Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by mis7up

Porcupine Meatballs in Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
The end result in my house as it was delish. I found that you need to use good judgment on the size of the onion. Use too much chopped onion results in a not so formed or held together meatball. That's just a heads up with some advice. If you have to much, just throw it in the tomato sauce and let it cook with it. However, recipe simple, easy and fast to whip together. I was worried about no spice or proper seasoning in the beginning but when it was all said and done, reminded me of the filling to cabbage rolls without the cabbage. I served over cheesy garlic mashed potatoes and called it a day. Will make again as my family said it was worthy as a repeat offender. TY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up

Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
While this recipe was the 2nd time to be a repeat offender in my house. I waited to see results. Both times this recipe was made, I liked, but I didn't like the over abundance of the vanilla. 2 teaspoons is way to much, you can taste it above the chocolate flavor and just under the peanut butter chips. However, the 1st time they were made as a cookie and were thick and fluffy and were more like a cakey cookie. I suggested that we try on the next go around to place in a mini cupcake/muffin pan and see what they do. And to my thinking, they did exactly as predicted...they were more a muffin style recipe verses a cookie. This recipe was good like I said but should be renamed as a muffin recipe, not a cookie recipe. And as a muffin recipe, they were perfect little morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by NoMoGMOCook

Fresh Broccoli Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
As is it's great but I did substitute the raisins for cucumber the second time I made it and still absolutely loved it. I use all organic and non-gmo ingredients as well to make sure I am feeding my family the very best. I will also say this is even better if you let it sit in the fridge a little longer as everything really soaks up the flavor and the broccoli becomes tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NoMoGMOCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Chicken Adobo

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Flavor was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Novick Feuille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super Duper Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
No mushrooms . No wine I use beef broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARA COYLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Rich and Creamy Beef Stroganoff

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Amazing. I made two changes. I used petit sirloin steak and a couple of dashes of red chili flakes. Otherwise the rest was as written. The flavor was spectacular. I put the leftovers (there's only two of us) in the freezer for next month. Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Novick Feuille

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wave Your Flag Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Perfect Berry Shortcakes

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red, White and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Patriotic Gelatin Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Linguine with Zucchini

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Living In: Big Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Fajitas

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Terrific and easy recipe for me that my. Family loved thank you soooooo much ! I didn't use mushrooms since my family doesn't like them in it and added shredded cheddar. I'm by no means a chef Ramsey lol just an average cook and like recipes that don't have tons of ingredients or difficult to make.i find nothing bad to say about his recipe and am grateful for it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
LOVE this cornbread! I serve it with ham and collard greens for an awesome Sunday dinner! The first time I made this, I accidentally added baking powder instead of soda at first; instead of throwing out the batter, I just added in the required amount of baking soda and kept the baking powder addition. Ended up even fluffier and lighter--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mashed Sweet Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is so easy to make! I add some cinnamon to the water. It's delicious with pork tenderloin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paperdog77

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Sorry. We threw this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
The best I have ever made and quite possible tasted. Rich and creamy. I added some minced garlic this last time and it was fabulous!! I will be using this recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

Fajita Marinade I

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I have used this 5 or 6 times now and it is awesome for chicken and beef fajitas. I didn't add the water ,like several suggest, and now almost double the cayenne for a little more zip. Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

Cola-Brined Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I was making over 60 wings for a party and I tried three different recipes from Allreicipies.com. This one was the hands down favorite. They went so fast that I never even got to eat any from this batch. Next time I will be sure and try em myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skillet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Winter Garden, Florida, USA

Easy Indian Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe. I doubled portions of the garlic and onion, caramelized it all. Half went into the simmering sauce; half went on top of the chicken (I used chicken breasts) which baked at 375F for 50 minutes. My husband had two servings of everything. The sauce is remarkable. This recipe will make you an instant food genius.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NessaSays

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Crisp II

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Wanted to chime in here with another stellar review and a couple of tips. Used six Granny Smith apples, and 1/4 cup of water as someone else suggested, and it was a tiny bit dry on top so I think the 1/2 cup would have been fine. Also mixed the sugar, cinnamon, flour, etc. and added some nutmeg as someone else suggested, and tossed the apples in the mix. Didn't double the recipe; it was by far enough topping as written. One of the BEST apple crisps I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaGirl2014
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States