Amarillo - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Rosie's Bok Choy Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
We absolutely love this salad. I think you DO need to toast the ramen noodles, nuts, and sesame seeds, but do it in butter; about half what the recipe calls for is plenty. Then no draining is necessary. We love the almonds, but budget-friendly sunflower seeds are really tasty too. When I first received this recipe from a friend about 20 years ago, it called for 5 green onions. So that's what I use. We prefer less sweet so I use half the sugar, use more soy sauce, and add the seasoning packet(s) to the dressing. Because it just makes for a true Asian flavor I always grate in some fresh ginger. I say "fresh", but honestly I keep a root in the freezer all the time which makes it super easy to grate as well. I always serve this salad with the three parts separate for several reasons: individuals may want more or less topping or prefer more or less dressing, and that way everything stays crisp and fresh. We've had it with broccoli slaw and/or other cabbages when bok choy isn't available. They're all delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Salmon I

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Not a fan of salmon so I started here and it was a good choice. I did not use lemon pepper, added minced onion and used pineapple juice instead of water. Best salmon I've eaten so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Followed recipe exactly and they turned out great!! An excellent way to use and preserve those abundant garden grown jalapenos. They go perfect on hamburgers and hot dogs to spice things up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gary in TX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Leandro, California, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cilantro Pesto Sauce

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Wonderful sauce, but a bit misleading calling it "pesto". As pesto is a sauce made with basil, pine nuts and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Vanover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Tomato and Garlic Pasta

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Been making this for decades with canned tomatoes for a quick meal. I thought I was the only one who thought it was a good idea, glad others enjoy it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn and Zucchini Melody

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
Quick, easy, tasty! Tasted it before adding the cheese so probably won't use the cheese next time as it was plenty flavorful without it. Unfortunately some of my zucchini was bitter, but we really enjoyed this dish. Only added some garlic as others had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Stroganoff III

