Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
No so good. The taste was just a little off and almost sour. I ended up discarding it and making a traditional cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloomis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vanilla Wafer Cookies That Are Better Than Storebought

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
excellent! for the most part, I kept ingredients as listed, but changed the method to combat the spreading and thin result others reviewed.I always bake with butter flavor crisco, bake with parchment paper and only bake on sheets that have cooled off, that helps spreading. after mixing dough, take the time to roll them into longs rolls of dough as in refrigerator cookies. yeah, it adds a little prep time, but it probably saves time in the long run. I quadrupled the recipe and formed the dough into around 7 long bread stick size wax paper tubes. let them sit in fridge all day, and only pulled one tube out at a time, slicing them into pieces the thickness of checker pieces. molded them a little as i placed them on the cookie sheet. got 27 cookies per sheet, at 4x7 rows. finished cookies were perfectly round, uniform and nearly identical in size to Nilla Wafers from the store. made a total of 18 dozen little, delicious, beautiful, impressive cookies! filled to galon size ziplock bags, needed extra cuz recipe. Am using them in banana pudding, will update this review after trying them out in the recipe. By the way, the amount of grease that is on the wax paper when you are slicing them is alarming, but the finished product is absolutely perfect. for the sake of health, next time i will try to reduce the amount of butter/shortening just a tad to see if i still like the cookie. overall, this is gonna be my go-to vanilla wafer cookie for sure! thanks, usmcwifey!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Maybe a 3.5 recipe. It didn't taste bad but it definitely didn't have a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Homemade Marshmallow Creme

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Easy to make. I may never buy marshmallow fluff ever again. Used with PBM sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Banana Split Smoothie

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
I didn't like it as much but the kidlets said it tasted just like a banana split.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Chicken Milano

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Everyone in my family loved this, even my picky kid cleared his plate. I did make some changes, as usual. Like others. I lightly pounded out the chicken breasts, then floured them with seasoned flour. I browned them inbutter and olive oil, then took them out, added the garlic and some shallots, then the tomatoes. I deglazed the pan with chicken stock and a bit of Sherry, then reduced it for about 15 minutes. Then I added the cream and cooked it down a bit, thenadded the chicken back into the pan along with some artichoke hearts, and added some fresh parmesan. I let that bubble away whilemy pasta cooked. Added the fresh basil before serving. I did think that there wasn't enough save, but I don't think youreally need to double it, I will just add a bit extra cream and broth next time. And there definitely will be a next time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Hearty Meatball Sandwich

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Sweet and simple recipe. My daughter dowsn't like onions but she gibbled this up. Served in hot dog buns because that is what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Only used the dressing for my sprout salad. The dressing was great and I can't wait to make the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
It was very good. I thought it was a tad too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof5

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Marino, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T

Another Pork Chop Casserole

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
A meal-in-one that I will make again. The changes I made: 1.Used cut green beans 2.Seasoned pork chops with Creole seasoning in addition to the salt and pepper; Also added a little Montreal Steak Seasoning 3.Added about 1/4 cup water to the soup/sour cream mixture 4.Poured half of the soup mixture over the vegetables, then topped with chops and poured the other half over them and 5.Baked for more than 30 minutes-about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

GNOCCHI DI PATATE (Potatoe dumplings)

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Worked perfectly! I used baked potatoes. Mine was a mixture of sweet and regular potatoes (leftovers from crockpot baked potatoes made the day before) and believe it or not they came out wonderfully. I subbed GF flour for wheat flour. I also used rice semolina (course ground rice flour) for dusting. Tossed it with burro e salvia (sage and butter) for a light primo. Thank you for the recipe Manella. The proportions and method are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
It was good but not awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cari Solano

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Aledo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie

Hot Pink Lemonade

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is good. I made two batches. One batch was made as is and I liked it but thought it was too sweet. My kids on the other hand loved it-so it gets 5 stars. The kids also put it in the blender with some ice cubes. The second batch I used less sugar and left out the ice cubes to turn it into granita. I cooked the blueberries and then strained them before adding to the simple syrup. Thanks for the recipe Candice S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Gluten-Free All-Purpose Flour Mixture

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Tried and true! I use this for most everything all the time. I have also subbed superfine white rice flour in place of the brown and it works perfectly. I have a 5 litter jar with this ready in house always. I use this cup-for-cup in cakes, cookies and sweets. For crepes I take away two tablespoons adding buckwheat flour to the mix. For savoury and bread recipes that I am converting I typically use 3/4 cup of this mix to 1 cup regular wheat flour adding 1/3 cup of another flour (sorghum, millet, quinoa or similar) because it adds some flavour and nutrients. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Gluten-Free Flour Mix

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Sorry, I really wanted this to work out but it just didn't for me. I didn't add as much xanthan gum as listed; it seemed superfluous. I've tried many different alternative flours and combinations but this one just doesn't work for me. I tried this mix in many recipes that I had previously used white or brown rice flour based mixes and this one just didn't seem to do what it says: replace wheat flour cup-for-cup. From breads to cakes; cupcakes and pancakes everything came out chewy, tough and gummy. With the last of the batch I made crepes and even those came out chewier than they should. The xanthan gum also lumps up in it. I had read that sweet rice flour is not to total more than 20 percent or so of any gluten free flour blend. This statement seems true. The xanthan gum simply makes it worse-gummy and rubbery. Sweet rice flour is already so glutinous (sticky) it should be enough to eliminate the need for other gluten replacers. Also, adding the salt and sugar makes need to then adjust the recipe your are working with. Thank you for posting though. I'm sorry it didn't work out for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Guacamole

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I just made this and it is amazing!! I've never made guacamole before so I pulled up this recipe and it was way too easy and the result is DELICIOUS! I am super excited I found this at the beginning of summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colusa, California, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

Chicken Taco Filling

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Easy and tasty recipe. I used homemade taco seasoning II from this website. We used this for tacos. We used leftovers for BLT and Chicken wraps. It was even more tasty and still very moist the next day. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Coconut Cream Pie I

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This recipe disappointed me because the hype it received on here doesn't come close to matching the reality of the end result prepared exactly as shown in the recipe. Don't get me wrong--this recipe yields one good coconut cream pie. What it doesn't yield is an excellent coconut cream pie. It was quite ho-hum, and my guests complimented me politely for it--but not enthusiastically. I will now embark on finding THE coconut cream pie recipe that my guests will rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Dipping Sauce for Coconut Shrimp

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Very good sauce. Quick and easy with few ingredients. Didn't have hot sauce, Dijon or honey on hand so I substituted Cajun seasoning, yellow mustard and agave. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tam102602

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Longview, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cornflake Crunch Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was just like we used to get in elementary school. It was and still is a great little treat. Easy to make and great flavor too. This had too much cereal for the sugar/pb mix so the next time I will cut back to 8 cups of cereal instead. I've only ever made or had these as a drop cookie, so the bar concept was new and faster, but I like the clusters better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States