Edmond, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Italian Dressing Mix

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I'll never buy Italian Dressing Mix at the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bake Sale Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Make it for an actual bake sale. Everyone loved them. Made another batch and sent most of them into with husband to work. Got actual thank you emails from his co-workers! And, I made them EXACTLY as the recipe says. They stayed crisp and were excellent. I like how sweet they are because I don't want to eat a bunch of these at one time. Just a small square satisfies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I thought this would be a good make shift Monday night meal that would just get us by; but as it turns out my husband thinks it is one of the better recipes I have tried. An extra perk for adding this to our meal rotation is I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I rinsed the skillet I prepared the filling in and used it to to cook the quesadillas in same skillet .... so easy clean up in the kitchen. Nice to find a recipe that is this easy for me and also keeps "The Colonel" happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Bliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Honey Mustard Dressing II

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
So simple, but yet so perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tropiguac (Hawaiian-style Guacamole)

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I made this exactly as written and think it's very good, but suspect that it will be better as a relish than a dip. I'm going to try the leftovers on fish tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Pretty good start. However, to make it work for me, I added 2 cups of water with the chicken and noodles and a scant teaspoon of black pepper. Next time, (as some have suggested), I'll probably eliminate the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sassy Tailgate Sandwiches

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I made the sandwiches exactly as prescribed, except I substituted swiss cheese for the gruyere. The sandwiches were tasty, but far too sweet for my palate. If I ever make them again, I might experiment with adding mustard, or maybe pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Bomb Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
"The magic of brining" is the key. This small step of brining the chicken makes it unbelievably moist and flavorful. I ran out of gas for the grill with about 10 minutes left and had to finish it in the oven, but it was still great. I'll make it again! This is my new, no-fail, go-to grilled chicken recipe!! UPDATE: I've now made this recipe on the grill many times and wish I could give it more stars. Even my daughter (who doesn't care for chicken) raves about this. Mucho Thanks Chef John!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mom's Old-Fashioned Southern Potato Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
Best mayonnaise based potato ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fettuccine with Sweet Pepper-Cayenne Sauce

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
This was a very good basic recipe. To bump it up a bit, I substituted some of the broth with a 1/4 cup white wine. After simmering with the sour cream, I added about 3/4 cup chopped fresh basil and 1/2 pound of cooked shrimp and 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes. It turned out very well, but could be improved by perhaps adding a 1/2 cup of the pasta water to keep the pasta from sticking together. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Root Beer Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
As another said, I too wanted to like this recipe, but found it a lacking ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this using leftover Easter ham, and would warn folks to be careful not to use the parts heavily glazed. It's like adding a few tablespoons of sugar to the soup. This is a good recipe and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Sauce is excellent! I used Key Lime instead of lemon and it was wonderful. A good recipe is one that can be altered to accommodate what you have at home and still turns out yummy! I'm glad to have such a simple option for company! Served with roasted potatoes and Orange Glazed Carrots from this site. Also my grocery store will tenderize chicken breast for me and I had them do this when I purchased them, thus cutting out the time and mess of pounding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was one of the best crock pot recipes I've tried in awhile! It was great! Wonderful flavors and something different to try for those less adventurous cooks. I didn't use the sugar and used mild Pace salsa (would try medium next time) and used 2 tsp ground ginger because I didn't have fresh. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovetoBake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Grand Forks, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thai Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
It has good bones, but is way too salty, even with 1/2 the soy. I think I'll substitute broth for soy next time and just add soy to taste. I liked the crunchy peanut butter with all the garlic and ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Halibut with Cilantro Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly, I just substituted Sea Bass for Halibut because Halibut is outrageously expensive here. We all found this bland and uninteresting. Which was too bad, because I had high expectations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Andouille Gumbo

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
To make this work, I doubled the liquid, using more of the chicken broth and some red wine, and added a chopped onion, which completed the "holy trinity" of celery, onion and green pepper. Finally, instead of cooking the file the last 15 minutes, I sprinkled some on top of the gumbo when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These cookies were just OK. Not great. I followed the recipe exactly and was sorry I didn't use my stand by recipe. It was a nice experiment but I a going back to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenda Bliss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is good stuff! I don't understand what some of the reviews mean when they complain that it's not authentic. It's authentic in every way. Perhaps one could specify Camellia brand red beans, but other than that .... ?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very good. Very fast. Very easy. If you have any left over, try it in an omelette. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States