Abilene, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Elnora's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Such a wonderful recipe. I used canned peaches, drained the juice off. Sprinkled cinnamon on top of the peaches before adding batter. Cooked it until it was browned on top. My family of 7 loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmybee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1

Olivier Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
As is, I would rate 3 for "Just OK". Add some mustard and salt and it will give it the kick that it needs to be a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These were great! They were a little crumbly though. I did make them on parchment paper as suggested and they came out of the pan just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1

Kool Ade Punch

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is great! Made it with Canada Dry ginger ale instead of lemon-lime. Added the vanilla ice cream because the store was out of orange sherbet. Had lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wedding Cake Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I got a mushy soup when I made it. I had to almost double the sugar to get it to have any thickness at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Just bland and it lacked character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Branden Lee Carroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is one our favorites!! I use dried cranberries instead of raisins. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmybee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southwestern Roasted Corn Salad

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I thought this was just ok. I expected something much more flavorful. I think the olive oil and fresh cilantro cancelled each other out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Salad I

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This is excellent. Even better after sitting 24 hours. I could make a meal of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New Red Potato Salad

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
This is really tasty, but I used a lot less mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Karen A's Chocolate Dump Cake

Reviewed: May 14, 2014
This is great! The possibilities of different cake mixes, pudding mixes and chips are endless! Can't wait to try with lemon cake mix and vanilla pudding and white choc. chips. ....Or yellow cake mix with peanut butter chips....oh my....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Four Egg Yellow Cake

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Just pulled them out of the oven! I used butter instead of shortening and increased the flour to 3 cups since it was very "liquidy." I also used 1 Tablespoon of Baking Powder instead of 3 teaspoons. That's a joke - 3 teaspoons IS one tablespoon! Lol! Anyway, the batter tasted heavenly. They rose well and baked up with a nice firm crumb. Nothing at all resembling corn bread! They had a larger crumb, not a fine one, so I think that may be where people are getting the cornbread thing from. They tasted wonderful! My friend was here when I pulled the out of the oven and he suggested more butter. Next time I will put a teaspoon of butter flavoring in them to see if that makes a difference. I was going for more of a butter cake than a yellow cake though so that's why I was thinking more butter flavor. They held up well to being filled with ganache and I think it is a nice, basic, versatile cake recipe that I will add to my arsenal for sure! I see it as a perfect blank canvas to make my own variations with - a good, solid contender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

Creamy Spinach Soup

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I made this today...it's delicious! I wanted a cream of spinach and chicken soup , so I used a can of cream of chicken soup in place of one of the cups of half and half. It is rich and delicious!! Next time will add some chunks of chicken for more texture. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Pancakes I

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
These were good, but not very "fluffy". I will make them again though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made this for a crowd and got no particularly good or bad comments. Made one with sausage and one with bacon. Usually if my group of 25 really likes something they tell me, hoping I'll make it again. Got nothing this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My family really enjoyed this cornbread. I did reduce the sugar from 2/3 cup to 2 Tbsp. Also, I accidentally used a full tsp of baking soda this time, so it came out quite high and fluffy. This recipe is a keeper. Maybe now my hubs will buy me a cast iron skillet... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
My family really enjoyed this cornbread. I did reduce the sugar from 2/3 cup to 2 Tbsp. Also, I accidentally used a full tsp of baking soda this time, so it came out quite high and fluffy. This recipe is a keeper. Maybe now my hubs will buy me a cast iron skillet... ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup - Sines Family Style

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This is an excellent potato soup recipe. I made it tonight for the family and it is a keeper. I added three carrots, sliced and some canned mushrooms that I had left from another recipe last week. The only 'complaint' I heard was from my elderly father. He has reached the age where even the white pepper causes him distress, so he was not able to eat his portion. In future, I'll either cut back significantly on the white pepper (I used the full teaspoon), or eliminate it from the recipe altogether. Pepper of any type can be added at table. Other than this small issue, he says the soup has an excellent flavor and looks forward to eating it again, sans pepper. Another alteration I made was to substitute 1/2 cup of the milk with buttermilk. That little added zing or zip of flavor was very welcome by my gang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States