Edmond, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Robo's Spicy Mexican Stew with Apple and Corn

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
It's my recipe, but everybody who's tried it offer rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond and Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe is AH-MAZING! My family loved it and I've served it up for friends too! My husband even liked it which is saying a lot. I usually serve it with garlic parmesan cous cous instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslorispencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I tried this dip precisely because it only had two ingredients, great reviews and I didn't have much time. It is a perfect compliment to cantaloupe, apples, pears, grapes and strawberries. The best suggestion I read was to be sure to use softened cream cheese. Thanks, Crystal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I'm relatively new to using quinoa, and was surprised this recipe was so good. I served it at a Christmas gathering, specifically trying to come up with a side dish for my vegetarian nephew to enjoy. He liked it, as did all the omnivores. The next day, the leftovers were just as good right out of the refrigerator. One of the other reviewers said that they thought it could be served as a main dish. I don't disagree. I'll be making this again. Thanks, 3LIONCUBS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love it when simple recipes come together, and this one does! Two suggestions, though. Use San Marzano tomatoes if you can find them, and do not use shrimp, or scallops that have already been cooked. It makes a difference. Thanks, MARBALET!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Scalloped Potatoes II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I layered in a sliced onion and pre-mixed the flour with the milk as suggested by some of the other reviews. It's a nice easily prepared recipe. I'll make it again. Thanks, BUCHKO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Portobello Mushrooms

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Good stuff! I love the way these big portabello caps mimic meat. I would agree with some of the other reviews that the recipe calls for a bit more balsamic vinegar than I think is needed, but then I was using a cheaper, more tart vinegar than is available. An aged, mellower version might be just right. Since, in addition to meat, mushroom caps mimic sponges, I wouldn't let them marinate much longer that an hour. Thanks, BFOLLICK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Caviar

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I recently made this salsa for a Super Bowl party that got cancelled because of ice and snow. With a whole batch to deal with, and cognizant of my recent resolution to not waste food, I've been thinking of ways to eat it all up. The usual way, with chips is/was great. However, serving it on top of baked chicken or fish has become my new favorite thing. It really brings out new flavors in everything it touches. Night before last, I grilled a large portabello cap, placed a juicy piece of baked chicken on top and added maybe a quarter cup of salsa on top of that. It was fantastic! Not only was it tasty, filling and beautiful, it was well under 400 calories. While I loved it as written, I can imagine that adding corn and black beans would also be very good and extend the number of servings. Thanks, DEBOKC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
This is a great recipe! It was so dense I might even call it a pudding of sorts. For a lighter texture I might use less vegetable oil next time. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Portobello Mushroom Stroganoff

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I read a lot of the reviews and finally decided to make the dish as written. I'm glad I did. It was excellent. I love stroganoff with meat, but I didn't even miss it this time. I'll be making this again. Thanks CHORDATA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The Best Meatloaf

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I didn't use the Pepper. Used 4 slices of shredded white bread instead of bread crumbs, and used Stubb's BBQ sauce, instead of A-1. I also peeled and sliced up a Russet potato in 1/4" cubes, and cooked them in butter until cook thru, with the onion, before mixing all ingredients. Wow. Delicious. Topped with shredded Mozzarella while it cooled. Kids loved it. I know we need to rate the recipe, but I would never have found this without what was posted. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vietnamese Sandwich

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Real Hummus

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Very bland as first written. I ended up tripling everything but the garbanzo beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Love2Cook

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
ThisI is my new "go-to" ham and potato soup recipe. You can't mess it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Gnocchi Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Excellent soup! To make the recipe, I used equal amounts of the onions, celery and carrots (1 cup), but followed the rest as written. It was very thick, reminding me of chicken pot pie, without the crust. I may add frozen peas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Braised Balsamic Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written. I was certainly edible, but the flavors weren't very well balanced. While I am a big fan of Balsamic Vinegar, and used a very good, aged vinegar, it overpowered the chicken and was the dominant taste. Next time, I think I'll try halving the amount of vinegar, supplementing with chicken stock, or water. Also, the Balsamic Vinegar significantly darkened the dish, making it much less visually appealing than the picture indicates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rusty Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I'm a big fan of Chef John, so I try a lot of his recipes. This one does not disappoint. I made it exactly as he suggested, except, (since I don't like dirty dishes), I used a gallon size zip lock bag to marinate the chicken in, instead of a flat baking dish. The chicken was moist and had a balanced flavor ... not overpowered by any of the contrasting ingredients. I'll definitely make it again. Thanks, Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Dressing Mix

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
I'll never buy Italian Dressing Mix at the store again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bake Sale Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Make it for an actual bake sale. Everyone loved them. Made another batch and sent most of them into with husband to work. Got actual thank you emails from his co-workers! And, I made them EXACTLY as the recipe says. They stayed crisp and were excellent. I like how sweet they are because I don't want to eat a bunch of these at one time. Just a small square satisfies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Medfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I thought this would be a good make shift Monday night meal that would just get us by; but as it turns out my husband thinks it is one of the better recipes I have tried. An extra perk for adding this to our meal rotation is I usually have all the ingredients on hand. I rinsed the skillet I prepared the filling in and used it to to cook the quesadillas in same skillet .... so easy clean up in the kitchen. Nice to find a recipe that is this easy for me and also keeps "The Colonel" happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blissbaking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States