Midwest City - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
We really liked this. My husband isn't a big fan of black pepper so next time I'll use much less or white pepper instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken-Fried Chops

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was delicious. I made sure the chops were covered with the soup during cooking and they were fork tender. I did use two cans of soup (mushroom and cream of chicken) and added some mushrooms, green chilies and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Other than adding a little bit of ground cloves, I make this recipe exactly as written. It is wonderful! Also, I buy off brand ingredients and the last time I served this cake, a guest was saying that it taste so good b/c he knows I use good quality ingredients. Well, good quality but inexpensive from Aldi's, lol. Some of the reviews say that they soaked the raisins in orange juice or other things. But if you try this cake as written, I can't imagine that it could get any better. Top it with the cream cheese frosting II from this site and its amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
This banana bread is really moist and delicious. I followed the recipe as given except that I mashed the bananas and used pecans instead of walnuts. Thanks for a wonderful recipe. Made French toast using this bread and it was very good. I would suggest cutting the pieces a little less than thick than commercial bread and soak thoroughly in egg mixture with a little cinnamon. Serve with fresh blueberries on top and a side of bacon. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I've never made pie crust before. And I made a last minute buttermilk pie and needed a last minute pie crust recipe. Thank goodness for Barbara Castodio! When they say it is no fail, it is no fail! I made it exactly as posted & it was perfect. I only made one pie, and I didn't need top & bottom crust. I couldn't tell you one way or another if it made an adequate amount for two pies. But I can tell you that I have enough pie dough left over that as soon as I get home from work, I will be making another buttermilk pie w/this crust. What a life saver and what an amazing crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Buttermilk Pie IV

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
If you want a great buttermilk pie, by golly this is it! I made a Father's Day spread and had buttermilk left over from other recipes that I made. My father loves buttermilk pie, and last minute (who knows why), I thought I would look up a recipe and throw it together. Well, it was a rare good last minute idea and it was completely devoured. I got one small piece, there were no leftovers. In fact, my father told everyone that since it was father's day, that the pie should belong solely to him. He only got one piece too. Poor guy! But no worries b/c I still have some buttermilk left and as easy as this was, I will be surprising him with his very own tonight! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and it was perfect. I love any and all things sweet, so I probably would have loved it w/2 cups. But I didn't want to make it too sweet for my guest. 5 stars for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Bacon and Macaroni Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made this recipe for Father's Day. And I thought it was good. One review said they used an oblong glass baking dish and sprinkled the bacon and tomato on top. I mixed the tomato in, but I did use a glass baking dish to serve and added the bacon on top and it just looked so good! Once I placed it on the table, everyone said it looked amazing and they couldn't wait to try. Everyone liked or loved it. But my husband was adding mayonnaise to his sandwich and then used the spoon on his salad and said the mayonnaise tasted amazing w/the salad. However, as people were taking up leftovers (it makes a lot), I told them what my husband said and they said they wouldn't change a thing. I will make this again, it is crowd pleasing. My personal opinion was that it is simply good. Nothing more or less. But others loved it. And that's good enough for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Mississippi Mud Pie I

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This dessert was part of my Mother's Day menu. Made the day before and it was perfect the day of. I'm not the biggest fan of butterscotch, so I used vanilla instead. But it will be on my Father's Day menu for my dad. And I think he will love the butterscotch. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as written and it was so good! I only have a couple of 9x13 pans and they were in use. I grabbed a couple of the flimsy throw away foil pans at the store. They will work, but b/c of the crust, I won't do that again. This deserves a glass or metal sturdy pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
This is probably my favorite strawberry dessert. Made if for Mother's Day and everyone loved it. Made as written and I can't imagine changing a single thing. I made it the day before and it was perfect for serving the day of. The flavors and textures are fun & yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Crustless Cheese Quiche

