Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Holiday Sweet Tart Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
I never would have mixed these ingredients in a smoothie. What a refreshing taste. Don't let the name fool you, it is tart but naturally sweet, just not overly so. I couldn't find cranberries so I had to use red currants. Follow the instructions and add the water little-by-little. I ended up only needing a bit less than 1/4 cup (maybe the currants have more water than a cranberry?). Thank you Linda(LMT) for your usual excellent, healthy smoothie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Prosciutto and Figs with Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
These three ingredients fit perfectly together. This is a simple appetiser to put together and during the hot summer is refreshing as much as it is beautiful. As written in the description, I served mine cold meaning uncooked after being refrigerated of a bit. This goes perfectly with a nice cool, crisp white wine. Definitely use a prosciutto crudo that is "dolce" (sweet) versus the more flavourful options. I used San Daniele but think Parma would be even better. Anything too savoury will take away from the delicate flavour of the figs, no matter how sweet. Thank you for your recipe Stacey08!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Blueberry Zucchini Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
I had lots of blueberries from our produce co-op and decided to try this recipe. I love zucchini bread and was intrigued by the idea of adding blueberries. I followed tips from other reviewers -- half oil/half applesauce, decreased sugar by 1/4 cup, increased zucchini to 2.5 cups and put the blueberries on flour before folding them into the batter. I got five small loaves. It is tasty, but will not replace the zucchini bread recipe I've tweaked from high school cooking class (39 years ago!) Thanks for the inspiration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Creme Fraiche

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Love this! So easy and tastes amazing! I just can't seem to find out how long it lasts in the fridge
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Awesome recipe - though I used garlic and deer sausage instead of the andouille so also added a little bit more cayenne pepper. Smash up the beans a bit while cooking to make the sauce a bit thicker but then you might need a bit more water - just depends how you like the consistency of the beans. Also had some ham bits left over and threw those in as well as cut way down on the amount of oil to sauté the vegetables and did use more celery. Served over basmati rice - sometimes the type of rice used can make a difference and I feel this is one of them. Everyone had seconds - a couple of the guys thirds so I'd say this was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Crispy Honey Sriracha Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Seriously crispy wings. Who knew you could get that crackle and crunch from the oven?! The method alone gets gets 10 stars. The sauce for me was good, but needed some tang. I think that more vinegar or as someone suggested-a squeeze of lime- would help. As is, they are sweet and spicy and full of flavour. I used less salt than written. Now more about the salt, if you can indulge in this amount of sodium then try these as they are written-you won't be sorry. I had to make these when no one was home because I live in a house with people on sodium restricted diets...so, I got them all, but felt guilty. I will definitely make them with a different sauce for the family. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Chef John's Beef Sliders

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
This recipe is a keeper! Love the sauce, it is great on a number of other sandwiches and fries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie De Leon

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Ace, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Chocolate Breakfast Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Yum, yum, yum, yum. This is a smoothie, a dessert and a meal all-in-one that tastes like an old fashioned milk shake. Decadent comes to mind when it hits your lips. I used buckwheat flakes instead of oatmeal but it doesn't really affect flavour. I did use homemade coconut milk and loved the flavour but it gave a thicker consistency and had to use a few more ice cubes than indicated. Leave it to Linda(LMT) to come up with a great smoothie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Quinoa Black Bean Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Really, really good! I used Sriracha sauce. Great 4th of July burger for those who go meatless! Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Watermelon Fwang

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
No need for sugar in this naturally sweet drink! I used plain yogurt and still this was sweet and delicious. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Grandad's Pancakes

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Wow what a recipe your grandpa can cook some pancakes I just made it for my family we have fallen in love thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gata0315

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Mabank, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Crisp II

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
I, too, was leery of the mayo in a dessert recipe, but decided to trust the other reviewers. . . Not fully committed, I halved the fruit and made a full recipe of the topping. It went together quickly and was delicious hot with vanilla ice cream. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garden Fresh Tomato Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Very good! We had this for lunch with grilles cheese sandwhiches. Very filling and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mediterranean Chickpea Salad I

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This recipe was a quick and easy lunch. It comes together so quickly and had a very tasty flavor. I think that we will use half the garlic next time, but we will definitively be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA

Crispy Honey Sriracha Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
Awesome, easiest, crispiest, and less calories too. What could be better: no messy oil to dispose of, nor the expense of buying it. While the Honey Sriracha sauce wasn't overpowering, I think I prefer Chef John's Spicy Orange Glaze or the Garlic/Ginger glaze. I've been using his baked wing recipe for years thinking it was the easiest and best, but this recipe tops that one. My wings were small and done to perfection in 40 minutes. Thank you, CJ, for another great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleescraga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Butter Cream Frosting II

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
This is an outstanding recipe! The only thing I changed was to use real butter instead of margarine, and dumped a little cocoa powder in for just a hint of chocolate. I think the salt makes it perfectly balanced. Saving this one for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi
Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Delicious!! I usually pan fry in olive oil with panko. This is a lovely alternative. So flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
It was pretty good, not the best though. Did exactly as recipe said. Although I did overcook it a little, the flavor didn't really stay with the chicken. Just needs some TLC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinkee682

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Chicken

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I overcooked mine a little so I couldn't taste the true quality but it was still pretty great. My husband loved it! Served it over some white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinkee682

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesecake Brownies

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Made it exactly as it said, using Duncan Hines brownies. Turned out AMAZING! Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinkee682

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States