Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Cilantro-Lime Coleslaw

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Only thing I was changed was to cut the mayo in half and up the lime. It was light and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Sweet Potato Sticks

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
These were really good, with some very minor modifications. I followed another reviewer's suggestion to add garlic powder, salt and pepper along with the paprika. I just made one for myself, cut it into eighths instead of quarters, and didn't measure the ingredients -- just enough olive oil to coat, and then I sprinkled seasoning on it. I was very surprised how good it was. I usually season baked sweet potatoes with cinnamon and sugar, but I'm on a diet and these were delicious and sweet enough on their own. One case where cutting calories did not hurt the flavor -- I will make them this way from now on. Also, I liked the taste of the bigger wedges better than the thinner fries I usually make. All sweet and perfect texture, with no burned fries. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

Salsa Chicken Burrito Filling

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
My family loved this! I didn't have the taco seasoning, I just added more of the recipe seasonings. We had tortillas with the chicken and refried beans, shredded cheddar cheese, tomatoes, black olives, brown rice, and avacado slices. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeon Terry Laszczak

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olney, Texas, USA
Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Italian Tortellini

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Short on time, I followed other reviewers' advice and prepared our meal on the cooktop. Worked fabulously. Another reviewer suggested using only sausage rather than the blend of meats, so I tried HOT ground Italian sausage only, and I used The "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" recipe from this site as suggested, as well. Amaaaaazing. Can't imagine how fabulous it'd have been had I not forgotten the mushrooms, or had thought ahead enough to cook it in the crockpot. You are right: this one is a keeper and will be on our regular rotation! This recipe is fabulous. Thank you, Tracy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoeLucky1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Carlos, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This was ok but I have never had Thai soup before so that might tarnish my review. This tasted kinda like Hot and Sour soup. I could not find lemongrass without driving half and hour but my son had some dried so I used that and a little lemon zest. The red curry paste was not hot at all I probably used 4 heaping tsp. PLUS I added in 2 sliced jalapenos BUT we live in Texas so we are on a different hot scale than a lot of the country. I might make this again but after I go have it in a Thai restaurant for comparison. Seems like it would be good if you are sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Torsk

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Super easy, super good! Tender, not rubbery like cod sometimes can be. I didn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beau'sCookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Addictive Sesame Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I finally am taking a second to rate this recipe. My favorite sesame chicken recipe by far! I have made it with the chicken fried, with it pan seared. I have made it with a dash of ketchup, and also without. Honestly, no matter how you make it, this recipe is amazing. A definite must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Barley Salad

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This salad was delicious! My grocer was out of sun dried tomatoes, so I used Classico Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto and added a little crushed garlic, balsamic vinegar and olive oil for the dressing. It was so good I am making a second batch to take to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

Virginia Apple Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
awesome. I used cinnamon sugar from cooking apple to dough since I had apple filling. awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammigrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spur, Texas, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gingerbread Men Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
very, very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grammigrams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spur, Texas, USA
Living In: Pembroke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Very good easy go to recipe that everyone loves. My kiddos pig out on this. It's not healthy or gourmet but it's super easy and pure comfort food. I did the recipe as written. I double it and serve it with biscuits and a side vegetable to fill up hungry teenagers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Photo by Sean

Bacon and Cheddar Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Fun, easy, delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean
Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi

Mediterranean Vegetable Cakes

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I wish I could say I loved this, because I like everything that's in it! As you can see from my photo, medium is a bit too hot for these to cook through. Five minutes made them too brown from an aesthetic point of view. I also felt that the Kalamata olives overpowered the artichokes, and I would have preferred the other way around! If you can master the proper cooking time and balance the flavor to your personal taste, I can see that these would be a nifty sandwich filler, or take the place of a starch on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Italian Paleo Chicken Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Using the blender to chop the ingredients is brilliant. I followed the recipe very closely, only having 2 deviations: I added 1 tsp. sea salt, and I used 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, instead of the more expensive tenderloins. First of all, I think the recipe has promise, but overall, the mix is just too wet, and the carrot taste is much too prominent. Back down some on the carrots, even add some fresh parsley and some red pepper flakes, and cut the eggs down to 2. The loaf had a good aroma while cooking, but the finished product was a bit tame, for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Bibi

Cowboy Kale

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This is an interesting, warm salad, that tames the springiness of kale, and combines it with sweet and savory flavors. I was a bit puzzled by the name, but the many colors do sort of remind me of "cowboy caviar". Using kale, instead of beans and corn, tames the calorie punch. The sweetness provided by the apple and carrot are surprising additions, but with the balsamic, they work. This recipe involves a lot of preparation, and since I had some leftover, I hope it will be good tomorrow, too. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by shayda

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Photo by KimL

Shrimp Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
I made it first by the recipe and it was good, except I couldn't find the shrimp consommé, so I used beef consommé instead! I then added some of the items from other reviews, kale and noodles, it was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimL
Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T

Low-Carb Bacon Spinach Egg Cups

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
We love these for breakfast or lunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
The muffin part was good, actually. It was the brown sugar, butter, cinnamon and a bit of flour topping that didn't work out at all. I should have stuck with the original white sugar. I ended up with a plastic brown sugar coating on the top of each muffin. Very crunchy but not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Squasage (Sausage-stuffed Squash)

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This was exceptionally good. Only change was that I added a pinch of salt & pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: Bacliff, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States