Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Slow-Cooked Meat Loaf

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I put this together exactly as stated in the recipe however I cooked it 3 hrs on high (by accident) then 2 hrs on low. It was PERFECT; even the vegetables were perfectly cooked. I did whip together the tomato gravy suggested by one review (brown gravy w/ rotel & mushrooms). Smothered in the rotel gravy, it had the extra flavor that some reviewers said it needed. My husband, although saying on the first bite, "Well, this is different", admitted it was the perfect comfort food after his 10 hr Monday @ work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lonestar Cinderella

Angel Hair Pasta with Gorgonzola Sauce

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
I left out the green onions and used rosemary to garnish, but otherwise followed the recipe. Served alongside steamed spinach and a steak, it was the perfect accompaniment and I had leftovers! Woo!! Keeping this one in my back pocket :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lonestar Cinderella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fabens, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Angela's Awesome Enchiladas

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
loved this!! I did a few things differently, but not that much. and only because I didn't have everything on hand. I cooked the chicken and spices in the slow cooker. Didn't have green onions, so didn't add them. Used corn instead of flour tortillas. Other than that, did not change anything. Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meaganteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Greek Scrambled Eggs

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These were VERY good! Go easy on the salt because the feta adds quite a bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Baked Tortilla Chips

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
These are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Black Olive and Rosemary Focaccia

Reviewed: May 18, 2015
This was good but the bread dough itself needs some salt. I wasn't sure if I was supposed to chop the olives up or halve them? Any way I chopped them up and wish I would have halved them to get more of that big olive flavor. Seems like a lot of rosemary but it works nicely. Nice texture too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Followed the recipe with the exception of using regular milk + 2TBL lemon juice = awesome. The best cornbread I have ever made. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Noni

Noodles Romanoff

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
i made this tonight along with Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts also from this sight. I am one of those people that don't measure a lot but it still came out great. I added a little milk because it was a bit stiff (maybe because I added a lot of cheese). I took another reviewers suggestion so that this would be hot enough and after pouring the noodles into a colander, I put the butter in the pan still on the stove on low heat and then also added the rest of the ingredients along with a bit of milk and then added the noodles back in and stirred to combine and left on the stove on low (stirring occasionally) while the chicken breasts finished up. I will make both of these recipes again. Thanks Carolyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Noni

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This was great. My hubby loved it!!! I did leave out a few of the spices because I didn't have them. I also put them on a rack before putting them in the oven as others had suggested. I paired this with Noodles Romanoff also from this site. Thanks Alesia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I make this all the time for work functions. People LOVE it. It's an easy crowd-pleaser. I've done variations with apricot and strawberry and they're both lovely. Definitely use less butter on top - 3 Tbsp has been plenty for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Chef John's Lemon Bars

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
So delicious. I followed the recipe and these are truly delicious. Everyone I make them for absolutely loves them. I'm going to make them again, but alter the recipe a bit adding raspberries. Yum! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynda Davis-Hilbert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luau Punch

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Served it at a pool party along side my strawberry lemonade. The kids/adults preferred the strawberry lemonade BUT liked this one as well. I did not use any can juice as I don't like the taste that the can gives it. All bottle. I also toasted coconut and lined the rim of the glasses with lime juice and roasted coconut. Definitely was a hit. For an adult party...consider mixing in some pineapple moonshine. :) OH!!!! And I did NOT serve it slushy! Just mixed it all together and it was perfect!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

Fudgy Chocolate Cream Pie

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I grew up with my Nana's homemade chocolate cream pie, and this is the closest recipe I have found. Worked perfectly. So rich and smooth. I used Ruth's Grandma's pie crust recipe from this site. It stayed crisp and fresh the second day. I will look no further for the perfect chocolate pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelGrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roscoe, Texas, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Waffles I

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I'm not an experienced cook or baker. I'm pretty much adventurous, which is to say my wife and her cooking club pals have probably shared some hearty laughs. But I still try. I found this recipe last night and started it this morning as my 3 year old decided she wanted to help, didn't want to help, wanted to play, wanted to pretend to be a baby in Daddy's arms.....while on the phone with my Mom (every Sunday since I left home for college) listening to her tell me things about her week she just got finished telling me.....and somehow I managed not to $#%! it up! They were so good, even my wife had one, and she never eats breakfast. So if you post on here that this recipe is no good, you've managed to get something wrong....or you just have very different experiences in your culinary adventures. This recipe is a keeper. Now I gotta get my wife to tell me how to incorporate malt powder because I loves me some malt waffles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Garlic Potatoes

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
I've been making these for years, although , I use Tony Chachere's For my seasoning and I place 3 strips of bacon on top of the potatoes. The bacon juice adds tons of flavor. I normally open the foil for approximately 15 minutes, to finish them off. This allows the potatoes to brown just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Stump Sledge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownwood, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Simple, easy to make and goes quickly. I usually add just a touch of fresh squeezed orange juice (clementines when I have them) to give it a little something in the background. Every time there is a potluck at work I am specifically told to "bring that AMAZING fruit stuff you make!" Thanks so much for an easy and popular crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Calamity in the kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brownies IV

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I goofed. I was interrupted many times and ended up using both the cocoa powder and semi-sweet chocolate in the brownie mix. It fix this blunder, I added 1/4 c sugar, 1 c milk, 2 T oil, 1 T baking powder, and walnuts. Put it into a 9x13 pan for 40-45 minutes. Came out ok. Needed more sugar. It was moist though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Chapa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Vernon, Texas, USA

Honey-Spice Drumsticks

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
The chicken was juicy and had a flavor, but it was incredibly bland. It didn't stick. I think I'll try dredging it next time to get it to stick. And, honestly, the only reason any flavor stuck was because I put it in the fridge to marinate, realized it was too late to cook for lunch, forgot about it until the next night's dinner. So, more than 24 hours marinating and it was still bland as could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by berger5909

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amish White Bread

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
This bread was fantastic and relatively easy to make. I made two loaves and it was completely gone in two days. My daughter ate it like it was cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Morton

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coos Bay, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Johnny's Spice Rub

Reviewed: May 16, 2015
I put this yummy rub on some spare ribs and it was awesome!! Kiddos loved them too, thank goodness they weren't too spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States