Oklahoma City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

100% Whole Wheat Pancakes

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Excellent. I substituted honey for the sugar and added a half tsp of vanilla. I think this will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Johnston

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Breaded Pork Chops

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Vrry quick to get to oven, and great results! Tastes more complex than the few simple ingredients used. Chops were crunchy outside and moist inside. I did follow the flour first suggestion and the breeding held tight. Couldn't be more pleased! Thanks for a great pork chop recipe! Salud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Isaak
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I love this gravy, and so does my family. I have made it the last two Thanksgivings and LOVE having this important element of the meal done ahead of time. I can give it the attention it deserves well in advance of the last minute frantic race to the table, and I know ahead of time the gravy will be 'just right'. Thank you Chef John for the recipe, and for making my Thanksgiving easier to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Isaak
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This was a very tasty and quick to make dinner. I read reviews and brushed my rolls with sour cream, then rolled in Italian bread crumbs. The chicken was not at all dry and the rolls plated up nicely. I was surprised how quickly dinner was on the table, so no problem for a weeknight dish. My asparagus spears were very young and thin, and i could have used more than called for in the recipe. I will correct next time. My husband was very impressed and after only two bites was showering compliments. A definite keeper, and a great option if you are having guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Isaak
Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Smoothie

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Great smoothie! I used vanilla yogurt, 1 tsp. sugar, no nutmeg or vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Henry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Duncan, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2015
Very good recipe. The beer enhances that distinctive flavor you associate with the French Dip sandwich. I did brush the roast with Kitchen Bouquet and added a few shakes of garlic powder but otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
It's a good basic recipe. Definitely need to double or triple the ingredients for sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

Cheesy Broccoli-Potato Mash

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was very good. A great way to make mashed potatoes have more nutrients and taste a bit lighter. However, fontina cheese is hard to find in most stores us simple folks go to...so you can use something else. Any cheese works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Cheesy Broccoli-Potato Mash

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was very good. A great way to make mashed potatoes have more nutrients and taste a bit lighter. However, fontina cheese is hard to find in most stores us simple folks go to...so you can use something else. Any cheese works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Thit Bo Xao Dau - Using Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This makes a good healthy quick meal. I serve it over boil in bag brown rice. If you like garlic try adding double to the meat and another clove while the beans are cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Quick Fudge Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I absolutely love this frosting!!!! On a white cake it is delicious. I use butter instead of shortening and if you cook it a few minutes longer than the recipe calls for it makes wonderful fudge. Used it during the holidays for neighbors baskets. Added chopped walnuts and WOW!! Neighbors called for the recipe. And it's so easy to do. Can't keep my hands off of it. Give it a try, you won't be sorry!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage, Egg, and Cheese Scramble

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
This was good but I think the eggs would have been better if using a little water instead of milk...or even even just a lot less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Ford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richardson, Texas, USA

Flatlander Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Really like this recipe. I've grown up making chili and I always cooked the onions, celery and bell pepper until it was tender before adding the rest. In the fall it's fun to roast a hatch pepper and peel it and dump it into the chili. It doesn't increase the heat that much. I also experiment with different chili powders. We really like chipotle chile flavor. I love club crackers in my chili and my husband says no way. Well we both can eat chili for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Great recipe. We always have cornbread with lots of honey with our chili. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ponca City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti Squash with Bratwursts, Andouille sausage, and Veggies

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Followed baking instructions, but made a few substitutes: Instead of beef I used 1/2 lb. bratwurst and 1/2 lb. Andouille sausage. Other substitutes: 1 cup diced poblano pepper instead of bell peppers, 1 cup extra sharp Cheddar cheese, and 1 cup Monterrey Jack cheese. Sprinkled about 1/2 cup "4 cheese" mix over top after 20 or 25 minutes of baking, and baked another 5 minutes until cheese melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Baked Spaghetti Squash with Beef and Veggies

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Followed baking instructions, but made a few substitutes: Instead of beef I used 1/2 lb. bratwurst and 1/2 lb. Andouille sausage. Other substitutes: 1 cup diced poblano pepper instead of bell peppers, 1 cup extra sharp Cheddar cheese, and 1 cup Monterrey Jack cheese. Sprinkled about 1/2 cup "4 cheese" mix over top after 20 or 25 minutes of baking, and baked another 5 minutes until cheese melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Salted Caramel Pecan Sticky Buns

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have been making cinnamon rolls for almost 40 years. I always used the same recipe up until today. This recipe is the best batch of cinnamon rolls I have ever made! Family and friends all agreed! I was looking for something that would use the yeast I had left over from Christmas. I was intrigued that this recipe called for 2 TBS of yeast. If you are wondering how many packets that would be 1 packet = 2¼ tsp 2 Tbsp = 6 tsp. You will need 2 whole packets PLUS 1½ tsp. out of a third packet. A lot of yeast but well worth it. I did reduce the brown sugar slightly as a personal preference. The recipe called 1/4 tsp of salt in the caramel topping. However I did not put the salt in the caramel instead I sprinkled sea salt in the prepared pans. It gave the sweet caramel just the perfect taste of the the saltiness I have learned to love in my salted caramel candies. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Pork Chop Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I have nothing but high praises for this delicious soup. It would have been perfect just the way it was presented, and the only reason I made any changes at all was because I used what I had on hand without having to make a trip to the store. I had a bag of stew vegetables and three boneless pork chops that needed to be cooked. I put those in to Allrecipes' search engine, and VOILA! No broccoli in the fridge, but extra celery and some minced garlic. I also cut the meat in advance and browned it in my Dutch oven, just to avoid extra dishes. But, that's really about all I did differently. This soup turned out amazing. And, it made the whole house smell so good while it was cooking, my mouth was literally watering as I ladled in my first bowl! It's definitely a keeper, and one I'll fix again to share with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIBOWERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Old Fashioned Mac and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We loved this. I would love to say I didn't change a thing but I ended up using up a few different cheeses we had in our dairy drawer in addition to the cheeses the recipe called for. I made this in a glass bottom dish and baked it with the ham. It got a bit brown on the bottom. (I should have thought of that) Even the brown was tasty but a bit tough. I will make this again. I just made my husband his lunch to take to work and I have to say that this recipe is just as good if not better the next day. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

Bourbon-Glazed Ham

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This is a 5 star all the way! I doubled the recipe and used a 10 lbs bone in 1/2 ham. I usually by a pre glazed spiral ham and since this was just a regular ham I wanted to add a glaze. I put it in a roasting bag and let it marinade for about 14 hours. (flipped it about 4 times) I hate bourbon and my parents had left 2 bottles here and I wanted to use it up. I was nervous because one of the reviews said that it left a strong bourbon flavor. But my guests and I felt it gave it a rich savory flavor. Everyone loved it. This glaze is OUTSTANDING. I even forgot the garlic which would have made it even better. Thanks Jennifer. I will forever keep bourbon in my kitchen from here on out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenKey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

The Original Fantasy Fudge

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This is my family's fudge recipe. People beg us for it every year. I just made some and it is divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberley Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Guthrie, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States