Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Chicken Long Rice Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
A definte keeper for the winter. I only had 8t bouillion powder so I was only able to make 64iz if chicken brith. It was a bit salty but I'm sure the low sodium chicken broth would have been better. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This right here! This recipe right here! It is the best hands down basic chocolate cake recipe, you do not need to look any further. Easy to make, and bakes up very nicely as a 13x9 cake. Frost it up, scoop out your portion and sit down for a relaxing evening dessert! You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasmin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Gnocchi

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Such a wonderful and quick way to make fresh gnocchi! We loved it and will make it again. Well written recipe with a delicious final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Taco Seasoning I

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I upped the garlic and onion powder a bit and omitted the red pepper flakes for the kiddos sake. Great flavor! Used this on chicken for tostadas...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Bruschetta

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
For the most part, I loved the balance of flavors. I did add more garlic (personal preference). Also - need to deseed the tomatoes before you begin or it's too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dump Cake I

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
My guests ate it and liked it but it didn't turn out right. I was very disappointed with this recipe. It was my first time making a dump cake so I didn't realize you actually don't need to stir up the fruit with the cake mix the way this recipe instructs you to(as well as the accompanying video). A friend previously made a dump cake with these same ingredients but their recipe had better directions and it was so delicious! For the best dump cake you should not stir the cake mix in with the fruit. Also, it needs to cook at least 50 minutes not 35. Instead of melting the butter, drop bits of it all over the top before putting it in the oven. I recommend cherry pineapple cabana dump cake on AllRecipes.com. This recipe correctly instructs you to dump the cake mix and smooth the top NOT STIR IT IN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolene

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up

Popa's Pickled Eggs

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I not only got to try these at the PNW AR Round-Up but I graciously got to meet the man himself that submitted these. OH man where they good. I couldn't wait to get home and make these for my hubby. So after I talked to bd_weld about his recipe and telling me I could easily do a dozen, I did a dozen and a half. I'm finding it hysterical on my part when making the recipe, I used the really hot yellow peppers with brine and a pickling mix offered from my store because it was way cheaper then buying the Morton's. Should have gone with that because, little did I realize how loaded with dried whole red Serranos and thought, ohh what the heck, HA!! on my hubby because he said they were fantastic but...WOOO!! what a kick. I ate the yoke out of several and hmm good, so I didn't get the intense heat from the egg whites themselves... he sure did. What a great addition to my household. Will look for the milder hot peppers with brine for the next time for my children. But they seemed to like them as well. TY Brian!! we love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Mascarpone Stuffed French Toast with Peaches

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Made French Bread and Mascarpone from AR to make this recipe. It was very good but really sweet. Will reserve for special occasions because it's a very rich breakfast. Next time I would like to use a sandwich press to enclose the mascarpone cheese to make it more presentable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Neat Sloppy Joes

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is just perfect. I have to double the recipe when we are expecting company. Because, I like to have plenty left for ME the next day. Great to have in the fridge for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

Mexican Shrimp Salsa

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
So Yummy! Perfect make-ahead dip!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINNBENN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Butter

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I reduced the amount of red pepper flakes and black pepper to 1 tsp. of each. It was excellent and made a bit hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Anise Cookies III

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I'm reviewing this but not photo-ing. My moonkid decided to take on a faceless recipe as I was doing my own. I saw her having difficulties with the recipe when she tried to follow the directions about rolling the batter out into logs the length of the pan. Can tell you it didn't work and became a mess for her. There is no directions stating needing to use flour. As I tried a little flour on the board and it absorbed right in. Using a piping bag was my only thought to make use of the log forms for baking on the cookie sheet. It worked out really well for her when I showed her what to do. BUT as they baked and I further read the directions and realized these should be more like biscotti cookies. So we followed through with the recipe. Flavor and texture were really good. I really loved the flavor. Both us decided that possibly if we took half the batch divided the batch onto 2 cookie sheets, it might work out better. And I agreed the cookies really should be made again because they taste darn good! However, there is a miss step in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up

Spam®, Cheese, and Spinach Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This recipe is totally forgiving. We really liked the thickness of the recipe. The basil was wonderful but felt you could leave it out with the SPAM in it, but totally have it in the recipe if you used a breakfast sausage. It's a keeper for sure. One note....don't use baking paper cups...found out really quick they stick....foil baking cups. LOVED THEM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Grilled Pineapple with Mascarpone Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Made Homemade Mascarpone Cheese off AR. I only had 1 pineapple so I halved the recipe to make 4 thick slices of pineapple. Even using 1 cup of mascarpone cheese, I had a lot of leftover. I'll reduce the mascarpone cheese to 1/2 cup and adjust lemon zest, lemon juice, and honey accordingly. Kidlets loved it! With making my own mascarpone cheese, it was a lot cheaper than buying store bought .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Mascarpone

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Very easy to make. So much cheaper than buying at the store. 1 pint makes about a heaping cup of mascarpone cheese. I'll try the lemin juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Tart Lemon Triangles

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
These were great! I made as directed, except for using 1/2 cup butter (since other reviewers mentioned the crust was a bit crumbly), and a bit extra lemon juice (I used juice and zest from 3 lemons since others noted they liked them more sour.) Oh, and I also added a pinch of salt to the crust and the filling. I used a pastry blender for the crust, just like making a pie crust, which I would recommend. It's easy and less messy than using a food processor since you can just toss it in the dishwasher. I cooked them a little bit longer, just until the filling was set. They were absolutely delicious. I did not let them cool completely because I was impatient, and they were good warm last night, and also great cold from the fridge today. Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURISSIMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Photo by Cynthia Ross

Elbows Mac and Cheese with Tuscan Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Not your Momma's Mac 'N Cheese. This sauce is a little more "tomato-y"... and the heavy cream makes it rich and smooth. It's really good. Be sure to use Fontina for the top, because it melts beautifully! Another great Barilla recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by EDDIEGIRL

Fig Preserves

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Thank you Dotti K for this recipe. This recipe is easy to follow. I did some research and found that you can chop up the figs before you the cooking process, I quartered the large ones and halved the small ones. The taste is sweet and fruity. This would go great on pound cake, baked brie and pancakes. I would change the name of the recipe to "figs in syrup" since it is not a preserve or jam style recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EDDIEGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Doggy Biscuits!

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Be very careful with the ingredients you use!! Garlic is NOT good for dogs so please do not use it. I am also concerned about the vegetable oil in this recipe. Fats can trigger an attack of pancreatitis, which is a potentially deadly illness. I have two Yorkies and I have to be very careful to feed them low-fat, low sodium foods. I would have to alter this recipe before I would feed them these biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up

Elbows Mac and Cheese with Tuscan Herb Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
this one won my family over! I almost did a goof and didn't add the heavy whipping cream until after I mixed things together and caught my mistake. Thankfully I put it back on the stove, mixed it right in and then completed the recipe by putting it in the oven and put that nice fresh creamy shredded Fontina cheese on the top. Mad was it really good. Can see making this one again. LOVE Fontina cheese!! This was excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States