Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I don't know what I did wrong but it did not turn out well. I followed the instructions... So I thought. I'll go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Port Huron-Style Coney Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This reminded me a lot of Cincinnati Skyline style chili with the flavors of cinnamon and allspice. I haven't eaten a coney in Michigan so I can't say how this compares, but I was looking for a coney sauce like my favorite Greek Coney Island place back home makes. This is similar in texture, but not quite the same flavor as the Economu's recipe. I really liked this quite a bit and added a very generous amount to my coney dog. I used a wire whisk to break the meat up and it worked great. I didn't know exactly what beef base was, so I used a beef bullion cube. I didn't need to add the crackers to thicken as mine was already thick. I cut this down to make 2 servings and used approx. 1/3 lb. of ground beef. I didn't have garlic powder but found some grated garlic in my fridge, so that is what went in the pot. I will definitely fix this again. I only let this simmer for 2 hours and it was fine. We were too hungry to wait any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Outrageous Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This cookie was like an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie and a peanut butter cookie to together and had a perfect little baby! We added an extra 1/4 cup of sugar, but otherwise followed the recipe. We liked the extra sweetness, but I do believe it would have still been 5 stars without it. The 10 minute cooking time was perfect. They come out very gooey, but cool to perfection...lightly crisp edges, but firm & chewy throughout. My husband hates gooey cookies, so I cooked the second pan for 12 or so minutes, until all of the edges were visibly brown, and that made them all over crunchy after they cooked completely. Not my preference, so I'll stick with 10 minutes. Loved these. All my favorite cookies rolled into one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARILYNN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hard-Boiled Egg Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Made this the weekend after Easter, so had the bits & pieces leftovers from the ham...put about a cup finely chopped ham in the white sauce. I think you could cut the flour back by 1/2, does get really thick even with thinning prior to putting the oven. Served on toasted english muffins with a tiny sprinkle of paprika on top, very good and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Kealy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Basil Pesto

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I can't believe how much my 7, 8, and 11-year-old children love this. Like other reviewers, I used raw almonds instead of pine nuts. I didn't toast them and it was still amazingly delicious. I've made this twice and doubled the recipe each time. Even put it in the kids' lunches as a dipping sauce the next day. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachel Armont

Roasted Swiss Chard with Feta

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I modified the feta by adding some cream cheese, minced garlic, chives, olive oil, minced sweet onion, and fresh ground black pepper and mixing it all up. I used less olive oil for the chard as well, probably about 1/2 of what the recipe called for. It turned out delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Armont

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Texas, USA
Living In: Aransas Pass, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Tandoori Masala Spice Mix

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
There are so many different aromas and savours here, each unique on its own, yet they come together so nicely for this earthy blend - it seems like they have always belonged together. Much better than any store bought blend. Thank you TheBritishBaker for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Creamy Parmesan Polenta

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Easy, fast, cheap and gluten free-you've got my attention! I used 'from scratch' polenta instead of the prepared type. I enjoyed the addition of paprika and added a bit more than a pinch once I tasted it. I used smoked paprika and it gave such a nice earthy flavour it was hard to stop at just a pinch. This is a wonderful compliment to baked chicken. Thank you keithahaney for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Jamaican Curry Powder

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Five stars! The aroma and taste of this recipe as written are wonderful. The proportions, in my opinion, are accurate for an accent to any dish calling for curry. I used a mix of brown and yellow mustard seeds. I also had to use star anise powder instead of anise seeds due to unavailability. I ground this by hand and it took a while. I do suggest using a spice grinder if you have one. I didn't add the cayenne to the mix as I figured I could add it to the final recipe later. Thank you Monty for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I thought it was pretty good but not one of my favorites .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach and Banana Power Smoothie

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
So quick, easy and oh so good! I added se stevia for some sweet because my banana was a little green. Love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paigerocks
Home Town: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Anything Soup Mix

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
The mother of all recipes! For many reasons I don't use canned "cream of..." soups so I've not been able to make so many other recipes. Finally this comes along and now I can enjoy those recipes that call for the canned version. I needed the undiluted version so, like Mother Ann, I stopped at the point where the milk should be mixed in and just added it to my main recipe. I made cream of cheddar cheese using chicken broth. The flavours were so vibrant it certainly made the other recipe even better. Thank you lucylove for this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Easy Potato Cheese Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I really liked this soup and will definitely be using this recipe again. I didn't use canned soup but a homemade version of "cream of anything" soup and added real Sharp Cheddar cheese which I am sure helped the flavour. I experimented with the water/cream ratio to ensure the consistency was the way I like it, just enough to coat the back of a spoon, and using the 3/4 amount of liquid in the recipe worked out for me. I think the quality and age of potato will also dictate the amount of liquid needed. I used relatively new, white potatoes (having a high water content). So I suggest that you start off with a little more than half the required water and keep your eye on the potatoes while cooking adding more if necessary. Then add 1/2 the cream adding more if desired after you have added the condensed milk. This really is a soup worth trying. Simply use common sense on liquids to achieve the desired consistency because the taste is all there!. Thank you Thyra for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Spanakopita

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Sticky Rice Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Very good, I used the whole can of red beans, which was over whelming. (I should have listened to the actual recipe!) but my family gobbled it all up pretty quick. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Azucena's Homemade Mocha

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
A nice mocha without the guilt. I made this on the stove instead of the microwave. Thank you aroverman for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Hot and Spicy Himalayan Tea (Chai Tea)

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I could drink this tea all day. This is a wonderful combination. Each ingredient is proportioned perfectly and the timing for each phase is right on. I followed the recipe to the gram, even though I am not a fan of sweet tea, nor am I fond of fennel but I followed the measurements precisely and am so happy I did. There is no need to change anything about this recipe. The pepper is not too spicy but has a slight pinch after a few sips, then dissipates and the other flavours simply mingle together for a pleasant aftertaste. It is a true keeper recipe. Thank you food4fit for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
So I have been trying to make a carrot cake for a long time but my hubby and daughter keep talking me out of it cus they say they don't like carrot cake. I finally made this for Easter and OMG it was so so so good! My hubby and daughter LOVE LOVE this cake. I used a cream cheese frosting from this site (another thing my hubby "doesn't like") and they LOVED that as well. I will for make this cake again and again! I'm not a sweet eater but loved this cake cus it's not too sweet. I'm so glad I found a carrot cake recipe that my family really likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Creamy Fettuccine with Asparagus, Peas, and Prosciutto

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
What a nice way to welcome Spring vegetables into your meal. I was able to find fresh peas and asparagus. The only issue in the recipe is the thick sauce and how much it calls for. I think it would be more enjoyable with a lighter sauce and less of it. I ended up thinning it out with some white wine and using only half of it in the final preparation. I found that this was sufficient to lightly coat everything adding some creaminess but not tasting like pasta and gravy. I blanched the peas and asparagus having cooked them briefly in a large pot of water, then using the same water to cook the pasta. The fresh flavours of the veggies mixed so well with the salty prosciutto crudo I was tempted to eat them all on their own. Thank you champ for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Italian Lemon Cream Cake

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I made this for Easter and my family loved it. I added 3 tablespoons of lemon juice and 1 tablespoon of zest to the cake batter. So good and perfect for spring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States