average. Glad everyone has enjoyed the recipe all these years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canis Canon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Banana Crumb Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
These were so good! Everyone enjoyed them very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Smiling Caprese Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Perfect as is! The sauce is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beefy Manicotti

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I always enjoy making these. I double the beef as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Crispy Seasoned French Fries

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
These are great! Crispy just as stated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almost Stuffed Peppers

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
This is one of those dishes that people always ask me the recipe for! Like others, I add spaghetti sauce and cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbecue

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Best Barbercue Chicken I have had. My boyfriend always requests it. Sometimes I add 1-2 Tbsp of Liquid Smoke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Best fruit dip ever. As others have mentioned, I add Cool Whip to yield more dip and add brown sugar for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pudding Shots

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
These are always a hit. I fold in Cool Whip when mixing the ingredients and top them with Cool Whip too. I also freeze them and we eat them with spoons like ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrittanyB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States