Edmond, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Salmon Chowder

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
With the exception of not using canned salmon, (I used frozen filets from Sam's, that I baked at 350 degrees from thawed for about 12 minutes), I made this recipe pretty much as written. I thought it was great! I think this might be equally good with shrimp. Update: It gets better after a day in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Bliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turtles

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I should have known when it said 15 - 20 minutes ... there is no way it could get to 250 degrees in that short of time. ANYWAY you need to adjust time or temperature .... Not sure which. Think I will continue looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Bliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent way to prepare fresh brussel sprouts. I've made them this way many times and always find it enjoyable. Try a variation by amply sprinkling thyme or rosemary on the sprouts before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brigadoon Mushrooms

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is pretty much a foolproof way to fix mushrooms to use as a steak topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broken Spaghetti Risotto

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I'm a big fan of Chef John's, but this fell short of his usually excellent recipes. It was bland, bland, bland. Instead of trying to figure out how to fix it, I'll just start by choosing a different recipe next time. Keep them coming anyway, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Instead of grilling the jalapenos, I baked them in a 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes (till the bacon started crisping). They were good. HINT: When buying the jalapeños, try to get the bigger ones. They are easier to clean and to stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Bean Ragout

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I love this recipe!! I've made it several times now and will be making it again, and again. The only change I've made is to use ground pork sausage (like Jimmie Dean's) instead of the cased, link sausage. It's a terrific recipe!! Just be sure to have lots of fresh crackers on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ranch Dressing II

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
To overcome the mayonnaise, I eventually doubled each of the spices. Than, after a few hours of refrigeration, it was terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is a good basic recipe. I was in a hurry and didn't have time to get to the store to get the exact ingredients, so made this recipe with I had. I used chopped shrimp instead of sausage, used a spinach and artichoke cream cheese and added an 8 oz tub of sour cream. If you like your bacon done, count on leaving it in the oven an extra 10+ minutes to brown up. After loading up all the jalapeños, I still had a bit of the mixture left, so I put it out as a chip dip. It was all pretty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Love the fact that it is so easy, uses ingredients I usually have on hand. I had a busy day out, so made this is the morning and put it in the refrigerator. When I came home, popped it into the oven and by the time I changed clothes, and made a salad my enchiladas were ready to serve. My husband even likes them as leftovers. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Bliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Brownies

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I've been without an oven for 2 months while the repair guy keeps ordering and trying different parts. I cooked these on a grill which held at around 350 degrees - it worked Great!! My kids were pumped to have a baked good after so many weeks. Super with ice cream on top!! Thanks for this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Peach Cobbler

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I recently received a box of peached from the fruit of the month club and didn't have clue what to do with them. Luckily, I found Chef John's Peach Cobbler recipe. I made it exactly as written (and shown on the video) and it was fantastic! I particularly appreciated using Chinese 5 Spice instead of Cinnamon, as it added a new twist to this classic. The recipe is very good just as it is, but if I were to make a suggestion, I'd add an additional cup of sliced peaches. Thanks, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Being a fried okra lover, I was at first hesitant to "waste" good okra by roasting it this way. However, since this recipe is almost identical to a recipe I love using quartered brussel sprouts, I tried it. Now, it may be a offensive to my southern roots, but I think I it's much better than fried. My only suggestion is don't pay so much attention to the length of time they cook. Just keep roasting them until they are browned and turning crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shark

Grilled Tri-Tip

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Chiming in with the rest of the comments - too much salt....and the pepper was a bit overwhelming, too. I'd cut the pepper in half and substitute garlic powder for the garlic salt then rub with olive oil. Also, as stated by another commentor, grill on HIGH HEAT 3 MINUTES each side for a total of 10-12 minutes each side (flip 3-4 times per side). Wait 20 mintues before cutting. You won't be disappointed. AWESOME, JUICY, TENDER, and FLAVORFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Lasagna

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
This was not the prettiest looking lasagna I've ever made, but it did taste good. I like this recipe because I can omit the step of cooking the noodles first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Roasted Pork

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
All the rave reviews had me excited to try this recipe, but I was disappointed with the end result. Because of several reviews, I doubled the sauce, but the sauce was too sweet and greatly camouflaged the pork. It would have been better with just the pork drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sauteed Apples

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
We ate this as a side to pork roast and it was very nicely paired. I wouldn't change a thing! Thanks, 356!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Luscious Slush Punch

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Oh my this is a great punch! It is easy to put together and then freeze. Then on party day you just put it together. Thanks for this easy and tasty punch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Ice Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Fabulous! I used Madagascar Vanilla Bean Paste for the vanilla, added 1/2 tsp cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp nutmeg to give it a peach cobbler ice cream taste. It would have been great without the spices...just wanted a different taste today. This will be my new homemade peach ice cream go-to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States