Norman, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Breakfast Sausage

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
This is wonderful! It's become my absolute go to anytime we need or want breakfast sausage. I make it with ground chicken, which lowers the fat content significantly. You can't even tell. Just make sure you use a little spray oil in the skillet when cooking since very little fat will render from the meat. The only change I make is to increase the crushed red peppers to a full tsp. Also, after mixing everything w/ the meat I roll it up in saran wrap and drop it in the freezer for about 60-90 minutes. This freezes it just enough for me to make perfect slices. Thank you Lee Fogle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2015
I tried this Alfredo recipe because 1) I had all the ingredients, 2) I wanted something tasty, 3) I needed something fast. This recipe fit the bill on all 3 points. I read some of the reviewers suggestions and the idea of using cream cheese sounds like a great idea. I used some rotisserie chicken - mixed, not just breast. It was pretty easy and passed the family's test for keeping recipes. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Young Llopis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Best Blueberry Buckle

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
This is a perfect blueberry recipe! The directions were straight-forward using simple ingredients that I always have on hand. The blueberries stayed in perfect suspension in the cake instead of sinking to the bottom like many fruit desserts. The cake was just sweet enough to set off the flavor of the blueberries, and the touch of cinnamon in the crumble complemented the flavor of the cake wonderfully! Best of all my family loved it! We ate it as dessert last night and are having it with our morning coffee right now! This will find a place in my recipe file next to my grandmother's cranberry bread... it is that good! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Parmesan Sage Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Very tasty and easy. Hardest part was being patient, waiting long enough for each side to brown and get a crust! Served with stuffing and corn. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Stew in Green Salsa (Guisado de Puerco con Tomatillos)

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
This goes to 11! Good Lord Almighty! This is the best thing I've ever made...seriously (at least my family said so, anyway, even over my beef stroganoff). I've had this at various Tex-Mex restaurants and they do not even come remotely close. I made only a few tiny changes out of necessity. I used chicken broth instead of water at the cook's suggestion. I only had one teaspoon of marjoram left to use, so I threw in a teaspoon of Mexican oregano. It was taking so long to tenderize the pork so I added a another 1/3 cup or so of chicken stock to keep it from completely drying out. It kept reducing even more and still not tender enough (yes, this was even on low heat). I then added about 1/2 cup of dry white wine. Took at least 1 hr 15 mins if not an hour and a half to cook the pork down to fork tenderness. The wine added acidity to an already wonderfully rich dish. I served this over white rice. This is going straight to the front of the Mexican/Tex-Mex recipes in my personal cookbook. Amen to you PLATO! You rock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chad G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mcloud, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellidd

Bacon Cheddar Jalapeno Cornbread

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
It was fantastic - I highly recommend the recipe. I added pickled peppers instead of fresh ones because that's what I had on hand however I could not have been happier with the dish. We usually have about 1/2 a pan of cornbread left over that we have to throw away but not this time. Every single slice was eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Regina Pompeo

NO YOLKS® Beef Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I really enjoyed this, instead of beef I used a Venison beef mix. was very delicious. I would not change anything about this recipe. Maybe next time add vegetables!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Pompeo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raton, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by Regina Pompeo

NO YOLKS® Creamy Chicken Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
This was pretty delicious, I will need to add more liquid than what the recipe called for as it was too dry after was finished cooking, Also I will not use amount of bread crumbs that the recipe called for. Overall great comfort food recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Regina Pompeo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Raton, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Moroccan Harira (Bean Soup)

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Meat Addition review: I was looking for a 15 bean soup recipe and found this gem. I added 2 lbs of Italian pork sausage (because that's what I had) cooked up with spices and the onion. I added fresh green beans cut into 1/4 inch pieces, corn and fresh tomatoes along with 2 cups of dry mixed lentils and no canned beans. I didn't add quinoa, because I didn't have any on hand right now, but love the cilantro in it. This is a great base recipe, you can leave it as is or add to it as you want to. I would have liked to have some seasoned diced tomatoes in the pantry, but the fresh turned out fine (and are healthier, too). I had limes, in lieu of lemons, and squeezed them on top, but lemon would probably give better flavor to this recipe. I'm going to add a dallop of sour cream to mine... Either way, it's hard to go wrong. Mine is good, but I look forward to trying this again when I have more of the original recipe ingredients on hand. Don't be afraid to mix it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaceflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dijon Grilled Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
No changes! Usually my grilled pork chops are pretty dry - but not this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Rack of Lamb

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This was my first attempt at making Lamb and I loved this. It was better then I've ever had it in a restaurant. I followed the advice of making sure the lamb rested at room temp for an before cooking. I followed the recipe exactly. At 18 mins it was a perfect medium. Looks like I'll be making lamb more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Vidito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black-Eyed Pea Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This has become our go to New Year's Day meal! After years of trying different ways to incorporate Black-Eyed Peas into our NYD dinner I'm glad we finally found a mainstay. I use bulk Italian style chicken sausage rather than pork sausage and that lowers the fat content while keeping it wonderfully delicious. I also subbed beef broth for the water/bullion and used some frozen/roasted/diced Hatch Green Chile's rather than canned... love this stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Traditional Christmas Cheese Ball

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
My mom made this for the holidays all the time growing up and today I'm making it for New Year's Eve. She didn't use walnuts and layered sliced green olives all around it -- but I am chopping up the olives and rolling it in walnuts which is easier, just as pretty and adds a nice crunch :) She served it with Ritz crackers and Chicken in a Biscuit crackers so I'll probably do the same, maybe a whole grain cracker also. It's definitely delicious and presents well on a nice cheese platter or plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spaceflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Ground Chicken Basil

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Added juice of one lime, handful of chopped wild onion tops, julienne of half a carrot and a couple of baby bell peppers to the original recipe. With these additions, it's a 4 star recipe. Thank you Valery K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pork Chops II

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
My family and I love these chops! I make it just as the recipe says and with leftovers I shred the meat and make a sandwich or nachos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Vigil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcell, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I loved this. They turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Vidito

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kellidd

Spinach and Mandarin Orange Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
This recipe is great! It is very retro with the warm dressing but the combo of butter, sugar, and vinegar is delectable! I did not use slivered almonds because I had toasted pecans and that were fabulous. I recommend this for everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muskogee, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

Chickpea and Quinoa Salad with Lemon and Tahini

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I used canned beans and just cooked the quinoa. By doing this, it is really quick to fix. It's best after sitting and absorbing the flavors for a couple of days. I make it on the weekend and take it to work as lunch. It keeps me full until I head home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbequed Cabbage

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
Great! We make this all the time now. We add minced garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States