Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Almond-Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I did modify this slightly, but mostly stuck to the original recipe. Part of the modifications were due to what I had on hand. I made this using whiting from a recent fishing trip. I increased the almond/parmesan mixture by an extra half a cup for each. I also added the garlic powder and pepper in there, along with dried parsley. I chose to bake the fish on a half bakers sheet with a rack so I wouldn't have to turn them. I just heaped the parmesan mixture on the filets prior to baking. I baked them on 325 for 30 mins, and broiled them for the last two minutes (didn't move the sheet, had it on the middle rack) to brown the topping. Very tender, perfectly cooked, and even my daughter who doesn't like fish asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozekitten

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Sunshine Muffins (with whole orange)

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This recipe was perfect for using up the oranges I had hanging around the kitchen. Sunshine is the perfect adjective to describe these delicious muffins. They have a robust orange flavor due to the whole orange peel and all going into the blender. I used Craisins and fresh squeezed orange juice. Sad to say I didn't have any nuts on hand and while the muffins taste good without them, pecans would send them over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceemama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sandy G.

Summer is Here Triple Berry Peach Pie

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
A really tasty pie! I did not have raspberries, but used 3 fresh peaches, and blueberries and strawberries added in to fill the pie shell. I used wheat flour instead of white, and did not have a runny pie at all. I used "heaping" amounts of both brown and white sugar, and my pie was a little too sweet. Maybe because my fruit was ripe and sweet? I would go by the recipe's amounts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandy G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

Pumpkin Gingerbread

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
it was soooooooo Delicious with a capital D!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! it tasted like she turned pumpkin pie in to a bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lometa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cucumber Sandwich

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I'm not a big fan of California type sandwiches so these were just okay. Both of my daughters thought is was just okay too. Used Whole Wheat Bread from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by Cynthia Ross

Tiramisu II

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
This recipe is so authentic it brought back memories of a romantic dinner in Rome with Ermanno. Mmmmmmm! Seriously, this is a GREAT recipe! Used Starbucks French Roast coffee. Great coffee is a MUST. Doubled the coffee/rum mix and STILL wasn't sure I had enough. However, later discovered those Lady Fingers sop up liquid like little sponges. Just drizzle the mix over the bottom layer. No one wants a soggy bottom! ;) Grazi, Christine! Loved this recipe. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Adjusted the recipe to make 1 loaf. Although I'm not a fan of whole wheat bread, this was pretty good and the kidlets liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Pizza Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was very heavy and I found myself picking around the pepperoni because it just didn't work with the pasta. I can see how this would be a good family (kid pleasing) dish but if you're making for just adults, I would look elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Schubert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken a la King I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Wonderful! I left out the pimentos and added extra mushrooms and served it over egg noodles . It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balsamic Roasted Pork Loin

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was a great Sunday lunch! I did a Beef Loin instead and cut the balsamic with a little stale coffee. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frijoles de Olla

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Simple and versatile! You can do anything with these beans, or nothing. I like a little more complexity to mine and added onion and peppers but sometimes, simple is indeed better! Lard Rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This recipe is FANTASTIC & so versatle. I have even used chicken breast instead of pork. It's simply delicious! I add onion powder to the season rub also some diced onion & minced garlic to the sauce. You can add any variety of spices to your taste and you can also substitute the wine for chicken stock, but the wine really adds another level to the taste you don't get with stock. This was an instant family favorite & is now in our biweekly must haves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TastePeachesNCream

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tomball, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Gluten Free Brownies Ever...Seriously

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
I tried this recipe using 3/4 cup of GF flour blend - without any gums added - and enjoyed the brownies very much. I don't care for the use of xanthan gum and by reading the other reviews mentioning that the batter seemed "glob-like" or "sticky" felt this was because of the gum and chose to omit it altogether. I used an 8X8 square baking dish (approx. 2 inches high) and they cooked evenly throughout in approximately 30 minutes. The end product was crumbly. I imagine this was due to the lack of any binders. I will definitely use this recipe again. The taste is in fact delicious just like a traditional brownie. Perhaps the next time I'll use some arrowroot or sweet rice flour to help bind more. Thank you Lindsay for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Pup-Cakes

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
GARLIC IS TOXIC TO DOGS As well as onion, avocado, grapes, raisins, and (of course) chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten Free Pie Crust

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This worked perfectly. I did use cocoa flavoured GF crispy rice cereal instead of Chex and cocoa powder and sugar. It held up perfectly to my cheesecake. Thanks Johnnycakes for this great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Prefect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUNGCLAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Webster City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Uvalde, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt

Bruschetta I

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This is perfect. The only change I made was to add the garlic to the bruschetta mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Photo by Crikkitt

French Baguettes

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
Good flavor and texture on the inside but I would like a crunchier crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

Best Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I really liked this recipe - it makes for a great tuna noodle casserole. It's one of those "clean out the pantry" recipes where you can use what you have on hand. For instance, I used whole wheat egg noodles, 98% fat free mushroom soup, and a mixture of cheddar, colby jack and manchego cheeses because it's what was what I had. I also sauteed the mushrooms and onion in butter before adding them, and dropped the frozen peas in with the noodles at the very end before draining. As others also suggested, I used the empty mushroom soup can to measure out half a can sour cream and half a can milk, just to ensure it wasn't too dry (and it turned out perfectly). I, too, just mixed in all of the cheeses, added some cracked black pepper and a dash of salt, and topped the casserole with buttered bread crumbs, as I didn't have potato chips. Saved and will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODFAVOR8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bibi

Maple and Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly, with only two exceptions: I used clarified butter instead of olive oil to brown the tenderloin (for its higher smoke point), and I added about 1/2 tsp. of salt. The marinade is very sweet, and only the sweetness and a hint of garlic came through. I was very surprised that the sesame oil and the horseradish were completely lost. That can be adjusted, because DH and DS really liked the flavor. The tenderloin was moist and juicy. I see the author describes this dish as "grilled", but it was pan-roasted. I followed the directions, and I was happy to try this method, since I have only done stovetop with medallions. Thanks for the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States