Edmond, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Root Beer Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
As another said, I too wanted to like this recipe, but found it a lacking ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I made this using leftover Easter ham, and would warn folks to be careful not to use the parts heavily glazed. It's like adding a few tablespoons of sugar to the soup. This is a good recipe and I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Asparagus Roll-Ups

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Sauce is excellent! I used Key Lime instead of lemon and it was wonderful. A good recipe is one that can be altered to accommodate what you have at home and still turns out yummy! I'm glad to have such a simple option for company! Served with roasted potatoes and Orange Glazed Carrots from this site. Also my grocery store will tenderize chicken breast for me and I had them do this when I purchased them, thus cutting out the time and mess of pounding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Frank's Favorite Slow-Cooker Thai Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This was one of the best crock pot recipes I've tried in awhile! It was great! Wonderful flavors and something different to try for those less adventurous cooks. I didn't use the sugar and used mild Pace salsa (would try medium next time) and used 2 tsp ground ginger because I didn't have fresh. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovetoBake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Grand Forks, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Andouille Gumbo

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
To make this work, I doubled the liquid, using more of the chicken broth and some red wine, and added a chopped onion, which completed the "holy trinity" of celery, onion and green pepper. Finally, instead of cooking the file the last 15 minutes, I sprinkled some on top of the gumbo when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
These cookies were just OK. Not great. I followed the recipe exactly and was sorry I didn't use my stand by recipe. It was a nice experiment but I a going back to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blissbaking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This is good stuff! I don't understand what some of the reviews mean when they complain that it's not authentic. It's authentic in every way. Perhaps one could specify Camellia brand red beans, but other than that .... ?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very good. Very fast. Very easy. If you have any left over, try it in an omelette. Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Chex® Party Mix

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I make this every year, but have strayed from the original by using goldfish, cheezits, and any other small crackers I can think of. It's always good. I still like to bake it in the oven though, instead of using the microwave. I bake it in a 200 degree oven for 45 minutes, turning the mixture over with a spatula every 15 minutes. I have also enjoyed adding 1/2 to 2/3 cup of raisins, or craisins for the final 15 minutes. It doesn't last long around my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I wasn't expecting this recipe to be so good. I chose to try it because it looked very quick and easy and I didn't have much time. Changes? I substituted Cream of Mushroom soup for the Cream of Chicken because one of our guests was vegetarian, and to add a little texture, I added crushed croutons to the top of the casserole before baking. All in all, it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fluffy Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is a very good pancake. I mix the batter for ten seconds then backed away. Very fluffy and tender. I'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Candied Bacon

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
The sweet and savory flavors make this one highly addictive recipe. I've made it a few times now, and have used it a lot on sandwiches, but sometimes it's just been really nice to get a strip out of the refrigerator as a snack. If I have any suggestion, I'd say start with thick-cut smoked bacon. Thin cut and maple flavored bacon weren't quite as balanced. I also like it with 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper mixed in with the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salmon Chowder

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
With the exception of not using canned salmon, (I used frozen filets from Sam's, that I baked at 350 degrees from thawed for about 12 minutes), I made this recipe pretty much as written. I thought it was great! I think this might be equally good with shrimp. Update: It gets better after a day in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blissbaking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turtles

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I should have known when it said 15 - 20 minutes ... there is no way it could get to 250 degrees in that short of time. ANYWAY you need to adjust time or temperature .... Not sure which. Think I will continue looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blissbaking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Excellent way to prepare fresh brussel sprouts. I've made them this way many times and always find it enjoyable. Try a variation by amply sprinkling thyme or rosemary on the sprouts before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brigadoon Mushrooms

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This is pretty much a foolproof way to fix mushrooms to use as a steak topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broken Spaghetti Risotto

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I'm a big fan of Chef John's, but this fell short of his usually excellent recipes. It was bland, bland, bland. Instead of trying to figure out how to fix it, I'll just start by choosing a different recipe next time. Keep them coming anyway, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Bacon Jalapeno Wraps

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Instead of grilling the jalapenos, I baked them in a 375 degree oven for about 20 minutes (till the bacon started crisping). They were good. HINT: When buying the jalapeños, try to get the bigger ones. They are easier to clean and to stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage and Bean Ragout

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I love this recipe!! I've made it several times now and will be making it again, and again. The only change I've made is to use ground pork sausage (like Jimmie Dean's) instead of the cased, link sausage. It's a terrific recipe!! Just be sure to have lots of fresh crackers on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States