Texas - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Grain Free and Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
This recipe yields a very good cookie-a keeper for the recipe book indeed. The texture is not the usual almond flour texture thanks to the coconut flour. It is chewy but not overly. It melts in your mouth but is still crunchy outside. With my first batch the cookies spread out over the baking sheet, cooked in 6 minutes almost burning on the bottom but not the top. This left me with a delicious, very flat, very large cookie even though I put the batter in the fridge for about 10 minutes. I tried a second batch using 25% butter, freezing the batter about 10 minutes and weighing each cookie before baking to ensure each cookie was the same size (approx. 23 grams before cooking). The second batch is the one in my picture. I had tall cookies, that look like muffins-but don't doubt it-these were cookies! Almost like mom used to make if mom had cooked with almond flour and coconut flour. They held their shape, cooked in 8 minutes and tasted like heaven. I also turned down the temperature to 165° C on the second batch. Thank you Christine Rogers for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
I made these following the recipe shown above (no alternations/substitutions) and got 16 of the best muffins I've ever eaten. The recipes says it makes 8 big muffins. I didn't really measure the amount of blueberries. I just tossed in what I had on hand and maybe that made the difference in yield. Plus, I purposely made some smaller muffins for our 3-year old daughter and still ended up with big muffins. Luckily I had the presence of mind to spray the 18-muffin sheet with baking spray because the tops rose high and spread wide and connected with each other to form a big mass of blueberry muffin top. Because of the spray, getting them out was a breeze and my daughter and i got to enjoy the little pieces that broke off when I separated the muffin tops from each other as a treat before lunch (shhh, don't tell Mom). I was a little confused about the vanilla part. The recipe didn't call for it but I imagine vanilla was part of it originally and was later removed since the consensus seems to be it didn't make a difference. Oh, and I always set the timer for the minimum time suggested knowing I can always bake/cook a little longer (but never a little less) and they were done to perfection at the 20 minute mark. I think this recipe is pretty darn perfect as is. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten Free & Dairy Free - Vanilla Brownies :)

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Barley contains gluten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by shayda

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
delicious!! made this as easy as possible on myself and used a 10 oz bag of frozen organic rhubarb, 1 lb strawberries and refrigerated dough. followed the recipe exactly as is.definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shayda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

Herbed Chicken Nuggets

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This was flavorful and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Hash Brown Waffles

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Excellent! Shredded the yellow potatos skins and all. Soaked then spun in a salad spinner to dry. Used an electric pizelle iron which worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jake

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Guacamole

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Grilled Lemon Yogurt Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
this is the best chicken I have ever had. I prep my meals for the week, and this chicken remained juicy and tasty for days after we cooked it. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Ramen Coleslaw

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I always love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheLazyChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Goldfever Chicken Wing Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Great twist on classic wings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Porter, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free Vanilla Brownies

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
DO NOT MAKE THESE with barley flour for anyone who needs gluten free cookies. Barley flour contains gluten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Tracey's Fish-Free Summer Ceviche

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Light and refreshing mix of textures and flavours. I was worried about the mozzarella in citrus so I ate it immediately instead of letting it sit. This serves nicely with some tortilla chips. I added some hot peppers and bean sprouts. Ceviche flavours for those of us who can't eat fish! Thank you Traceya822 for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Grilled Tofu Sandwich

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
An array of flavours makes for a nice sandwich here. The tahini really makes this sandwich. I didn't have pita bread so I used whole grain gluten free sandwich bread. I also drained the tofu and lightly grilled it. The only issue for me was that it only gets toasted on one side under the broiler. Next time I will lightly toast the bread before assembling the sandwich. Do not pass up this sandwich, it will not let you down. Thank you Cindy for this nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Mom's Red Scalloped Potatoes

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
This recipe was ok but not one I'll try again. Did follow the recipe other than just halving it since there are only two of us. Also, cooked potatoes an additional 20 minutes per other reviewers' suggestions (actually should have added at least 30-45 additional minutes as potatoes were slightly undercooked even with the additional time). Way too rich for our tastes. Thanks for posting though - love trying new recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cilantro Tomato Corn Salad

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This side dish is a winner and once I had my first bite I knew that this would be going onto my favorites list. The sweetness of the corn with the butter, the little bit of heat from the pepper and the crisp flavor of the cilantro are a great combination for goodness. I used a bag of Trader Joe's fire roasted corn witch added even more flavor. I cut the butter down to two tablespoons, putting the butter and the corn in a bowl and microwaving it for three minutes. I substituted a Serrano chili for the Jalapeno and it gave it some very nice heat. I will be making this one throughout the summer. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mtbiketx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Trophy Club, Texas, USA

Carrot Cake III

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
This was delicious, it was my first time making carrot cake and it was very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marshmallow Treats

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
So good! The key to making sure they don't turn out hard as rocks is to take them off the heat when marshmallows are about half way done melting. I always use the regular size bigger marshmallows, not the mini. I swear the mini mallows cook to quick or something, because they never turn out as soft when I use the minis. Then just stir off heat the rest of the way until melted fully. I even leave a few clumps in when pouring in the cereal. They will be so soft this way :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Fried Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
Loved this! My daughter said it was better than any restaurant fried rice she'd ever eaten. I changed up the veggies and used prosciutto cotto cubes for the meat. She took the photo. Thanks semigourmet for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Manicotti Pancakes II

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
2 thumbs up! These worked perfectly for our dinner. I don't know what manicotti is, but I needed a savoury pancake for crespelle. I used gluten free all-purpose flour adding 1/3 cup of milk more to compensate for the extra thirsty flours. I couldn't be happier. They held up to bending and folding and didn't disintegrate when the filling and sauce were added. Thank you Carol for your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Easy Rice Flour Pancake

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2015
READ THIS BEFORE MAKING! You will need MUCH more water than 1 Tbsp. At 10 Tbsps, I stopped counting. In the end for this recipe, as written, you'll need approx. 1 cup of water. I added an extra Tbsp of oil as well. This is a nice gluten free way to have a pancake that doesn't break. Large pancakes don't flip well so pay attention to make the right size, enough to accommodate your spatula. The taste is simple and tastes like a rice pancake so it won't over power what you are eating. Having said that, I used this for crespelle filled with ricotta and spinach topped with béchamel, it didn't hold up to having sauce poured over it and then baked. This would be a perfect pancake to use as a wrap or "tortilla" replacement. Leftovers baked well to form a taco shell or chip. Thank you kim for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Where's The Food, Mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States