Amarillo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Soft Christmas Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I just tried a half batch of these. I've tried several cut out recipes that I didn't care for too much. I did change a couple of things: I used salted butter instead of margarine, I used powdered sugar instead of granulated and I split the vanilla extract with some almond extract as well. I also reduced the oven temp to 375 and baked for 8 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Good stuff. Even better if you omit the ketchup and Worcestershire and add a can of green chiles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious. Will use in the future definitely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Absolutely terrific!! As many others suggested, I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce, 1/2 white flour and 1/2 whole wheat. I didn't increase the baking powder, because since I had really small eggs today I used 4 of them. It rose beautifully. Cut the sugar by 1/3 and used a Splenda-like sugar substitute. Next time I will reduce the sugar/sweetener combo to 1 3/4 cups total as suggested by others. Bread was moist and not too heavy. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
I can't imagine people thinking this is the best chicken they have ever had. I really didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OMMIGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I love this recipe. I made a few small changes as suggested by other reviewers. Subbed 1/2 the oil for applesauce, used 1 cup brown sugar instead of the full amount of white sugar and The big difference, I added 2 chopped apples. Don't drain your zucchini, the bread would be too dry. Wonderful taste. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Rosie's Bok Choy Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We absolutely love this salad. I think you DO need to toast the ramen noodles, nuts, and sesame seeds, but do it in butter; about half what the recipe calls for is plenty. Then no draining is necessary. We love the almonds, but budget-friendly sunflower seeds are really tasty too. When I first received this recipe from a friend about 20 years ago, it called for 5 green onions. So that's what I use. We prefer less sweet so I use half the sugar, use more soy sauce, and add the seasoning packet(s) to the dressing. Because it just makes for a true Asian flavor I always grate in some fresh ginger. I say "fresh", but honestly I keep a root in the freezer all the time which makes it super easy to grate as well. I always serve this salad with the three parts separate for several reasons: individuals may want more or less topping or prefer more or less dressing, and that way everything stays crisp and fresh. We've had it with broccoli slaw and/or other cabbages when bok choy isn't available. They're all delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Not a fan of salmon so I started here and it was a good choice. I did not use lemon pepper, added minced onion and used pineapple juice instead of water. Best salmon I've eaten so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and they turned out great!! An excellent way to use and preserve those abundant garden grown jalapenos. They go perfect on hamburgers and hot dogs to spice things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary in TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cilantro Pesto Sauce

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Wonderful sauce, but a bit misleading calling it "pesto". As pesto is a sauce made with basil, pine nuts and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Vanover

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Tomato and Garlic Pasta

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Been making this for decades with canned tomatoes for a quick meal. I thought I was the only one who thought it was a good idea, glad others enjoy it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn and Zucchini Melody

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Quick, easy, tasty! Tasted it before adding the cheese so probably won't use the cheese next time as it was plenty flavorful without it. Unfortunately some of my zucchini was bitter, but we really enjoyed this dish. Only added some garlic as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Really tastey, easy and worth every minute it takes!! My husband made this using venison tenderloin (without even soaking in buttermilk first), and it was excellent. We'll definitely make this again and again. Might try just a little more mustard next time for a tiny bit more tang, but it was very enjoyable just as written. Thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anna's Amazing Easy Pleasy Meatballs over Buttered Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have been looking forward to making this dish and I finally got around to it and I am so happy with the results. I will be making this over and over. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful. The perfect combination of light and crispy, thick chewy and simplicity. I won't even try to improve on it, my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made this last Thanksgiving and I will be making it again this year. My family loved it...I just need to add a little more salt and seasoning to it. Yeah baby. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Meoqui, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the same recipe I have made forever (my Mother and Grandmother did as well). Only difference is we use bacon grease (gasp!!) in place of the oil. Melt about 1/3 cup in a cast iron pan or pyrex dish. Pour about 1/4 cup into the mix leaving the rest in the pan. Makes a wonderful crunchy edge on your cornbread. May not be as healthy as using canola oil but worth the risk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Mozzarella Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
DOUBLE YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chicken and Rice Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I realize that I'm rating and reviewing this recipe with changes I made; however, without these changes, I wouldn't have been able to eat the dish, and it's just intriguing enough that I had to take the chance of being fussed at. I added 1 small can of chopped green chilies to compensate for not being able to eat a full-flavored picante sauce, and I added 4 thinly sliced green onions for the same reason. We chose to use the brown rice, cooked in the microwave, and placed into the freezer for about 15 - 20 minutes to cool down rather quickly. The entire dish was room temp, and was very good. I think I'll have planned leftover chicken at least once every week to 10 days just for this dish. It's fantastic!. Thanks to the recipe writer, and please keep up the good work. I'm a for-sure fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I realize I'm rating and reviewing this with changes I felt I needed to make in order for me to eat the dish, so I won't apologize this time. It was an absolutely marvelous dish, and I feel like it would have been wonderful without my changes, except I wouldn't have been able to eat it. This is something I will have in mind each time I have left-over chicken, which is about once in 10 days to two weeks. I'm really going to enjoy this. I may cook extra chicken just so I'm sure to have left-overs! Thank you so much for a real taste treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States