Yukon, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
good stuff! Made the healthy version and used whole wheat flour for 1.5 cups of the 3.5 cups required. This ones is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn

Hasenpfeffer (Rabbit Stew)

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Been a while since I have cooked rabbit, not a common item here in the Baltimore area, this looked like an authentic recipe to me. I followed the recipe EXACTLY except I used Concord grape jam instead of Currant jelly. It was a huge hit! Don't leave out the lemon in the gravy! I did strain the gravy and work some of the pulp through a sieve to make a silkier gravy. A bed of chive spaetzle....some roasted brussel sprouts....a peppery Zinfandel and it's a perfect late night romantic dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Healthier Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Liked it, everyone ate it. Great for a large group too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Cauliflower

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Made this for a potluck at work and everyone LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oregon Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
These were pretty good I guess, but none of my family went nuts over it. I probably won't make it again unless I can use fresh salmon, which is tough to do since I'm from Oklahoma. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn

Sous Vide New York Strip Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
First of all, I have to say I was raised on a big commercial cattle ranch in Oklahoma.....have had steaks in Dallas, San Antone, KC, OKC, and everywhere in between. Needless to say, I know a little about steaks. I tend to shy away from NY Strips because they tend to be a little tough, I prefer Rib Eye. I followed this recipe exactly using my crockpot and these were the best NY Strips I have ever had. The only thing I did different was for the final sear, I used my charcoal grill. About a min, minute and a half per side, make sure you season them before the final sear. I've never had those kind of Mushrooms (Wegmans carries them) but can't imagine having a steak in the future without them. Overall, well worth the effort. Once you put the steaks in the water, they don't need much tending. To make it easy, experiment a few days in advance with your crockpot to maintain 131-135 degrees. I put mine on warm and tilted the lid a bit....maintained 132ish.....thermometer is very important. Don't get wound up over the time....it's not critical.....if it goes three hours, won't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies III

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! I boiled for 2 minutes and also used crunchy peanut butter at my husband's request. These turned out great :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn

Easy Coq Au Vin

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Good solid starting point. I added pearl onions and chopped mushrooms and used bacon grease instead of oil to brown the chicken, put in a pat of butter to give the chicken a nice brown color. I served it over pureed cooked cauliflower and roasted brussel sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn

Catherine's Spicy Chicken Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
I took the advice of others and used black beans instead of chili beans.....other than substituting chopped fresh tomatoes for the canned whole tomatoes and adding some red pepper, I made it exactly as the recipe shows. It was great! I garnished it with a handful of fried tortilla strips, some avocado chunks and a dollop of sour cream.....a quick squeeze of lime....very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe! It was so dense I might even call it a pudding of sorts. For a lighter texture I might use less vegetable oil next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Potato Soup I

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Great way to repurpose ingredients from a previous meal. We had baked potatoes the night before and I made extra for this recipe. Instead of using the green onions, I sautéed some diced onions, red & green bell pepper and celery and added it with the potatoes. I also added a a tsp of Thyme for a little more flavor, but would have been great without. My 11 year old and his friend loved it too. Asked that I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmcsusn

Merwin's Shrimp Gumbo

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made the recipe exactly as written with a couple of minor additions and it turned out great. To make it more like I remember it when I lived in Louisiana, I added a cup of fresh okra and one seeded chopped fresh tomato, not canned. Flavoring the roux and the gumbo with the chicken made a big difference (we ate the chicken after we removed it!) Be prepared, the roux takes 35-45 minutes of constant stirring, it needs to be dark brown and you know it's done when you can smell a strong cooked flour smell. In spite of conventional wisdom, we skipped the potato salad and crackers and served it with toasted sourdough and a fresh salad, a 2008 California Cabernet Sauvignon paired well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmcsusn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Clone of a Cinnabon

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I made these this morning, for Father's Day breakfast for my husband. What a disappointment for him to wake up to these. They were hard as bricks. The dough seemed fine and then I put them in the oven and they never got "bready". They were dense, and hard, and just stayed a hard dough. I am upset, to say the least, that I put so much time and thought into this special morning for my husband, and this is the breakfast that I had for him. =( I don't know why it didn't work, there are over 5,000 good reviews for them. But I will not be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMama88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Peanut Butter and Banana Sandwich

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
I made this one morning for my family, thinking it would be a great new idea for the kids. Just really wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMama88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Waffles I

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Made for family today and my boys and husband loved them. Crispy on the outside, soft and light in the middle. Followed the recipe for the most part. Used brown sugar instead of white and also added a little cinnamon. I doubled the recipe and have plenty left over to freeze and pop in the toaster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
The great thing about this recipe is that its super easy to make, and only takes a few minutes. Perfect when you are looking for a veggie to add to a dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

Vegetable Curry

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I had to add water for the cooking process, but this is absolutely the recipe I've been trying to get from my Indian co-workers who come to work with delicious smelling dishes daily. Now my curry can stand up to theirs at the Dept. pot-luck. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MJ4OSU

Colombian Lentils

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We are currently on the Daniel Fast and this was a great recipe for a meal! I added garlic and also used a can of petite diced tomatoes and added some bell pepper since this was for a meal. I plan to make this again and experiment with other veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ4OSU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mary's Meatloaf

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Flavor was good. But who cooks a meatloaf for 2 hours?? One hour is plenty of cooking time for this recipe, unless you like your meatloaf bone dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenMama88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 91) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States