Abilene, Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Greek Lemon Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
This was good but seemed like a lot of extra trouble for what comes out like a pound cake. I would have liked it to be lighter and fluffier. Used lemon zest and juice as directed but it needed some added lemon extract for a more lemony taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Very good. I doubled the recipe and still only got 36.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate-Zucchini Cupcakes

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Best Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
The pickiest eaters in my house LOVED this!! Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate-Covered OREO Cookie Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This was a hit at a big gathering. I used half the filling between layers and half on top to make it prettier. I drizzled the chocolate over the top. The filling was wonderful, but using a cake mix wasn't the best. I will make this again using a from-scratch cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Love this! The only thing I changed was substituting regular vinegar instead of balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Enchiladas II

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
My family devoured these enchiladas. Excellent recipe. Next time I will double the sauce, didn't seem like there was quite enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cheesecake I

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Excellent recipe. I used a store bought crust, but next time will try the crust recommended on recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Uncooked Banana Pudding

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
My son loves this recipe. I made this for him on his birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is a phenomenal recipe. I made it just as the recipe says but left out the Tabasco Sauce as my husband doesn't eat spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I am wondering if those who had cake-like results used self-rising flour. I like cake type brownies and that is not what I got. Mine were fudgy, and "gooey" was the word my husband used. I won't be making these again.. They taste ok, not exceptional, but I did like the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1

Exquisite Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Don't change a thing. This is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elnora's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Such a wonderful recipe. I used canned peaches, drained the juice off. Sprinkled cinnamon on top of the peaches before adding batter. Cooked it until it was browned on top. My family of 7 loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1

Olivier Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
As is, I would rate 3 for "Just OK". Add some mustard and salt and it will give it the kick that it needs to be a 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seven Layer Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These were great! They were a little crumbly though. I did make them on parchment paper as suggested and they came out of the pan just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eclair Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
This is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIO1

Kool Ade Punch

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
This is great! Made it with Canada Dry ginger ale instead of lemon-lime. Added the vanilla ice cream because the store was out of orange sherbet. Had lots of compliments and requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wedding Cake Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I got a mushy soup when I made it. I had to almost double the sugar to get it to have any thickness at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Living Well

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Just bland and it lacked character.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Branden Lee Carroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This is one our favorites!! I use dried cranberries instead of raisins. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimmyDee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States