Tulsa - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I have never made a quiche before so while hosting a girls lunch, I found this recipe with all the rave reviews. Have no fear, this recipe is a KEEPER!!! I only made a few minor changes. The ingredients I used were broccoli, bacon and cheese. I steamed and chopped the broccoli first then followed the recipe to the tee. Delicious!! I have since made my children a more "kid-friendly" version made with chopped ham and cheese alone. My 8 year old had seconds... very rare!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annak
Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Meh. Just okay. I love brussels sprouts but this did not do it for me. They were overcooked and the only flavor was on the outer leaves that were roasted. This looked better than it was. The sprouts were bland and needed something. Maybe if I had cut them in halves they would have had more flavor overall? My husband tried one, but he isn't a fan of brussels sprouts so gave this one a thumbs down. Sorry for a poor review, but it wasn't my thing. I enjoyed trying out a fun new recipe though, so thanks JAQATAC for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Torsk

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Super fast and easy but this did have a sweet taste which seemed weird. Fish shouldn't be sweet. My mouth was puzzled. My hubs never said a word and he is usually the pickier diner. I used cod that was still frozen despite "thawing" in the refrigerator all day. Even though I only boiled it for barely over 3 minutes, it took a long time to get frozen fish to a boil, and then it started falling apart when I removed it and attempted to pat it dry for the last step. It was a decent dish, but we simply aren't fond of fish that hasn't been breaded in cornmeal and fried. I was trying to prepare healthy meals for us, but we both voted we'd prefer fried fish and would rather not have it at all unless it's fried. It's just a texture thing I suppose. The recipe itself was fine but neither of us compared it to lobster even "mock lobster". My husband loves lobster but this didn't make the cut for a cheap substitute even when served with the melted butter and lemon. I topped mine with plenty of squeezy lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Maria's Rice

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
This was super fast and easy to throw together and get in the oven. After that, it's all just waiting. This was actually delicious and had a fantastic onion flavor and no doubt it was not the healthiest dish on my plate but it was my favorite. I used unsalted butter. I even went back for a second serving. I loved Maria's Rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Simple Baked Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
I made this this evening and was in a bit of a hurry and didn't need an intensive recipe with a long list of steps or ingredients. This fit the bill perfectly and it turned out tasty too! I used skinless boneless chicken tenders and Geoffrey Michaels Cajun Breakdown seasoning. I used a lot more than a pinch though as I sprinkled it liberally over both sides. I sprinkled these with kosher salt before cooking. This was simple, took a little over 30 minutes, and was tasty too. That makes this a winner in my book. I skipped adding any water to the pan since my tenders will still not completely thawed out. Nothing stuck to the bottom and it wasn't necessary. This is a great easy recipe, thanks Always Cooking up Something!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by Kennas-mommy

Poor Man's Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I made this yummy meal tonight for dinner i also prepared Cabbage and Asparagus (my family loves green veggies) and we paired it with Brown rice to make it more healthy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kennas-mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

Salmon with Lemon and Dill

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Turned out incredibly moist and delicious. Our favorite of the many Salmon recipes we have tried so far. As others recommended, I wrapped my filets in aluminum foil and baked for only about 15 minutes and that was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ham and Cheese Party Sandwiches

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
Delicious! I took this recipe to a church gathering for sandwich night. It was one of the few recipes that had no leftovers! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Port Huron-Style Coney Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
This reminded me a lot of Cincinnati Skyline style chili with the flavors of cinnamon and allspice. I haven't eaten a coney in Michigan so I can't say how this compares, but I was looking for a coney sauce like my favorite Greek Coney Island place back home makes. This is similar in texture, but not quite the same flavor as the Economu's recipe. I really liked this quite a bit and added a very generous amount to my coney dog. I used a wire whisk to break the meat up and it worked great. I didn't know exactly what beef base was, so I used a beef bullion cube. I didn't need to add the crackers to thicken as mine was already thick. I cut this down to make 2 servings and used approx. 1/3 lb. of ground beef. I didn't have garlic powder but found some grated garlic in my fridge, so that is what went in the pot. I will definitely fix this again. I only let this simmer for 2 hours and it was fine. We were too hungry to wait any longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Isaac's Juicy Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
This was simple and super easy. It didn't say whether they meant the prepared Ranch dressing in the bottle or the dry mix so I used the dressing in the bottle. I used some plain panko bread crumbs that were unseasoned and since my bonless skinless chicken breasts were huge I butterflied them and then flattened them with a mallet and then my cooking time was only 30 minutes for this dish. I ran out of breading and had to make more for the last couple of pieces. I had just barely enough egg/ranch mix left for the last piece so the next time I fix this I will adjust and make more of both. I couldn't taste the ranch dressing and this really turned out well. My husband liked this. It isn't going to replace good old fashioned fried chicken, but it was good and I'll fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Creamy Banana Pudding

