Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cranberry Swirl Coffee Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
GREAT use for leftover cranberry sauce. Used a little less sugar and threw in some cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg to the batter. Office loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Demi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up

Sugar Spanish Peanuts

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Oh these are so easy and fantastic. Will totally make again with adding cinnamon to coat at the end or even something spicy!!! TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Mom's Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Easy and good brittle! I used a little more than half the salt and I like it better. Also, make sure it's not too brown when you take it off the heat to put in the baking soda mixture, the liquid in that mixture can burn your syrup and peanuts slightly if too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Microwave Peanut Brittle

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This recipe is difficult to say the least... In my opinion at least! I tried it 3 times adjusting times to my 1800 watt microwave and it burned the first 2 times and was too chewy the third time. I then tried a stovetop version and it seemed easier and came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
As made this recipe to spec, except I used Cheez whiz. It came out great! I would not consider it "bland", but it does not have a lot of seasoning (as one can tell when they read the recipe). But that is an easy fix--- season to your own taste. It is comforting, and a staple at our holiday table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mylucky10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This is a great recipe. I have made it several times now and gotten tons of compliments each time. I did modify it very slightly by decreasing the salt to 1/2 tsp (the first time I made them they were just a bit too salty for our taste) and I use my "secret" ingredient of using only Guittard Milk Chocolate chips. But other than those personal taste substitutions, they are perfect! I also wanted to add my personal tip: chill your cookie dough for an hour if you can, then loosely shape into a balls and flatten them bit with your hand when you put them on the cookie sheet. This will prevent your cookies from flattening out and still give them a substantial "middle" worth biting into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
This was awesome!! So easy and was really good!! I took some to work and everybody loved it... Great for gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
i did not add the the egg noddles and instead i added angles nest and it still was amazing . it took a little bit longer for the noodles to become the rite temp. but it still was amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
it is amazing the cheese melts in your mouth AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meringue Kisses I

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I've been looking for this recipe. YAY!!!! Found it! To the rater who left a false (LOW!) rating with a question: Yes, these work fine in a gas oven. Make sure your oven is preheated to the desired heat, open it just long enough to stick your pans in and close it! Some folks noted that they left the oven on low (200) for a bit to help it along, but my mother made these for decades in a gas oven and literally, preheated it, put them in, turned it off and pulled them out the next morning. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Soup I

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Stuffed Cabbage Roll Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Very good tastes just like stuffed cabbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Kemah, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a great recipe. My only change was to substitute spicy Italian sausage and I added some ginger and Rosemary. Other than that it was fantastic and tasted even better as a left over. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I thought these were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RKRRM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richardson, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

Amazingly Good and Healthy Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

California Smoothie

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
AMAZING!!!!! YOU HAVE GOT TO TRY THIS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red, White, and Blue Fruit Smoothie

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sour Milk Spice Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This is a good base for those who don't care for spicy spice breads. This was more like a nice spice bread...the batter was fairly thick. I changed the spices to 1 tbsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. cardamom, 1/2 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/2 tsp. allspice and 1/4 tsp. cloves. I also used 3/4 cup sugar and added 2 tbsp. molasses, 1 tsp. vanilla and 1 tsp. instant coffee. I did NOT add nuts. I baked it in a terracotta loaf pan at 350 for 60 minutes and used a toothpick to test for doneness starting around 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trio

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quiche Lorraine I

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This was just okay for me. A bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States