Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Banana Pudding IV

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
Took to a church potluck and was gone in no time. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Daye Weaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Baked Potato

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I was never a fan of baked potatoes and certainly didn't want to eat the skin but this changed my opinion. My whole family loves these and have asked for them again. The skin is great!! I adjust my temp. As suggested by another reviewer and cooked for one hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda Daye Weaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cauliflower with Balsamic Vinegar

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I used all the ingredients, though I made a few changes. Two of my tomatoes had gone bad, so I only used 3, and that was enough for us. I used 4 strips of bacon. One change I would suggest is stirring together the chicken stock, sugar, vinegar and anchovy paste, before adding to the skillet, so there would be a more even distribution. When the cauliflower was tender-crisp, I used a slotted spoon to remove it from the skillet to a bowl. Then, I let the liquid reduce to about one-third, and poured it over the dish. Dee-lish! Thanks for a way to "dress up" cauliflower that doesn't involve cheese or bread crumbs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Easier than I thought and sooo good. Never made any cream or meringue because I thought it would be too difficult. But this was not complex & turned out perfect. Not too tart, not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Jo Stevens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlingen, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Wilson

Creamed Peas and New Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
My grandmother made creamed peas and new potatoes and this tasted just like hers! I had fresh new potatoes from the garden but used frozen peas. I did use half 2% milk and half 1/2 & 1/2. I also doubled the sauce recipe. Very good and the leftovers reheated well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crustless Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This was excellent...so tasty! I did add some minced garlic to the onion to saute, and I added some nutmeg, which I think really enhanced the flavor. I love spinach, and try to cook gluten free when I can, so this recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Great recipe easy to follow. I added some Louisiana Seasoning to it for a little kick, but it was flavorful as is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghosthunter274

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockhart, Texas, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

Chicken with Green Peppers in Black Bean Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I doubled the broth, used a wider variety of veggies (snow peas, kohlrabi) and used black bean sauce with chiles. Wow, yummy yummy! Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sirloin Thai Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
The family was very impressed and we loved all of the fresh favors. This will become a weekly staple, at least through the summer months.easy to make and prepare and oh, soooo good! This is a "Can't miss"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flipper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

Chicken and Snow Peas

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
This was really flavorful. It was a little salty but I'm not sure why. I love veggies so next time will add more. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Great salsa verde! I only had canned tomatillos...next time I will use fresh. Used "not chicken" broth instead of water, but used only about 1 1/4 cups. Very easy to make, especially with an immersion blender. I LOVE my immersion blender! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Nut Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I really enjoyed this recipe, it's not overly sweet and was easy to make. It reminds me of Zucchini bread. It was a hit with family and coworkers, and I used up most of my cucumbers from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Vegetarian Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
I've made this recipe 4x already. I definitely plan on making it again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Easy Eggplant Pita

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
This was pretty good! I thought ranch was a weird fattening ingredient to throw on something so healthy, so I just left it off. It was good without and plus I'm not even a big fan of ranch anyway, I think a dallop of Greek yogurt would be good? Anyway, this was a great lunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Garlicky Green Beans with Shallot

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
We really enjoyed these, nice and fresh tasting and easy to whip up :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Spinach and Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
This was good and RICH, but could have used some garlic powder, paprika, maybe even a little pepper? No salt though as someone else mentioned, as the mayo and cheese are plenty salty. Served this with homemade pita chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portabello Mushroom and Pepper Risotto

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I love this risotto! I usually make half a recipe, and still use around 5 cups of vegetable broth. I use veggie broth so I can make this vegan. It is excellent, and I love the taste of the wine and the portabello mushrooms! The onions and bell peppers make this an excellent vegetarian or vegan dish! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa Kerlin

Easy Spicy Roasted Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I can't even begin to describe how delicious these smell while baking, and they taste even better than they smell. I microwaved the diced potatoes for 4 min before tossing with the other ingredients. This shortened the cooking time quite a bit. I added 1/2 of a seeded jalapeño and greased my stoneware baking dish generously with shortening first. I used the convection bake setting and they came out perfectly crispy outside and smooth and creamy inside. Keep in mind that the cooking time will vary depending on the size you cut the potatoes. I seriously could eat these every day! I did not add the cheese - but I'm thinking next time I will - along with some crispy crumbled bacon. Mmmm-mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Kerlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockdale, Texas, USA

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I just made this. It was effortless. I'm gonna give this SIX STARS. I LOVE pudding. Followed directions exactly. Thank you for this awesome recipe. I will not buy pudding anymore. Seems like "loved it" would leave a higher star rating than "liked it". WE LOVED THIS EXCELLENT RECIPE ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitseyboo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Spiced Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
I'm not a slaw expert - this is the first creamy slaw I've ever tried - but I liked it. I did sub out half the mayo for sour cream. I might reduce the dressing next time because once it sat for a day, it was very soupy. Easy to throw together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States