Oklahoma City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Doris's Shrimp Salad

Reviewed: May 22, 2015
I made this for my culinary class to put on some cream puff shells and it was a big hit! I did add a little bit of mint, because it felt as if it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri_Whitepaw

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Mexican Casserole

Reviewed: May 17, 2015
Made this to the instructions and it was yummy. My husband likes spicy food and even though he added jalapeños to his portion he said the recipe was a definite keeper. This dish could be spiced up any number of ways including using Fiesta scoops or any spicy corn type chip. But even just as it is it's delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Strudel Muffins

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Really good muffin! Gave it 4 stars because I didn't care much for the topping... I also added a little cinnamon to the muffing batter just because I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Good Old Fashioned Pancakes

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
These were great. Soft yet slightly crispy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Addictive Sweet Potato Burritos

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
These are awesome. I'm vegan so I omitted the cheese. I added a tablespoon of nutritional yeast to the beans. I also used black beans because I'm not fond of kidney beans and I left some of the beans whole for some texture. I put a couple of dollops of vegan cream cheese before rolling up the burritos. I topped them with sliced avocado. So delicious and filling I think I could easily serve these to my carnivore friends
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I'm giving this 4 stars as written. I did make it as written the first time. My changes are more personal preference, not because the original recipe is bad in any way. Didn't like the idea of curry in this recipe so I substitued1/2 teaspoon of ground chipotle and 1/2 teaspoon of ancho chili powder. I also added sliced avocado and chopped tomato and omitted the cranberries. My favorite way to cook quinoa is the rice cooker. 1 cup quinoa to 2 1/2 cups of water or other liquid (I like better than bouillon vegetable broth base) Set the rice cooker for white rice. Perfect and fluffy every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon-Basil Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I cooked my quinoa in the rice cooker with vegetable broth to make it vegan. I added chopped tomato and avocado for more flavor and nutrition and served it on a bed of baby spinach. Really nice salad with the tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James Lane

Salted and Blackened Tilapia

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Fast, easy, and delicious! It went well with red beans & rice and a little Crystal Hot Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Lane

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tofu and Veggies in Peanut Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I made this exactly as written except for the cayenne which I did not have on hand. I substituted sambal olleek in it's place. I did crisp up the drained and pressed tofu first and then added it back in at the end. I love peanut butter but it seemed to me that the proportions were off. It felt like the sauce was too peanutty and too thick. I used a natural peanut butter. The sauce felt heavy and rather than coat the tofu and veggies I felt like it drowned them. I ate it but I haven't even decided whether I'll use the leftovers. I don't think I'll make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

100% Whole Wheat Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Excellent. I substituted honey for the sugar and added a half tsp of vanilla. I think this will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Johnston

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Vrry quick to get to oven, and great results! Tastes more complex than the few simple ingredients used. Chops were crunchy outside and moist inside. I did follow the flour first suggestion and the breeding held tight. Couldn't be more pleased! Thanks for a great pork chop recipe! Salud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Isaak
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Apples and Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
I have used this recipe as a side dish and loved it. It is also delicious as a vegan main dish by adding chickpeas and serving on a bed of quinoa for more protein. (the red quinoa makes a nice color contrast) I also add a few chopped walnuts for extra crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is delicious. I doubled it and it gave me 3 meals. I used a baby kale/baby spinach blend and it was really good. I cooked the quinoa (I chose the red quinoa) in the rice cooker with vegetable broth (far and away the best way to cook quinoa. Use the white rice setting) Because I was storing it for 3 meals I chopped the avocado and tossed with the dressing right before serving. Delicious. I've thought of adding some chickpeas for a little more substance but haven't tried that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato and Black Bean Chili

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I just recently went vegan and this Chilli beats anything I ever made with meat. I'm a single person so I half the recipe and this gives me two hearty servings or 3 moderate ones. I wouldn't change a thing. The ancho chili powder can be found online at spice barn and I've noticed target has it in their market pantry brand. It's worth it to source both the ancho and chipotle. Makes all the difference. One of my absolute favorite recipes from this site. This is on my menu rotation at least twice a month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerryokie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I love this gravy, and so does my family. I have made it the last two Thanksgivings and LOVE having this important element of the meal done ahead of time. I can give it the attention it deserves well in advance of the last minute frantic race to the table, and I know ahead of time the gravy will be 'just right'. Thank you Chef John for the recipe, and for making my Thanksgiving easier to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Isaak
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was a very tasty and quick to make dinner. I read reviews and brushed my rolls with sour cream, then rolled in Italian bread crumbs. The chicken was not at all dry and the rolls plated up nicely. I was surprised how quickly dinner was on the table, so no problem for a weeknight dish. My asparagus spears were very young and thin, and i could have used more than called for in the recipe. I will correct next time. My husband was very impressed and after only two bites was showering compliments. A definite keeper, and a great option if you are having guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Isaak
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Great smoothie! I used vanilla yogurt, 1 tsp. sugar, no nutmeg or vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Henry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very good recipe. The beer enhances that distinctive flavor you associate with the French Dip sandwich. I did brush the roast with Kitchen Bouquet and added a few shakes of garlic powder but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
It's a good basic recipe. Definitely need to double or triple the ingredients for sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Cheesy Broccoli-Potato Mash

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was very good. A great way to make mashed potatoes have more nutrients and taste a bit lighter. However, fontina cheese is hard to find in most stores us simple folks go to...so you can use something else. Any cheese works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States