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Quick and easy, and not bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kalua Pig in a Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Wow, this recipe is amazing! I've never been to HI and I've certainly never had a traditional pig roast. I can't compare it to anything but I don't need to. It is fantastic! I've seen this recipe over the years and I looked for Hawaiian sea salt a time or two. I never came across it at the grocery store or Target. However, I did see it Williams-Sonoma but @ that time I wasn't going to spend that much on salt. After this recipe, I would now though! I needed a no fuss recipe to be done by a specific time and I needed it to serve 10 people. My daughter found Hawaiian sea salt @ sprouts and the pork butt roast was a little over 7lbs (smallest the store had). I didn't add anymore salt or liquid smoke to compensate for the extra pound. As I was adding the salt, I was thinking wow, that's a lot. But man, when we sat down to it, it was perfect. My guest loved it and got 2nds & 3rds, my family said its a "do again" meal & I ended up w/2 additional guest which it served everyone and I still had a little left over. We served the Hawaiian buns and made coleslaw as another reviewer suggested. Thanks so much for this recipe, I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Cinnamon Rolls III

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
These cinnamon rolls were fantastic. I love cinnamon rolls, and these were the best that I can remember ever having. They were really dense, and I personally liked that. The frosting was great, but even I'll admit that they have a bit too much cream cheese. I would suggest adding more powdered sugar and reducing the amount of cream cheese. Other than that, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyler James
Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cinnamon Swirl Bread for the Bread Machine

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is SO easy and fantastic! It will be a new favorite for our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cake VI

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I'm giving this cake 5 stars b/c everyone loved the end result. However, since there are so many great reviews, I know that the incidents leading up to the finished cake were my fault. I recently moved & have limited cookware. I had a glass 9x13 dish that I baked this cake in, and I didn't take into account that it might take longer to cook. So, after an hour I removed the cake, did the toothpick test (it was clean) and put directly in the freezer. After 45 mins, I removed the cake and the middle was sunk in b/c it wasn't done after all. After a couple of times trying to rebake it, I removed the outer edges (that were done) and cut them into squares and placed in a glass bowl, smothered w/a layer of frosting and repeated until I reached the top. My parents and family said it was amazing & they loved it. My mom requested this cake for her b-day. With that said, I will make this again for my mom, I won't use glass & hopefully the result will be better. If not, I will do the layering again, lol. The cake did have a wonderful flavor! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Chef John's Scones

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Oh, these are really fantastic! All I can do is echo all the other 5 star reviews. I didn't have dried currants. But being the mother of a few kiddos, I did have some Nestle holiday semi-sweet red & green morsels. I used those and had some very festive scones. I'm so excited to try the currants though in the next go around. I can see these as a Sat. morning treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Creamy White Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe is sooo good! It has such a wonderful, rich, full flavor. My family wants it again tonight, you know.. one of those type recipes. I doubled this recipe b/c I have a big family. After I cooked the chicken, onions & garlic, I put everything (not sour cream or whipping cream) in the crockpot on low. After a couple of hours, I turned the crockpot off and added the sour cream & whipping cream & added a few potato flakes. However, I don't really think the potato flakes were necessary. But if you wanted it thicker (some reviews said it was too thin), then you could thicken it up to your liking w/the flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

Chai Tea Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Oh my, this is REALLY WONDERFUL!!! I made this recipe as written and took the authors suggestion on spicing it up and it is beyond WONDERFUL! I love Chia tea and you can't find it everywhere especially at work. It is such a nice change from the normal coffee, tea or hot chocolate. Made a double batch that I will give to co-workers for a little Christmas treat. Thanks so much for the recipe, you can bet this is going in my fav recipe box to be used often. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Too much flour! The texture was PASTY!! Otherwise, a good recipe. Next time I will use less flour & really didn't need that much black pepper either. Especially when feeding this to little kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Corn Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made these to go with chili and they were fabulous. I did, of course, switch things up a bit due to ingredients on hand. I used 1/2 cup flour, 1 and 1/4 cup cornmeal, 1 can of pumpkin, no oil, 3 tablespoons maple syrup and omitted the brown sugar. I made one batch without nuts and one with and both were delicious. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Weisiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Corn Bread

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made these to go with chili and they were fabulous. I did, of course, switch things up a bit due to ingredients on hand. I used 1/2 cup flour, 1 and 1/4 cup cornmeal, 1 can of pumpkin, no oil, 3 tablespoons maple syrup and omitted the brown sugar. I made one batch without nuts and one with and both were delicious. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Weisiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States