Edmond, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I bought a little kitchen gadget called a spiralizer. By pushing/twisting zucchini (or, yellow squash, cucumbers, etc), through the gadget, it creates perfect spaghetti like strands. The prep of this recipe is made very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Corn and Avocado Salsa (Pioneer Woman)

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Pick the most plump ears of corn you can find and go easy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I was very pleased with the outcome. I sliced, julienned and actually used an apple peeler on the cucumbers to vary their shapes. It all worked. Flavor was wonderful, even if it was a tad sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
As written, I gave this recipe a 3 out of 5. The sesame is just way too much! As others suggest, the sesame needs to be at least halved. A little goes a long way! That having been said, the recipe has the potential to be very good. I'll try again with a few adjustments. By the way, it's much better cold, after sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa II

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now. It has a really nice flavor, but is a bit mushy. Next time, I'll boil the mixture short of being soft and let it rest off the heat. Like so many salsas, it's better after a day or two in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made this pretty much according to the recipe, but admit to adding a 2nd can of tomatoes and 4-5 cloves of minced garlic. I then served it on a bed of white rice. It was excellent, or I think maybe "satisfying" is a better word to use. This is comfort food. It's not what I would call restaurant quality and it's not going to win any cook-off contests, but it's damned good! When I make it again, I'll add some red pepper flakes, a bit of cayenne or some Louisiana Hot Sauce for a little extra heat. Thanks Graham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Eggplant Parmesan Stacks

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Sorry, I can't judge the original recipe because I changed it. I don't use cooking spray. I use a basting brush and regular oil to coat the eggplants with. And I completely ignore the direction to salt the eggplants before hand. They haven't killed me yet, and they're not bitter to my taste. Other than that, it's a great recipe and you don't have to use prepared tomato sauce. Just some diced tomatoes will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsIrisCooks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oregon Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
These were pretty good I guess, but none of my family went nuts over it. I probably won't make it again unless I can use fresh salmon, which is tough to do since I'm from Oklahoma. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Fried Chicken III

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
The flavor was good, but it never really got crispy. In retrospect, I think I used a "too small" baking dish. It probably would have been helpful to use a baking dish where the chicken wasn't crowded. I might also try halving the butter, as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pot Roast in Foil

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is very good as written. It made an abundance of gravy and I was actually very surprised at how tender the beef was. I can only guess that some of you, complaining that the meat was dry, used cuts with little, or no fat. Next time, I'll add some sliced onions on top of the gravy mixture. Thanks, LBEECH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies III

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Exactly what I was looking for! I boiled for 2 minutes and also used crunchy peanut butter at my husband's request. These turned out great :) :) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Thiessen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by the_cruse

Lemony Chicken

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
So very very good! I did change some things....I didn't have white wine or capers. As I was too lazy to go shopping, I added onions, a little jalapeño, and a dab of honey to the butter lemon sauce and puréed it a bit. I also used some of the lemon zest. Served it over rice with some steamed broccoli. Absolutely delicious! Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the_cruse
Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamed Spinach with Onions and Bacon

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Great recipe! I used coconut oil instead of butter, and fresh garlic, also added about 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar and it was rich and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CriticalMass

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caldo de Res (Mexican Beef Soup)

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this soup as written, except I substituted beef short ribs (couldn't find beef shank with much of any meat on the bone). Although it calls for a lot of ingredients, I thought the end result was well worth the effort. It's is a terrific soup! I reminds me a lot of Vietnamese Pho. In fact, I'd bet adding basil leaves, mung beans and sriracha sauce would be great. Kind of a Mexican Pho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This is one fantastic soup! I just had my second bowl. I wouldn't change a thing with regard to the ingredients used. However, the recipe was vague about the size of the potatoes, whether they should be peeled or not and how big of a bunch of spinach to use. I used about 5 ounces of spinach, and 9 smallish Idaho red potatoes. Next time, I'll peel the potatoes to avoid having strips of peel and will trim away all of the spinach stems. I'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef Kurt's Beef Tenderloin Stroganoff

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Robo's Spicy Mexican Stew with Apple and Corn

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2014
It's my recipe, but everybody who's tried it offer rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Almond and Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe is AH-MAZING! My family loved it and I've served it up for friends too! My husband even liked it which is saying a lot. I usually serve it with garlic parmesan cous cous instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrslorispencer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fruit Dip II

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I tried this dip precisely because it only had two ingredients, great reviews and I didn't have much time. It is a perfect compliment to cantaloupe, apples, pears, grapes and strawberries. The best suggestion I read was to be sure to use softened cream cheese. Thanks, Crystal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quinoa and Black Beans

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I'm relatively new to using quinoa, and was surprised this recipe was so good. I served it at a Christmas gathering, specifically trying to come up with a side dish for my vegetarian nephew to enjoy. He liked it, as did all the omnivores. The next day, the leftovers were just as good right out of the refrigerator. One of the other reviewers said that they thought it could be served as a main dish. I don't disagree. I'll be making this again. Thanks, 3LIONCUBS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States