Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Red Skinned Potato Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Only change I made was to use just a 1/2 purple onion and a few stalks of green onion where Onion called for. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMI13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Unstuffed Cabbage Roll

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I have tried this recipe but changed the ground beef to ground turkey. AMAZING!!! I am not a fan of cabbage but this was delicious and so easy to make. You should definitely try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texas City, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

All-Around Good Smoothie

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This is delicious! I can not eat dairy, so I used almond milk and omitted the yogurt. I used hemp vanilla protein powder. This will be a do over. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

Mom's Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
I love this recipe. I made a few small changes as suggested by other reviewers. Subbed 1/2 the oil for applesauce, used 1 cup brown sugar instead of the full amount of white sugar and The big difference, I added 2 chopped apples. Don't drain your zucchini, the bread would be too dry. Wonderful taste. Very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA

Best Beef Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Wow. This was a fantastic recipe that the whole family loved. No need to tweak this recipe except that I added some shredded cheese inside each enchilada. Spices were just right. Also very easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by artcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Kids loved it! A definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Amish Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Finally! After a few years of making bread here and there, I have a recipe that mimics the density of store bought bread that I can make at home. I don't have a bread machine so I made as is with the exception of subbing all of the water with whey. The dough was rather sticky so I oiled my hands and surface to knead. After the first rising, I continued to knead the dough. I allowed it to rise in my loaf pan until it reached the top edge (60-90 minutes). Baked at 350 for 30 minutes. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
We're always looking for inventive healthy recipes and this one is a keeper. This was a hit with the whole family. The only changes that I made were to add an extra egg and use chicken broth in place of the water. This was accompanied by fresh green beans and hatch chile cornbread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Easy. Just take one step at a time. I did run out of honey and subbed sugar for more than half of the honey. I made 3 large loaf and 3 mini loaves and adjusted the baking time a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chipotle Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious! I made these burgers for the family and they were a huge hit. Like others, I added an egg and used an extra pepper. I also made these on my indoor electric grill (at approximately 325 degrees) until they reached a temperature of 160. They turned out fabulous. These were topped with whole wheat hamburger buns, a little chipotle mayo, pepperjack cheese, lettuce, tomato and avocado and were accompanied by baked sweet potato fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Scaled the recipe to 8 for 3 pounds chicken. Replaced water with pineapple juice. I only used 1/3 of the spices (cayanne and red pepper) because I was afraid it would be too spicy. It was just right. Served this chopped in lettuce wraps. Also marinated 24 hours and baked it in the marinade for 45 minutes. Topped the lettuce wraps with pickled cucumbers and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Grilled Turkey Cuban Sandwiches

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
So yummy! I didn't want to roast a turkey breast so I used store bought lunch meat. I also left off the honey mustard since we're not big fans. Fantastic and filling sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Guacamole

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
YUP. This is a GREAT recipe!! It taste great just after you prepared it. It taste EVEN better after you refrigerate it. Thanks to this recipe, I now make guacamole at least 2 times a week. I Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt

Avocado and Feta Bruschetta

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was nominated but not selected for recipe group on the buzz. It looked so good I had to try it. The only change I made was to add the garlic to the oil before baking. This was really tasty and I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Ham Rolls

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great little snack. Made as is but would like to try chives and onion cream cheese topped with green olives as another reviewer suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Crikkitt

Easy French Dip Sandwiches

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is a quick easy recipe that my family loves. I love that I can get it on the table in 10 minutes or less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Pollo Fajitas

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I thought this was for what I was using for. I had the ingredients on hand shuck makes it even better. I marinaded my chicken breast all day and grilled them. Topped with pico de galo and shredded Mexican cheese and put under the broiler until all the cheese melted. Then topped with sliced avocado... Great meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Lion's Head Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Yum! Easy to make and even my kids liked it. I did add a clove of garlic each to the meat mixture and while sauteeing the cabbage. I reduced the ginger and sesame oil by half just because I tend to find those particular flavors a bit overpowering. Served with noodles. Next time I'll brown the meatballs first (my husband felt they were mushy) and add the sauteed cabbage at the end so it ends up a bit more crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Artichoke Spinach Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
HELLO! This was amazing!!! I made it exactly as specified, and I wouldn't change a thing! This recipe will be a keeper in my recipe box. AS a vegetarian, I was pleased as punch (spiked!) to find such a delicious and KILLER RECIPE. The feta on top really makes it by adding a nice tangy zing. Absolutely delicious!!! Thank you so much for such a delicious meal!!! YUM YUM YUM!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Jombus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Awesome and simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dairy Princess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States