Edmond, Oklahoma - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Made this today. No changes, adjustments, or extras were added to the recipe. The gravy was fantastic. I wish I had also made mashed potatoes, just to enjoy more gravy. For the stew meat, just for preference, I cut up a 2lb Chuck Roast, into 1 inch cubes. Just makes for better stew meat. Thanks for the recipe. This one made the book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Chickpeas

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I made the recipe using garlic salt, cumin, cayenne and black pepper and found that another 10 minutes in the oven was needed to make them crunchy. Even with the liberal use of spices, I found it difficult to get much flavor on the peas. They reminded me of half popped popcorn, but had less flavor. If I make these again, I might try bacon drippings a pinch of sugar and dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I made the recipe, as written, leaving it to slow-cook for for nearly 8 hours. It was OK, but seemed a bit sweet than I like. Reading through the ingredients again, the only thing I can figure is that my corn must have been the culprit, or maybe the enchilada sauce. If I were to make this again, I'd reduce the amount of corn by a third, and use taco seasoning rather than enchilada sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Scampi II

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
This was fantastic. I changed nothing. I could have added a little more salt, but even my kids, who would rather just eat chicken nuggets, loved it. Served it with buttered, toasted, Italian bread. Thanks for the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bubba's Hot Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
If you like hot tamales, you'll like this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I am a huge Chef John fan, but this fell a little short for me. The chicken ended up being a bit tough and somewhat bland. Maybe I picked a bad chicken, or did something wrong, but it failed to impress. Nevertheless, GO CHEF JOHN!!! KEEP THEM COMING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe, although I confess, I altered it slightly. When shopping, I misread the amount of broccoli called for and bought less than needed. To compensate for the lack of filling, I added cooked rice to the mix. Also, I liked the idea of a crunchy top, so I sprinkled crushed canned onion rings and croutons on the top before baking. It turned out great. One of my daughters thought it was the best broccoli casserole she had ever had. Thanks, Stacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mar's "Brine Your Turkey Like You Mean It"!

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Brining is the "secret" to a moist turkey, and this brine adds some wonderfully subtle flavors. I'll be using this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dad's Leftover Turkey Pot Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
A nearly perfect comfort food. I made this using leftover Thanksgiving turkey, deviating from the original recipe, only by adding a cup of diced potatoes to the mix. It worked out very well and was enjoyed by all. It's a basic, no fail recipe that can be tailored to any taste. I'm sure I'll be making some version of this for years to come. Thanks for sharing Rob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
First pot pie I've ever had and loved it. Easy enough but it does take some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jlgchck

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I made this recipe as written, except my thighs were not skinless. I liked the idea of using the various ingredients, instead of buying bottled teriyaki sauce, but found the end result less than hoped for. While a lot of folks use a timer to tell them when something is done, it's much better to use a thermometer. I found the chicken got to an internal temp of 165 (perfect), long before it had been in the oven for 60 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I made this using rotisserie chicken and homemade noodles. It couldn't have been much easier, and I doubt there is much of anything one could do to mess this recipe up. The only other thing I changed was to add a splash of cream towards the end of simmering. I felt this added just a bit of richness to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Green Peppers I

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as written. I thought they were OK, but, all in all, just average. It's a good start, but way too bland. If I use this recipe again, I'll add lots of garlic, basil, jalapeño, or something, to kick it up a notch. I liked the suggestion about using spaghetti sauce. It might be fun to use pasta instead of rice, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Pretzels

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I used regulate pretzel shaped pretzels and because my family are all peanut butter junkies I used the peanut butter M&M's. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Nicole Powell
Home Town: Vian, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini 'Noodles'

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I bought a little kitchen gadget called a spiralizer. By pushing/twisting zucchini (or, yellow squash, cucumbers, etc), through the gadget, it creates perfect spaghetti like strands. The prep of this recipe is made very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Corn and Avocado Salsa (Pioneer Woman)

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Pick the most plump ears of corn you can find and go easy on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Homemade Refrigerator Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I was very pleased with the outcome. I sliced, julienned and actually used an apple peeler on the cucumbers to vary their shapes. It all worked. Flavor was wonderful, even if it was a tad sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Noodle Salad

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
As written, I gave this recipe a 3 out of 5. The sesame is just way too much! As others suggest, the sesame needs to be at least halved. A little goes a long way! That having been said, the recipe has the potential to be very good. I'll try again with a few adjustments. By the way, it's much better cold, after sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa II

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I've made this recipe twice now. It has a really nice flavor, but is a bit mushy. Next time, I'll boil the mixture short of being soft and let it rest off the heat. Like so many salsas, it's better after a day or two in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef and Cabbage

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I made this pretty much according to the recipe, but admit to adding a 2nd can of tomatoes and 4-5 cloves of minced garlic. I then served it on a bed of white rice. It was excellent, or I think maybe "satisfying" is a better word to use. This is comfort food. It's not what I would call restaurant quality and it's not going to win any cook-off contests, but it's damned good! When I make it again, I'll add some red pepper flakes, a bit of cayenne or some Louisiana Hot Sauce for a little extra heat. Thanks Graham!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianola, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States