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Oh my goodness!!! This was delicious!!! I made a wonderful ham Easter dinner and this was the perfect dessert to end with!! All who ate it raved about it. My friend's 6 year old daughter who is very picky about her food asked for seconds!!! I have had many a banana pudding and I will admit I honestly think this recipe is the best! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Banana Pudding Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This pudding is very strange and tastes like flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Wonderful Short Ribs

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This was a really simple dish to put together and then it was was just waiting after that. This had a red pepper flavor and a little heat to it. I was expecting a barbecue flavor and this wasn't. It was a bit tomatoey and had heat and wasn't bad at all. I browned my short ribs first and then cooked these as directed. When this was finished the bones had fallen right off the meat and this made a nice sauce. I liked the sauce over rice very much. The meat wasn't really that tender and I still had to use a knife to cut mine. I don't know why as it simmered for almost 3 hours and the bones fell out. We liked this okay but aren't big fans of short ribs so we won't be fixing it again. I think the addition of some garlic would have given it more depth of flavor and another dimension. This was really easy to fix, it just wasn't our thing. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Coco-Cola Cake III

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Fantastic cake. Not your same old same old chocolate cake at all. This was rich, fudgy, and delicious. This was moist and chocolatey. The cake was really good, but the icing was really fudgy and even sweeter. I didn't have nuts so I proceeded without them. This reminded me of Texas Sheet cake. My husband called it brownie cake and had 2 pieces. I added just a pinch of salt to the icing as my butter was unsalted. I didn't have buttermilk so I used the sweet milk/vinegar method to make a substitute. All I had was a British malt vinegar, but it worked and the flavor was not affected. I had to bake this just a few minutes longer as the center was still jiggly at 35 minutes. I will make this again, it was really easy and tasty and was just as I remembered from my youth. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Simply Lasagne

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This turned out well for me. I actually used this recipe to make cheese stuffed manicotti instead. It was supposed to be lasagne but when I went to my pantry what I thought was a package of lasagne noodles was manicotti so that is what I worked with. I simply stuffed the cheese filling into the uncooked pasta and then put them in the baking dish and dumped the sauce over it and topped with the rest of the shredded cheese. I followed the baking instructions and this actually turned out well. I was skeptical since the pasta was uncooked, but yes this works and it was a timesaver as well as easier to stuff the dry pasta. I used a can on Hunts spaghetti sauce and subbed small curd cottage cheese for the ricotta. I had to personalize it and added a pinch of basil and some oregano to the cheese mix and some garlic salt and freshly ground black pepper to the beef as it cooked for flavor. I cut this recipe in half and used 6 manicotti noodles. Easy peasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Shrimp Lemon Pepper Linguini

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
This was great! I doubled the sauce and it was awesome! I used whole wheat linguine. Our two year old really liked it and so did my husband. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Herb Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I made it home just before the winter weather struck our area. I needed a dinner that I could make with ingredients that I had on hand and stumbled upon this recipe. I made the recipe with the exact meaurements listed, the only things different was that I used chicken breast tenders and I baked it at 375 for about 37 minutes covered with foil. The sauce is very good. It would go great on top of brown rice. I served it with brussel sprouts this time for a low carb dinner and it was great as the brussel sprouts soaked up some of the butter sauce! Yum! Will defintely be worth a repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Great recipe! I excluded the sherry, increased the marsala wine, added a splash of chicken stock and heavy whipping cream and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sloppy Joes I

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I too had this recipe as a child. Only difference in my mom's recipe is 3 Tablespoons of Ketchup and no water. After browning ground beef and draining the fat add other ingredients and cook on medium to low heat for 20 to 30 minutes! My son and his friends loved these sloppy Joes! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TXgirlintheKitchen

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
I had never made biscuits before this but I will not even look for another recipe! This recipe is easy and comes out perfect EVERY TIME. I have made these at least 20 times and each time the biscuits were soft, fluffy and delicious. I do use butter instead of shortening, always, and even substituted honey for sugar one morning in a pinch... absolutely no difference. These biscuits are AMAZING! One last note... I don't roll them out and use a glass to cut, I just roughly shape them with my hands and set them on the baking sheet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States