Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Baked Pasta Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Was ok. Not spectacular. Like lasagna a little. Next time I will use mozzarella. Didn't care for the cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Adkins Byerly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Butter Crescents

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Very straightforward and easy recipe. My 14-year old daughter made these twice. Everyone enjoys them. She found better results when brushing with milk instead of egg. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

3-Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
Ladies and gentlemen get your cold glasses of milk ready! Super easy and super delicious. This whips up-even by hand- in no time. I even used 3/4 cup of sugar and they were awesome. I weighed each cookie before baking (25 grams each) and it yielded 18 cookies (using 3/4 cup of sugar). Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Chef John's Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Loved this, and surprisingly the kids did too! I added shredded carrots in with the chicken mixture and sliced up some radishes to top with. I didn't have the basil, but I think the cilantro on it's own was fine. Very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Made this for my teenage nephew and son, they devoured all of it with iceberg lettuce wraps. I did not have the chestnuts or mushroom caps, but either way it was very good. Small suggestion: decrease the ginger its a bit overpowering and decrease the brown sugar to half. Also I found it easier to cook all of step #1 prior to mixing it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Cantu Mitchell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Harlingen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Spicy Shrimp Skewers

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
These are yummy! I overcooked mine a bit but that was my fault. Also I only marinaded about 20 minutes, because I was worried the citrus would start to cook the shrimp. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I had TONS of blueberries from our produce co-op and decided to try this. It is easy to make and perfect for so many things! I refrigerated it overnight (as suggested) and had some on Belgian waffles the next morning! Yum! It was also tasty on Greek yogurt and vanilla ice cream (like cobbler without the crust).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Simple Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
Very simple to make and delicious. I've made it twice -- once as written and once creamed as other reviewers suggested. We preferred it creamed, topped with cheddar cheese and crumbled bacon. The soup was thinner than I like, so next time I'll strain out some of the broth before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Whitney Ford

Spinach, Mushroom, and Ricotta Fettuccine

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I think this was really good for a quick basic meal. maybe better with some added garlic..but I add garlic to everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Mujaddara Arabic Lentil Rice

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Excellent! I did cook the lentils in veggie broth, and added garam masala, cinnamon, and allspice with the rice. Very, very good, especially with the carmelized onions on top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Onions

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Delicious! I used Kahlua as I did not have Amaretto. I also took some of the others suggestion and tossed the not toasted almonds on the top the last 20 min. Thanks for a great recipe! Cooking it tonight for my son who is coming for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

Blackened Salmon Fillets

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
This is a fantastic blackening rub mixture. I triple it in order to have some ready anytime. I made a few changes just for personal preference: I added garlic powder (I add garlic to almost everything! :) and a little less cayenne. I also use either EVO or avocado oil in lieu of the butter. Thanks for sharing a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

Glazed Parsnips

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
My husband took one bite and said, "This is good." Not only good, but easy and fast. No flavors overpower the other. The only thing I did differently was I cut up the parsnips prior to boiling. The reason I did this is because parsnips are much larger at one end than the other and I wanted the pieces to cook more evenly. They are not hard so it is not difficult to cut raw. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGKAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA
Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Spicy Tofu Stir Fry

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Fantastic! I used fresh cayenne peppers. I added some "spiralized" carrots, squash and green zucchini. I used Sriracha and it really goes well in this dish. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Spinach Chicken Parmesan

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
This was super easy and was great for a last minute meal. I had everything on hand which is one reason why this recipe is so good. It's fast, healthy and I always have the ingredients on hand. The only changes I made was to add garlic and I used tomatoes from my garden instead of the peppers. Will for sure make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lisa's Easy Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
Yes, this is easy to throw together, but be sure to read the recipe all the way through. It must bake for an hour, so it's not exactly the best recipe to select for an evening when you work late. Other than that, which was my fault, and I will certainly not dock the recipe for that, this was tasty. Mine made a good quantity of liquid, which could be thickened and enjoyed over pasta or rice, but I chose this for it's low carbs. I didn't have tomatoes, but I don't think the dish suffered for that. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by Whitney Ford

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I made this tonight and it was very good. I typically don't modify on the first try but my SO hates onions. So I used just 1 Tbs dried minced onion in the meat mixture and doubled the mushrooms. He and I both liked it, the toddler doesn't get a vote.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I used seasoned bread crumbs, adding garlic, parmesan cheese and basil to the mix. They turned out great. Quick dinner for a weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Grilled Garlic Parmesan Zucchini

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Great way to fix vegetables on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Zesty Zucchini and Squash

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Very good and easy recipe. Add a little cheese to make it even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Texastrucker58

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States