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
Really tastey, easy and worth every minute it takes!! My husband made this using venison tenderloin (without even soaking in buttermilk first), and it was excellent. We'll definitely make this again and again. Might try just a little more mustard next time for a tiny bit more tang, but it was very enjoyable just as written. Thanks Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anna's Amazing Easy Pleasy Meatballs over Buttered Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
I have been looking forward to making this dish and I finally got around to it and I am so happy with the results. I will be making this over and over. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Wonderful. The perfect combination of light and crispy, thick chewy and simplicity. I won't even try to improve on it, my whole family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made this last Thanksgiving and I will be making it again this year. My family loved it...I just need to add a little more salt and seasoning to it. Yeah baby. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Meoqui, Chihuahua, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Basic Corn Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is the same recipe I have made forever (my Mother and Grandmother did as well). Only difference is we use bacon grease (gasp!!) in place of the oil. Melt about 1/3 cup in a cast iron pan or pyrex dish. Pour about 1/4 cup into the mix leaving the rest in the pan. Makes a wonderful crunchy edge on your cornbread. May not be as healthy as using canola oil but worth the risk!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Mozzarella Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
DOUBLE YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Chicken and Rice Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I realize that I'm rating and reviewing this recipe with changes I made; however, without these changes, I wouldn't have been able to eat the dish, and it's just intriguing enough that I had to take the chance of being fussed at. I added 1 small can of chopped green chilies to compensate for not being able to eat a full-flavored picante sauce, and I added 4 thinly sliced green onions for the same reason. We chose to use the brown rice, cooked in the microwave, and placed into the freezer for about 15 - 20 minutes to cool down rather quickly. The entire dish was room temp, and was very good. I think I'll have planned leftover chicken at least once every week to 10 days just for this dish. It's fantastic!. Thanks to the recipe writer, and please keep up the good work. I'm a for-sure fan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I realize I'm rating and reviewing this with changes I felt I needed to make in order for me to eat the dish, so I won't apologize this time. It was an absolutely marvelous dish, and I feel like it would have been wonderful without my changes, except I wouldn't have been able to eat it. This is something I will have in mind each time I have left-over chicken, which is about once in 10 days to two weeks. I'm really going to enjoy this. I may cook extra chicken just so I'm sure to have left-overs! Thank you so much for a real taste treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Prairie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
Our family and friends ADORED this cake! Carrot cake was requested by my son for his birthday party last night. It was light, flakey, and moist with wonderful flavor and pleasing appearance. I omitted the raisins as some of my family and friends at the party don't care for them, used pecans (that's all I had on hand, and my family LOVES them), and substituted 1/4 cup of the oil with unsweetened applesauce. As others suggested, I also made sure to pack the carrots (grated by the larger holes in my grater.) I divided the batter between 3 round cake pans 9 1/2" in diameter with dark non-stick coating and baked them for 30 minutes at 350 degrees then tested with toothpicks in center. They were perfect. This recipe makes enough for 3 ample layers that were just the right thickness. I frosted it with Cream Cheese Frosting II on this site as others suggested. I used 1 1/2 recipes of the frosting as I wanted to make sure I had plenty for decorative piping and had maybe a cup leftover which I stored in the freezer for later use. I'm thinking if we ever had any of this cake left over, or if I made 2 of them, it would probably keep well frosted in the freezer for a while. Didn't have time to bake it a day ahead as other posters mentioned, but I can't wait to taste it today! Thanks soooo much Sam & Brian!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
We found this frosting to be heavenly! Great flavor and consistency. Yes, it was very loose and creamy at first (not what I would call runny though), but that worked out great for the initial application to my cake. Had I had time to refrigerate each of the 3 layers with the frosting on top for a few minutes before assembling, I don't think it would need stabilizing with a bamboo skewer through the middle of the 3 layers, though this worked really well. I placed what was left in a glass bowl in the freezer for about 10-15 minutes to firm up while I placed the iced cake in the refrigerator. The firmed frosting worked great in my piping bag for the finishing touches. I made 1 1/2 recipes as I was frosting a large three-layer cake (Sam's Famous Carrot Cake from this site.) Ended up having a little frosting left over, but it's in the freezer for later use. I did add about 1/2-3/4 tsp extra vanilla (to this larger portion) as some other posters had suggested. This frosting apparently accepts color well also according to all the photos posted. Our family and friends devoured the dessert like they had never had cake before - all the while ooo-ing and awww-ing. Will be using this recipe time and again! Thanks for posting, Janni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
The 5 stars is for my version of this recipe. I haven't actually made this one. I add a can of chopped green chilies, cooked noodles and an extra can of soup. I also melt a stick of butter into a sleeve of crushed ritz crackers for the topping. I have made this recipe several years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Happy, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Flour Tortillas

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

7-Up® Biscuits

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Made as written, this dough turns out to be a wet gooey mess. My husband tried to make them exactly as stated in the recipe but had to adjust. He just sprinkled on more baking mix, worked it in, then repeated this process until it was a workable consistency. The result was definitely a 5-star biscuit. Next time I think we'll cut the soda in half as suggested by other posters or try dropping into muffin tins as suggested by another. I really liked that these were sooooo buttery that no additional was needed after baking. I may try them with a little granulated or powdered garlic sprinkled on the butter and maybe even add a dash of Italian seasoning into the batter for a savory dinner roll. Loved how tender and light they were too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinkRNone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cinnamon Rolls II

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
CAME OUT GREAT!!!! I didn't have a bread machine so I just made it by hand. And they were wonderful. Although they did indeed take about 3 hours to prepare. Instead of using a bread machine I simply combined the warm water and milk with the Yeast and let it sit for 10 minutes. Then I Added the milk, butter and egg. And added all the dry ingredients that I had mixed. It is a little loose. But you can kneed more flour into it. Then I put it in a lightly greased bowl and let it set for 1 hour in a warm place. Punched it down and followed the directions at step 2. I also used Brown Sugar rather than white for spreading and used Pecans instead of walnuts. It was a HUGE HIT. Will DEFINATELY MAKE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaByrdie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States