Broken Arrow - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Jamie

Chocolate Ganache

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
There's not much to say about this. It's a perfectly delicious and super easy ganache recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jamie

Brownie Chocolate Chip Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
I feel like the texture of this cheesecake was strange. I am attributing it to the condensed milk. I usually love cheesecake, but ended up throwing half of this away because it wasn't worth the calories to eat something so mediocre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Excellent cookie. Nice texture and soft if stored properly. I made the cookies a bit larger than directed and cooked 2-4 minutes longer. They turned out perfect and are a big hit at home and work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOERSEMA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Molasses Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Excellent cookie. Nice texture and soft if stored properly. I made the cookies a bit larger than directed and cooked 2-4 minutes longer. They turned out perfect and are a big hit at home and work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOERSEMA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Just okay. Would not make again. Not as moist or flavorful as some of the other pumpkin recipes I've made. Downeast Maine Pumpkin bread comes to mind. Next time I want pumpkin chocolate chip muffins, I think I'll use one of those recipes and add chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Just okay. Didn't blow me away. Made exactly as stated. Definitely need all the stuff on top to make this good. Sour cream, cheese, chips, avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Blueberry Scones

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The first time I made these I added the blueberries to the flour mixture as the recipe states. Then when I kneaded, of course, all the blueberries burst and I had blue scones. Still good, but not very attractive. This time I added after I had added milk / eggs and kneaded VERY gently a couple of times then I added fresh blueberries and VERY gently incorporated them into the dough. They turned out so pretty and not blue! The whole family loved these. So easy and fast. I will make again. I also made a thin glaze with powdered sugar, a little milk and melted butter. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

The Best Lemon Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
i thought it was delicious and soft, sweet, and great thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kokobug Keel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Red Velvet Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I think I might have messed up with this cake. It was dry. I followed all of the directions and some of the reviewers suggestions trying to do everything correctly, but failed to check my cake for doneness before the 30 minutes. I took the cake out at exactly 30 minutes (was so scared that if I checked and it wasn't done - my checking would result in a fallen cake as I read about somewhere else)! Anyway, my cake was dry. :-( The flavor was good and the icing was great (had to mix 15 minutes as others stated). I think I might try again, only next time I will 1) spoon my flour into measuring cup rather than scooping as not to get too much 2) will bake 20 - 25 minutes as I think 30 was too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Baked Chicken Wings

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
First time making chicken wings and these were really good! I did cut off the little wing from my chicken wings. Anyway, made exactly as stated. Will make again now that I know how easy these are to make. I marinated in a big Ziploc bag for about 4 - 5 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Fish Tacos

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
The sauce makes this recipe. The fried fish is great, but I prefer to toss the fish in a flour/taco seasoning mixture and pan fry it in a little oil. Not only does it taste better, but it's quicker and easier to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Copan, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foil Wrapped Veggies

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Followed recipe, but cut the vegetables into larger slices and left green beans longer, 1 inch seemed a bit small. Cooked in the barbecue on the rack at the top of the oven to get more heat and keep the veggies from burning. Everything turned put perfectly, not bland at all and the fresh herbs flavor infused into all items nicely. Used spray olive oil as necessary reducing the amount needed. Will definitely make again, everyone loved this recipe and commented positively on it. Thank you Marni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOERSEMA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Run For The Roses Pie III

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Liked this, didn't LOVE it. Super easy though! Wish I had had this warm from the oven, might have loved it more, but made ahead of time due to needing the oven for other things. Anyway, put homemade vanilla ice cream on this. Of course, it was yummy, just didn't blow me away enough to want to make again. :-( Made exactly as stated, by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Mine were definitely cake like in texture. I wish that I had spooned the flour into my measuring cups as I read in a review (after making of course), maybe this would have helped?! I see from the photos that some people's cookies turned out more cake like and some more chewy, crispy. It's so weird to me how the same recipe produces different results for everyone. Oh well. Of course, these got eaten. I mean, you can't really mess up a chocolate chip cookie THAT bad, but they aren't my Holy Grail chocolate chip cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Marcia's Famous Sticky Buns

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was a little confused on the amount of rolls to use. My package was much bigger than 12 ounces (used Rhodes), so I weighed 12 ounces on my kitchen scale, but that turned out to be about 8 rolls (if I remember correctly). Hardly filling the bottom of my Bundt pan. Off to the reviews I went, because it didn't seem nearly enough. Ultimately, I used 14 rolls, and followed the rest of the directions. This didn't turn out well for me. It was dry in places, which leads me to believe that using fewer rolls would have been best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Cherry Cobbler I

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I was worried after reading all the mixed reviews. To alter the recipe or not? I decided not to, except maybe filling my measuring cups a tiny bit less with sugar. Yes, this was very sweet. Almost too sweet, but not sickeningly so. I served with homemade vanilla ice cream, and it was perfect. We did use fresh cherries. I recruited my 12 year old to pit the cherries and we found a great way..... with a drinking straw, only it was too flimsy, so I took apart a pen and used the barrel. It worked like a charm. I won't try to explain the procedure here. Google cherry pitting with straw. I didn't have a problem with my cobbler being runny after it cooled a bit. I would make this again and maybe if using sweet cherries, would cut back overall sugar by 1/4 - 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

Reviewed: May 16, 2014
Oh gosh! This is so good. I really wish I had used the butter flavoring, so I could rate this with no changes, but I didn't find it at my normal store, and didn't want to make another trip. SOOOOO, I left that out. But it was wonderful without it!! So moist and I LOVED the glaze. I turned the loaves of bread out of the pans and let cool on a rack and placed over waxed paper to catch the run off glaze so that I could scoop it back up and pour it over the warm loaves so that none got wasted. I also poked a couple of holes in the bread with a knife so that the glaze soaked in a little. Great recipe and I will definitely make again with the butter flavoring to see if it's even better! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Mexican Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
SOOOO happy I finally found and made this recipe. It's no wonder it got all the rave reviews - it's delicious! And this is before I've even had time to let it sit and let the flavors meld in the fridge! I can't stop eating it already. Didn't change one thing - and wouldn't. It's perfect as is. Will be making again and again I'm sure! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Karen's Slow Cooker Chicken Fajitas

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Good! Served at a party where I had a taco bar. Only changes I made was made the fajita seasoning myself from recipe on this site and I sautéed the onion and peppers in some olive oil and put them in with the chicken about halfway through. Very good and well received. Would make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Mexicali Beer Margaritas

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Perfect, easy and delicious! Used Jose Cuervo Gold and Corona Light. Followed recipe exactly. Will be making again! Served this at Mexican themed party along with Sangria Sangria (the bomb) also from this site - my guest were VERY happy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States