Lawton, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chile Verde II

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I loved this.I like how easy it was even in a crockpot.next time I will do it with a homemade verde sauce verse jarred. I put mine on corn tortillas with fresh cilantro, queso fresco and lime juice. Was so so good! Using leftovers for chimichangas.Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shanna Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cheese Ball

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
It is fantastic. I had to make it a few times to get the consistency right. It is a hit with everyone that taste it! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by sdcurry1986

Easy Chocolate Crackled Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I made these for work, it was easy, quick and they loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by okiedoll

Easy Garlic Broiled Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
We ate this tonight. It was very easy and tasty! My 8 year old son loved it and so did I. It smells great while cooking and has wonderful flavor with a few simple ingredients. I used the amounts shown for seasoning, but I did not broil it I baked at 375F. I had free range chicken thighs and breasts so they were smaller than the monster sizes you see in the other commercial brands. But, they have more flavor and are worth it. I had 5 thighs, and 3 breast in a greased 9x13. I cooked it at 375F for 45 min. and it was perfect. The thighs juices keep the breast meat moist. It does not lack in flavor as the soy replaces the salt. (I did salt and pepper the meat a tiny bit before topping with the butter/soy mixture). It was tender, flavor and worth keeping on the regular menu rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okiedoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I've made something close to this before. It's a recipe and I always play with them to get the taste I want. I didn't put as much spicy into it, I left out the jalepeno and reduced the cayenne for kids. I put chili powder in and bell peppers and added mexicorn and Rotel. I put beans in, but what I had on hand, light kidneys, cannellini beans, and great northern beans. I add more to taste, like garlic powder, oregano and Knorr Tomate broth granules instead of salt. I used some chicken broth concentrate to make 2 cups broth also. I used cubed chicken. I also used cilantro and Monterrey Jack cheese. It was yummy. My kids liked it and my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by okiedoll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts with Balsamic Vinegar and Garlic

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I absolutely LOVE this recipe! My sister and I made this (a very large portion) for mothers day to feed my mother's family of 5, my sisters family of 3 and my family of 3. Everyone LOVED it! We did make two different sauces. My sister had forgotten to add chicken broth to hers and it actually turned out better than mine (I added everything the recipe called for) I no longer follow the directions when making it, I just guess and check (as I do with most things). I'd definitely suggest this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrygal9009

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I make this salad all the time and everyone just raves about it! I've made the following changes but it's still the same base recipe. I've omitted the olives(wife hates 'em), quarter the pepperoni slices, minced a small green pepper, also added a small minced red or yellow pepper. I've also substituted extra sharp cheddar cheese for provolone at times. Also, for dressing, I use Fat Free Kraft Italian and add 1/3 cup of a flavorful, extra virgin olive oil. This is my go-to pasta salad and I thank Irlandes for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wrhodesiii

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Buttermilk Pancakes

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
These are UNBELIEVABLE!!! I've made them 4 times, already and my hubby and kids LOVE them. I made the recipe as written (I thought) the first time, but it turns out I had too much flour. Even so, I added more and more buttermilk until they were JUST pourable. They turned out fabulous! The 2nd time I made them was weird. I'm not sure what happened-I made them exactly as written and though the flavor was good, the texture was not. It was bumpy and squishy in places. The pancakes themselves came out flat and flabby. I'm not sure exactly what went wrong, but I suspect the buttermilk I used wasn't good. I'm pretty sure it had nothing to do with the recipe, because the 3rd and 4th time I made these were a hit. They turned out PERFECTLY. The 4th time I made them, I added about 1/2 TBS of cinnamon and 3 capfuls of vanilla, by the way. STUPID DELICIOUS. :) The recipe does a great job of describing the way the batter (almost dough) should look, and that is REALLY helpful (especially for those of us used to making instant just-add-water pancakes). I will never, EVER make instant pancakes again!! Thank you SOOOOO much for freeing me and my family! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Custard Filling

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I used this Recipe for the middle of a vanilla cake It was cake mix . IT was good bu y. I wished it was thicker . Instead it was a little runny besides that delicous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAFNoahThomas97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I made this recipie for my family as part of a new low-calorie diet I'm forcing them to go on with me. THEY LOVED IT! My mother loved it so much, she wants me to prepare it for the pastor and wife at the church for their anniversary. I used lemon juice instead of lime, used white onion instead of red, used canola oil instead of olive and added about 1/2 cup of plain lowfat yogurt to make it a little more creamy. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I love this recipe just the way it is. If people want to add this and change that they should make their own recipe. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ka_la_lerz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Brown Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Made this last night anf it was good. I used the broth off of my pot roast and added green onions and cheese. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by sdcurry1986

Chex® Muddy Buddies®

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Delicious and my family loves it. Especially my 2 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by sdcurry1986

Mild Cheesy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was very easy to make. Next time I'll add more enchilada sauce and less sour cream. My two year told devoured it. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by sdcurry1986

Parmesan Chicken II

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This recipe was easy, but didn't pack the punch I was hoping. It was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by sdcurry1986

Bob's Awesome Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING. I made it Wednesday night before Thanksgiving and it was a hit! I made two huge pans and there were no leftovers. My sister's children said that it was even better than hers, which is a 10 in my book! I can't wait to try more recipes. I believe goulast will be next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdcurry1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Geronimo, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by countrygal9009

Banana Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This recipe is awesome!! I had added chocolate chips because chocolate makes everything better!! However, these cookies turned out more like mini banana breads rather than cookies, but they still taste awesome. My 2 year old LOVES them!! And they don't crumble like banana bread does, so I'll definately be making these more often! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrygal9009

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Sweet Potato Chips

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I was not afan of sweet potatoes untlil my sister-in-law tricked me into eating Sweet Patatoe Souffle'. I absolutely love french fried sweet ptatoes so I wanted to try these because they are baked. i used half of maple syrup the 2nd time I made these....perfect. Also I put my fries on a rack and the rack on my cookie sheet andthey were realy crisp. YUM, yum, yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicalu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

Ravishing Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I have never made a red velvet cake before, and I was really excited to make it for the first time.. However, this cake was very dry.. It tasted good, other than it being so dry. The icing was amazing! But it was too runny. I added more powdered sugar (about a cup or so) to it a little at a time until it was the right thickness, and it turned out perfect. I'll be using the recipe for the icing again, but not the cake. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by countrygal9009

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fairborn, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Four Egg Yellow Cake

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Cook time is too long. WAY too long. If I do this again, I'll cut at least 10 nminutes off the cook time, because 45 minutes gave me an overdone cake. And this isn't my first rodeo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bachelor Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States