Edmond, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I've been without an oven for 2 months while the repair guy keeps ordering and trying different parts. I cooked these on a grill which held at around 350 degrees - it worked Great!! My kids were pumped to have a baked good after so many weeks. Super with ice cream on top!! Thanks for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I recently received a box of peached from the fruit of the month club and didn't have clue what to do with them. Luckily, I found Chef John's Peach Cobbler recipe. I made it exactly as written (and shown on the video) and it was fantastic! I particularly appreciated using Chinese 5 Spice instead of Cinnamon, as it added a new twist to this classic. The recipe is very good just as it is, but if I were to make a suggestion, I'd add an additional cup of sliced peaches. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Being a fried okra lover, I was at first hesitant to "waste" good okra by roasting it this way. However, since this recipe is almost identical to a recipe I love using quartered brussel sprouts, I tried it. Now, it may be a offensive to my southern roots, but I think I it's much better than fried. My only suggestion is don't pay so much attention to the length of time they cook. Just keep roasting them until they are browned and turning crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shark

Grilled Tri-Tip

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Chiming in with the rest of the comments - too much salt....and the pepper was a bit overwhelming, too. I'd cut the pepper in half and substitute garlic powder for the garlic salt then rub with olive oil. Also, as stated by another commentor, grill on HIGH HEAT 3 MINUTES each side for a total of 10-12 minutes each side (flip 3-4 times per side). Wait 20 mintues before cutting. You won't be disappointed. AWESOME, JUICY, TENDER, and FLAVORFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was not the prettiest looking lasagna I've ever made, but it did taste good. I like this recipe because I can omit the step of cooking the noodles first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Roasted Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
All the rave reviews had me excited to try this recipe, but I was disappointed with the end result. Because of several reviews, I doubled the sauce, but the sauce was too sweet and greatly camouflaged the pork. It would have been better with just the pork drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Apples

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
We ate this as a side to pork roast and it was very nicely paired. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks, 356!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Slush Punch

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Oh my this is a great punch! It is easy to put together and then freeze. Then on party day you just put it together. Thanks for this easy and tasty punch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Fabulous! I used Madagascar Vanilla Bean Paste for the vanilla, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to give it a peach cobbler ice cream taste. It would have been great without the spices...just wanted a different taste today. This will be my new homemade peach ice cream go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Pickled Jalapeno Rings

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
This is an excellent recipe, as is. I have made it a couple of times now, adding bite size pieces of onion and bell peppers, to fit the chips (actually, reduced fat triscuits) I use for nachos. I won't be buying the ready made jars of slice jalapenos anymore. It's couldn't be much easier. Thnx Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
The balsamic vinegar overwhelmed the asparagus, and even with a "skinny" bunch of asparagus, 12 minutes was not enough cooking time. If I make it again, I'll halve the vinegar and keep closer tabs on cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Steak with Garlic

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
My daughter and I get together most every Sunday night for grilled steaks. We both loved the "garlic steaks". While it won't replace our go to basic salt-pepper-minced garlic recipe, it was a nice change. We'll do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Avocado Mayonnaise

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vietnamese Spring Rolls

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
EASY, EASY, EASY and oh so good! I'll be making a lot of these. Can't wait to try other combinations of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Amazing Pork Tenderloin in the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
This was a good recipe. I cooked it all day on low and I think that may have been too long. It was so fall apart tender I couldn't even slice it! It did taste good, but it wasn't a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Goat Cheese and Arugula over Penne

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
We LOVED this recipe! With good ingredients like arugula and goat cheese it is hard to go wrong. I didn't have any fresh tomatoes so I used a can of diced and it still turned out great. This is a really good vegetarian dinner to put in our rotation. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
This was my first attempt to make Chicken Cordon Bleu and it turned out well. Next time though, I'll be sure to use string instead of toothpicks, as a lot of the swiss cheese oozed out and left the chicken a little drier than need be. I also think I'll add some fresh chopped basil to the sauce at the end as suggested by one of the earlier reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Pulled Pork Roast

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I made this on Memorial Day (2012). It was very very good. I cooked a four pound roast, and it was ready in nine hours. The sauce was so good that I reserved and thickened all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Big Fat Greek Omelet

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
This was so delicious. I had fresh spinach and vine ripe tomatoes onhand so I just cooked the spinach a bit in the microwave and squeezed out the excess water. I cut the tomato into small pieces and seeded it. It was a totaly yummy recipe with just the right amount of seasonings. I will make this one again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDUNCAN1
Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

Grilled Asparagus

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
We loved this. The asparagus has a nice crunch to it. We added a little bit of fresh crused garlic for some added flavor and it was great. Awesome side/compliment to our steaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States