Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Baked Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Really, really delicious. I suggest leaving the seeds in for some extra heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Baked Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I made these as written and fell in love. I took out the membranes and the seeds and regretted it. Once baked they weren't very hot to us. If you like hot, then leave those in for some added flavour. I used homemade taco seasoning and really enjoyed the extra flavour. Thank you SandyBreit for your recipe! I look forward to trying your suggestions on variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Caramelized Onion and Jalapeno Quesadillas

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Holy cow this was tasty! The only changes I made was use the cheese I had in fridge which was mexican blend and parm. I accidentally added the seasoned bread crumbs (didn't use croutons) to the mix and not on top. I will make this all the time and use different veggies. Like next time I would like to do kale or half kale half spinach. I will probably not add the bread crumbs next time to cut down on the carbs as I don't think it adds that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
VERY good! The only changes I made was I accidentally put 4 tsp of vanilla (doubled the recipe) and added more cinnamon. I doubled the recipe and made regular waffles which made about 8 waffles. I put some in the toaster this morning for my son and they smelt so good and came out crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I will for sure use this for my waffle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elderberry Pie II

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Elderberries are a "lost" food since many younger generations have no clue what they are. I make this every year with my 7 year old and she helps me pick them. This pie is a common request when berries are ripening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Sicilian Salad Dressing

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I first made this, as written, because I was short on ingredients and time. I was surprised at how much I liked it, but I'm a big fan of balsamic vinegar. It's a perfect dressing for a weekday, on-the-go salad just for me. I have taken to adding garlic powder and crushed red pepper to it, just to personalize it. Toss it with some greens and feta cheese and I'm a happy little camper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shauna Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paige, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
When I filled the tins 1/2 full I got 11 tiny muffins. The second time I got 9, filling 2/3 full and they were about medium-size. This doesn't make much batter and it is very thick. They didn't rise well. They spread over the top of the pan a bit. The topping is very much like a streusel topping rather than a crumb and I liked it but didn't find the muffins were so great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Slow-Cooked Meat Loaf

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I put this together exactly as stated in the recipe however I cooked it 3 hrs on high (by accident) then 2 hrs on low. It was PERFECT; even the vegetables were perfectly cooked. I did whip together the tomato gravy suggested by one review (brown gravy w/ rotel & mushrooms). Smothered in the rotel gravy, it had the extra flavor that some reviewers said it needed. My husband, although saying on the first bite, "Well, this is different", admitted it was the perfect comfort food after his 10 hr Monday @ work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lonestar Cinderella

Angel Hair Pasta with Gorgonzola Sauce

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I left out the green onions and used rosemary to garnish, but otherwise followed the recipe. Served alongside steamed spinach and a steak, it was the perfect accompaniment and I had leftovers! Woo!! Keeping this one in my back pocket :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lonestar Cinderella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fabens, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
loved this!! I did a few things differently, but not that much. and only because I didn't have everything on hand. I cooked the chicken and spices in the slow cooker. Didn't have green onions, so didn't add them. Used corn instead of flour tortillas. Other than that, did not change anything. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Greek Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These were VERY good! Go easy on the salt because the feta adds quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Baked Tortilla Chips

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Black Olive and Rosemary Focaccia

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This was good but the bread dough itself needs some salt. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to chop the olives up or halve them? Any way I chopped them up and wish I would have halved them to get more of that big olive flavor. Seems like a lot of rosemary but it works nicely. Nice texture too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Followed the recipe with the exception of using regular milk + 2TBL lemon juice = awesome. The best cornbread I have ever made. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noni

Noodles Romanoff

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
i made this tonight along with Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts also from this sight. I am one of those people that don't measure a lot but it still came out great. I added a little milk because it was a bit stiff (maybe because I added a lot of cheese). I took another reviewers suggestion so that this would be hot enough and after pouring the noodles into a colander, I put the butter in the pan still on the stove on low heat and then also added the rest of the ingredients along with a bit of milk and then added the noodles back in and stirred to combine and left on the stove on low (stirring occasionally) while the chicken breasts finished up. I will make both of these recipes again. Thanks Carolyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Noni

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This was great. My hubby loved it!!! I did leave out a few of the spices because I didn't have them. I also put them on a rack before putting them in the oven as others had suggested. I paired this with Noodles Romanoff also from this site. Thanks Alesia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I make this all the time for work functions. People LOVE it. It's an easy crowd-pleaser. I've done variations with apricot and strawberry and they're both lovely. Definitely use less butter on top - 3 Tbsp has been plenty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So delicious. I followed the recipe and these are truly delicious. Everyone I make them for absolutely loves them. I'm going to make them again, but alter the recipe a bit adding raspberries. Yum! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luau Punch

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Served it at a pool party along side my strawberry lemonade. The kids/adults preferred the strawberry lemonade BUT liked this one as well. I did not use any can juice as I don't like the taste that the can gives it. All bottle. I also toasted coconut and lined the rim of the glasses with lime juice and roasted coconut. Definitely was a hit. For an adult party...consider mixing in some pineapple moonshine. :) OH!!!! And I did NOT serve it slushy! Just mixed it all together and it was perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States