Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Tomato and Bacon Jam

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
YU-MMY! I used a white onion (blanched in salt water to cut the acidity) because that's what I had on hand, and only added 3/4 c. of sugar like another reviewer suggested and it came out great. I will try using a bit less sugar next time. Good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Balela Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is fantastic! I used less mint than was called for (only because I didn't have enough), did an extra tblsp of lemon juice and used a serrano pepper instead of a jalapeño because I like the flavor of serranos better. I think next time I will add another serrano but overall this is a great dish, fast, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pessimist01

Buffalo Chicken and Roasted Potato Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I love this. I roast the potatoes for 20 min at 500, add wing sauce at the half way mark. I use the precooked chicken and bacon. Mix more sauce over chicken and bacon. Then add the potatoes. Mix it all together and put it in a casserole dish and bake for 20 more minutes at 375. Add cheese bake for 10 more min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pessimist01

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Azle, Texas, USA
Living In: Lead, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Great-Aunt Nina's Noodles and Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Put this together when I got home from work. By the time I woke and family got home from their jobs it was ready. Tasted great! Next day leftovers was even better! Now waiting for winter to get here to really enjoy next to the fireplace!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

Cumin Turkey Burgers

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Was definitely a change of pace. My son and I liked it but momma did not. There will be a next time of course but for honeys sack I will adjust it a hair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

Grilled Masala Chicken with Vegetables

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Next time I will make my own spice minus the cloves. The store brand was over powering clove flavor. Bad batch I believe. It does have potential and will try again. Alas this first time Family and I just could not eat it. Until I do a second will give it one star. Will update in future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

Crispy Rosemary Chicken and Fries

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
No change. Went by recipe exactly. So easy and as advertised. Great tasting chicken and crispy potatoes. I did through some seasoning between skin and meat. Family loved it! Thank You for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

Donut Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Gluten Free version. These are soooooo delicious. I practically ate all of them myself while waiting for the next batch to finish in the oven. I ended up having to make 2 other batches round robin style when my daughter tasted them and then invited all her friends over. Addictive little buggers. My GF version recipe is in my recipe box if you are interested. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buckwheat Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Chop Suey Cake

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
While this recipe had a great flavor, I'm on the fence with this. Batter was easy and simple and while it had a great flavor, from a piece I could taste. I couldn't believe how the batter soaked up the non stick spray I used to keep the cake from sticking to the pan as it cooked, totally went out the window and glued to the pan like I didn't use anything. I couldn't pry this out of the pan. No subtle way or approach worked to get a nice piece out of the pan. I looked like Lucille Ball from I Love Lucy involved in a comedy skit. By the time I tried, the cake was all over me and the countertop and it looked like a bomb exploded in my kitchen. Needless to say, a 2nd attempt was made and same thing happened, so I gave up after I had a few chuckles from my kids at my mess. There won't be a 3rd attempt but again what I could taste was nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Biscotti Dessert Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Followed to a T. The batter was nice and formed into logs quite easily, however, not that flavorful for a biscotti cookie, rather bland and didn't have that sweetness either. Sorry I won't be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up

Bishop's Bread II

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Talk about a chunky monkey colossal of a bread. It's thick, dense, sturdy and full. We liked the bread but felt I could have decreased the amount of chocolate chips by 1/2 that it calls for. Loved the fact of mixing the milk, baking soda, vanilla and juice from the maraschino cherries together....what a neat science trick in the kitchen to show my youngest when it grew and foamed up. She thought that was pretty amazing. I will make again but would totally decrease the chocolate chips. Not that I don't love chocolate but the amount with all the other additions was so chunky that in spots where the chips settled, the bread fell apart and hands were covered in chocolate. Tastes great with a pat of butter smeared on to the slices when served. TY Another note, I used 3 smaller loaf pans. But will note, don't use large loaf pans...the batter wont' bake all the way through and will burn on the outside before it gets completely done. Smaller loaf pans and or muffin tins are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mis7up

Chocolate Kahlua® Brownies With Coffee

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This recipe isn't a brownie. It's not even a brownie cake. It's a cake. I followed the recipe to a T. Do not understand why the butter had to be partially frozen at all because when the ingredients are mixed together thoroughly, the butter was a lumpy and still almost solid in the mixture. It didn't even incorporate fully with the rest of the ingredients. As simple as the recipe is. I didn't sub any ingredients nor make any changes and being that I love Kahlua baked into recipes because of it's lingering flavor and the overall richness it adds, there was way to much in this recipe for 1/4 of a cup to be utilized. It was pungent and overwhelming nor could you even taste even the coffee flavor either. There was not enough cocoa powder to even taste it's presence as well, let alone be a chocolate or a blonde style brownie. I am sorry, truly and utterly sorry for even having to review and rate it a one star. My apologies to the submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Just made them without the walnuts..Exactly as written Really good.flavorful..buttery goodness..Eating them right now..A keeper.Thanx to the originial baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Black-Eyed Pea Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Not the best I've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOBIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Coconut Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I use the whole fat (unsweetened) coconut milk. I also added a Tablespoon or two of fish sauce. We love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lucas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Crikkitt

Red Velvet Cookies

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
These were good, they're like little, tiny, individual, red velvet cakes. I used Lorann Red Velvet emulsion instead of the red food coloring and vanilla. If you're not using the filling, you'll probably want to add about 1/2 cup more sugar, they're not quite sweet enough on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

The Ultimate Marinade

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I've used this recipe many times for chicken and it's always so good. The longer it marinates the more savory and delicious it is. It's a go to for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krispy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Breakfast Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Delicious bread, and easy way to use up apples that are "past their prime" for snacking. I used half white and half brown sugar, ad subbed pumpkin pie spice for the cloves. I may add just a little oil next time to make it a tiny bit more moist. My oldest daughter asked me if I "can make this bread every day," so it definitely has the family seal of approval.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Parmesan with Fresh Basil and Smoked Mozzarella

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Although I don't eat eggplant, this is a very good recipe. Recommendations: Don't buy canned/jarred marinara sauce. If you make this recipe, prepare your own marinara. Marinara has uses as an ingredient in other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jack Of All Kitchens

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Photo by mis7up

Crisp Pickled Green Beans

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have used this recipe quite a few times with fresh green beans. My family loves how they turn out. I leave the garlic in the recipe to marinate with the pickling mixture and find that pickled garlic is a favorite of mine. This recipe is simple and nice and my kids love it when I use the pickling mixture with pickling cucumbers. Thank you, this is a delightful and easy recipe that I will experiment with, with other veggies ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States