Tulsa - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by LoloBear

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This is absolutely true to it's name--the best! I use oven ready lasagne noodles and they worked famously and save a tremendous amount of effort and headache. Although I will say the sauce needs to have at least 2 more tomato sauces added if you use these noodles because they soak up the extra liquid. You can add water, but it adds more flavor if you add more tomato sauce. Next time I try this recipe, I might try it with fresh tomatoes in place of crushed because we have a ton of tomatoes from the garden. Thank you for the awesome recipe that brought smiles to my family table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoloBear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by CheapSteak

Carolina Style Low Carb Barbecue Sauce

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is the first mustard based sauce I've made, and it is fantastic. I'm on a low-carb diet, so I had to forgo the usual sweet tomato based sauce. I altered slightly: I used EZ-Sweet liquid sucralose, because "granulated Splenda"has net carbs while pure sucralose does not. I added a tsp of both onion and garlic powder. I only used 1 Tbsp of chili powder, and replaced the other Tbsp with chipotle powder. I hate liquid smoke, so instead I put the sauce in a shallow cake pan and smoked it for 2 hours, stirring every 30 minutes. It came out delicious, and made a believer of mustard base, out of 8 people. Happy cooking! PS If you wondering what's next to the sauce in the photo, it's sea salt that I'm smoking also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CheapSteak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Slow Cooker Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
The gravy is amazing! Left off the flour (by accident). Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Hanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
Hands down, the best chocolate chip cookies I have ever made. I did not change the recipe one iota and these cookies were fantastic. I only had one cookie sheet so plopped the dough onto it spaced out as specified and put the rest of the dough in my fridge until the first round was done. The second set of cookies came out a bit gooey (which we don't mind) from being in the fridge but the first set was phenomenal too. No crispy edges or burnt bottoms. They spread out and flattened perfectly and needless to say, we ate them faster than we should have. That was three nights ago. Another batch is in the oven as I type this. I nibbled on a bit of the dough from this batch and it is so good lol. I used a regular sized ice cream scoop to set the dough on my tray and go 14 REALLY BIG cookies. Probably 5-6" in diameter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gildawen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Boiled Water

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
SO incredibly delicious! It's just got a refreshing taste! He doesn't specify what size pot, so it's always a guessing game for me!! After watching the AR video for this (where it tells you the diameter of the bubbles), I watched it until it bubbled. I got a ruler and tried to measure the bubbles to make sure that I didn't under-cook them, but I scalded my hand in the process! Ouch! ;) Thanks, Seth! [I'm seriously joking about all this!]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Fresh Strawberry Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
I've made this cake several times now and it is a HIT at my house. I make it in a pan that I don't have a serving plate to invert it on so I leave it in the glass pan. Maybe doesn't look as good this way but it sure as heck tastes WONDERFUL. Made it just as the recipe calls and it is sooo good. Since then have experimented some and they are awesome also, so this cake does give you the opportunity to make it "your own". Try it if you like an awesome refrigerator cake with fruit, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Cake Shot

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
What you really do is lick the sugar, take a drink, then suck the lemon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazinghorror

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Gary's Turkey Burritos

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
I made this for dinner tonight..... the family loved it! It's a keeper! Made a batch of Best Spanish Rice to go along with it. So filling and pretty healthy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Snickerdoodles III

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
These cookies are wonderful! Soft and moist. The snickerdoodles recipe I usually make requires shortening and I was out. I use a tablespoon and drop it in the sugar/cinnamon and then roll them since the dough is a little sticky. This will be my new go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very good basic refrigerator sweet pickles. loved it and the grandkids enjoy helping me make them. We also tried with some extra cucumbers (not enough for a whole batch) making it exactly the same but adding some pickling spices to it. The grandkids just sprinkled a little in both the jars and when consumed they LOVED those. AND, just to pass along the grandkids EVEN ate the onion and green pepper in them, which they HATE otherwise, so THANKS sooo much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Very Chocolate Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Excellent, simple recipe. We used Ghirardelli semi-sweet chocolate and the level of chocolate flavor is EXCELLENT! We followed the recipe exactly and had absolutely no problems with it freezing or anything else. If you are a chocolate fanatic, try this and you'll be very happy. We doubled the recipe and folded in chopped up "butterfinger cups" at the end but the possibilities are endless! ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Gore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cornflake Crunch Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This was just like we used to get in elementary school. It was and still is a great little treat. Easy to make and great flavor too. This had too much cereal for the sugar/pb mix so the next time I will cut back to 8 cups of cereal instead. I've only ever made or had these as a drop cookie, so the bar concept was new and faster, but I like the clusters better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

General Substitutions and Some Conversions

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I know some of these! Granted, this isn't a recipe, but all together very helpful! Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakergirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Farfalle and Tuna Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I mixed the sundried tomatoes & Italian seasoning in a magic bullet and added button mushrooms that had been sautéed with garlic, lemon & some white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jalapeno Hummus

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I accidentally changed it. So can't rate it. Its really good. Using it for a acorn paste that meets Dorne for a Game Of Thrones party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dakorama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilac

Home Made Farmer's Cheese

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Thank you for this recipe and helpful reviews. I moved to Oklahoma where soft farmer's cheese wasn't available. This saves one of my family's best recipes. I used white vinegar. 1c per gallon of whole milk. I let it sit as suggested for about 8 minutes and it made about a pound of cheese. It was mild and a tad sweet. No vinegar flavor and all pure whey left. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Avocado Salsa

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This is one of my all time favorite salsa recipes. I use it as a side dish allot. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen's Gluten Free Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Iced Coffee

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Coffee made using the cold brew method is delicious! Cold brewed coffee is much smoother than hot brewed coffee. It reduces the acidity and makes it much less bitter tasting. This recipe makes enough for two to three cups of iced coffee, depending on how much milk you like to add. I make this exact recipe every other day or so. I like to add unsweetened vanilla almond milk. I normally use regular ice cubes, but if I make a pot of regular hot brew coffee, I will freeze the leftovers rather than pour it down the drain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dry Spice Rub for Lamb or Beef

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I love this recipe, and so does my family. We tried something different, yesterday, though, and put it on a roast, two days ago, then yesterday, we put it in our smoker, with mesquite briquettes. It was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blazinghorror

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Fasoliyyeh Bi Z-Zayt (Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil)

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
My husband is Syrian also, and I have made this hundreds of times, both with fresh and frozen beans. I do it a little differently, though. (I don't like to cook with olive oil but use it at room temp only.) I sauté several cloves of garlic that I COARSELY chop or slice in a small amount of vegetable oil (like canola or coconut) then add the green beans, and about 1/3 - 1/2 cup of water, salt to taste and cover, cooking over medium until they're tender but not mushy. Then uncover for the last few minutes, (most or all the water should be evaporated), and serve with a generous drizzle of olive oil. By gently sautéing the garlic first, it intensifies the flavor and takes away the bite of raw garlic. Plus the flavor of olive oil on warm beans also makes the flavor of the oil shine through. We typically serve these slightly warm or room temp, but not typically hot. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wanda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States