Amarillo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made this last Thanksgiving and I will be making it again this year. My family loved it...I just need to add a little more salt and seasoning to it. Yeah baby. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Meoqui, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the same recipe I have made forever (my Mother and Grandmother did as well). Only difference is we use bacon grease (gasp!!) in place of the oil. Melt about 1/3 cup in a cast iron pan or pyrex dish. Pour about 1/4 cup into the mix leaving the rest in the pan. Makes a wonderful crunchy edge on your cornbread. May not be as healthy as using canola oil but worth the risk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Mozzarella Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
DOUBLE YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chicken and Rice Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I realize that I'm rating and reviewing this recipe with changes I made; however, without these changes, I wouldn't have been able to eat the dish, and it's just intriguing enough that I had to take the chance of being fussed at. I added 1 small can of chopped green chilies to compensate for not being able to eat a full-flavored picante sauce, and I added 4 thinly sliced green onions for the same reason. We chose to use the brown rice, cooked in the microwave, and placed into the freezer for about 15 - 20 minutes to cool down rather quickly. The entire dish was room temp, and was very good. I think I'll have planned leftover chicken at least once every week to 10 days just for this dish. It's fantastic!. Thanks to the recipe writer, and please keep up the good work. I'm a for-sure fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I realize I'm rating and reviewing this with changes I felt I needed to make in order for me to eat the dish, so I won't apologize this time. It was an absolutely marvelous dish, and I feel like it would have been wonderful without my changes, except I wouldn't have been able to eat it. This is something I will have in mind each time I have left-over chicken, which is about once in 10 days to two weeks. I'm really going to enjoy this. I may cook extra chicken just so I'm sure to have left-overs! Thank you so much for a real taste treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Our family and friends ADORED this cake! Carrot cake was requested by my son for his birthday party last night. It was light, flakey, and moist with wonderful flavor and pleasing appearance. I omitted the raisins as some of my family and friends at the party don't care for them, used pecans (that's all I had on hand, and my family LOVES them), and substituted 1/4 cup of the oil with unsweetened applesauce. As others suggested, I also made sure to pack the carrots (grated by the larger holes in my grater.) I divided the batter between 3 round cake pans 9 1/2" in diameter with dark non-stick coating and baked them for 30 minutes at 350 degrees then tested with toothpicks in center. They were perfect. This recipe makes enough for 3 ample layers that were just the right thickness. I frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting II on this site as others suggested. I used 1 1/2 recipes of the frosting as I wanted to make sure I had plenty for decorative piping and had maybe a cup leftover which I stored in the freezer for later use. I'm thinking if we ever had any of this cake left over, or if I made 2 of them, it would probably keep well frosted in the freezer for a while. Didn't have time to bake it a day ahead as other posters mentioned, but I can't wait to taste it today! Thanks soooo much Sam & Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
We found this frosting to be heavenly! Great flavor and consistency. Yes, it was very loose and creamy at first (not what I would call runny though), but that worked out great for the initial application to my cake. Had I had time to refrigerate each of the 3 layers with the frosting on top for a few minutes before assembling, I don't think it would need stabilizing with a bamboo skewer through the middle of the 3 layers, though this worked really well. I placed what was left in a glass bowl in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes to firm up while I placed the iced cake in the refrigerator. The firmed frosting worked great in my piping bag for the finishing touches. I made 1 1/2 recipes as I was frosting a large three-layer cake (Sam's Famous Carrot Cake from this site.) Ended up having a little frosting left over, but it's in the freezer for later use. I did add about 1/2-3/4 tsp extra vanilla (to this larger portion) as some other posters had suggested. This frosting apparently accepts color well also according to all the photos posted. Our family and friends devoured the dessert like they had never had cake before - all the while ooo-ing and awww-ing. Will be using this recipe time and again! Thanks for posting, Janni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
The 5 stars is for my version of this recipe. I haven't actually made this one. I add a can of chopped green chilies, cooked noodles and an extra can of soup. I also melt a stick of butter into a sleeve of crushed ritz crackers for the topping. I have made this recipe several years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

7-Up® Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Made as written, this dough turns out to be a wet gooey mess. My husband tried to make them exactly as stated in the recipe but had to adjust. He just sprinkled on more baking mix, worked it in, then repeated this process until it was a workable consistency. The result was definitely a 5-star biscuit. Next time I think we'll cut the soda in half as suggested by other posters or try dropping into muffin tins as suggested by another. I really liked that these were sooooo buttery that no additional was needed after baking. I may try them with a little granulated or powdered garlic sprinkled on the butter and maybe even add a dash of Italian seasoning into the batter for a savory dinner roll. Loved how tender and light they were too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cinnamon Rolls II

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
CAME OUT GREAT!!!! I didn't have a bread machine so I just made it by hand. And they were wonderful. Although they did indeed take about 3 hours to prepare. Instead of using a bread machine I simply combined the warm water and milk with the Yeast and let it sit for 10 minutes. Then I Added the milk, butter and egg. And added all the dry ingredients that I had mixed. It is a little loose. But you can kneed more flour into it. Then I put it in a lightly greased bowl and let it set for 1 hour in a warm place. Punched it down and followed the directions at step 2. I also used Brown Sugar rather than white for spreading and used Pecans instead of walnuts. It was a HUGE HIT. Will DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whole Wheat Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Wonderful! Very moist with lots of blueberries; and I felt ok about feeding these to my kiddos for breakfast. Only thing I did differently was bake at 375 b/c I used a non-stick muffin pan. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaime D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old-Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
Can I just say WOW. I will never go back to boxed pancake mix. WOW. These came out light and fluffy and delicious. They make 8 pancakes when using 1/3 cup. My kids love helping me make them. And they love watching them puff up. when I flip those. I followed the recipe exactly and they came out perfect. They are so good we haven't even started adding fruit or even chocolate chips. I have to also say after watching the video of chef John. my pancakes come out a LOT fluffier. and a LOT thicker. I don't know why but they do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peppered Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Yummy and attractive too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
We love cajun seasoning. So I multiplied the seasoning blend several times and for the garlic salt called for in this recipe, I used about 1/3 garlic salt and 2/3 granulated garlic. So glad I did. This was really quick and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
WONDERFUL!!!! I have always stayed away from making yeast rolls by hand. I found some good frozen ones you thaw out. I decided to try my hand at these. I didn't have a bread machine so I just made these in my mixer. WONDERFUL. I gave some to my mom. And NONE were left in my house. This will probably be my new go to roll recipe. THANKS for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beautiful Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was a good recipe to begin with, but I changed it up to our liking and have been eating it every single Friday night for... I lose count of the years! I use (in this order) bagged "tender baby lettuces", red onion, bacon bits, feta cheese, dried cranberries, walnuts, mandarins, and Newmans - fat free raspberry vinaigrette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Vanover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Black Eyed Susan Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Everyone in the family loved it, except my husband. Even my vegetable hating daughter. Didn't change a thing. Well definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Wine Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Love this! My go to salad dressing now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cola Chops

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
Never thought of doing chops this way, Angela. Have baked beef brisket this way though many times. Love it and so does everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States