Sulphur, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The Perfect Cinnamon Roll Icing

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I thought this was a really good recipe, with exception of too much butter. It may have been because I use high grade Irish butter and not a grocery store brand. I made it twice, and the second time I put 1/2 the butter, and 3 ounces of cream cheese. It was still plenty sweet enough. For 1/2 of the recipe, I added orange extract instead of vanilla, and that was also exceptionally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Made it for valentine's day and got compliments from everyone including my cooking guru mawmaw :) great recipe and it definitely went down in my handwritten recipe book So i can use it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by remard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Wine Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
Good basic white wine sauce recipe, added a lot of black pepper salt and a little cayenne pepper and lemon. On the bland side without the additions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Robin Darby
Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crawfish Fettuccine I

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Not enough crawfish so i used shrimp. Husband loved it.Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did make a couple of changes per other reviews. I tripled the garlic and garlic powder, used only 1/2 the black pepper, and doubled the cheese. It was SO good. My house smelled amazing too. Perfectly paired with spagetti and meatballs. My daughter even ate it for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did make a couple of changes per other reviews. I tripled the garlic and garlic powder, used only 1/2 the black pepper, and doubled the cheese. It was SO good. My house smelled amazing too. Perfectly paired with spagetti and meatballs. My daughter even ate it for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Laughlin Sumner

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campfire S'mores in a Cone

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Tested out before Girlscouts camping trip.they tasted great, i used the toaster oven, for some reason it made my microwave Spark. And make noises. I used semiswet chips and they tasted wonderfully rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Robin Darby
Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Roast With The World's Best Pork Loin Rub

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This had a great flavor. When i make again i will use less red pepper because the children found it too spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Robin Darby
Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brie's Banana and Honey Dog Treats

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Fast and easy. My dog loved them. I also mixed in her joint medicine to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pili

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My family loved this. You could add things to this if you wanted, but it's good as written. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hatty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant with Garlic Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
good base recipe, made a few changes. like another reviewer i had no oyster sauce, but i did have some fish sauce, so i used 1T of that and added an extra 1T of soy sauce. diced the eggplant and soaked it in salt water for 30 minutes then drained, rinsed and dried before cooking. thin sliced 3 cloves garlic and used only 1t of garlic powder. had a jalapeno so i diced half of it and added with the garlic, cut down on the crushed red pepper by half. used no sugar and cut the water in half. added some cut green beans because i had some that needed to be used served over quinoa. it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushbuttonkitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Creede, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Elegant Oyster Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Followed recipe as far as ingredients, however did add oysters. Husband was disappointed I wasn't frying oysters tonight, but once he tasted this soup. He said 'don't lose that recipe'. I did use some of the liquid from the oysters, but recipe doesn't really say. Thanks for a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie

Classic Bran Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
The only change I made was using brown sugar Splenda, because my Mom is diabetic and wanted to reduce the sugar. These are delicious!! Can't wait for my husband to try them. Thank you for the recipe! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daschie

King Cake in a Bread Machine

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
I have made this cake twice so far. Everyone I have shared it with, absolutely loved it. Some even thought it was better than a bakery King Cake. Making another one tonight, can't wait! Thank you for such an easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jim's Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
We loved this recipe! I used 3 small cans of Salmon. Made a Ketchup/hot sauce to dip. I did add a bit of finely diced onion & celery because I read it on another recipe, and got confused,lol. I sauteed the veggies before adding to the mixture. I think the spice listed was right on for us. Will make this again! Family loved it, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Superfast Asparagus

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Have fixed this before, and my husband loves it. I use Zatarain's Creole Seasoning & Olive oil spray(just sprinkle over the top of the Asparagus)then toss to coat. It always turns out perfect! Thanks for such an easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curried Butternut Squash and Pear Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Loved this soup! So easy to prepare, and delicious! I used canned pears, because that was all I had on hand, and they worked fine. Will be making this one over and over!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

King Ranch Chicken Casserole III

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
My family loved this! I followed pretty much, only change I used Nacho Cheese Doritos and mixed the soups/shredded chicken/cheese/spices and layered between chips. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Acorn Squash II

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I found the basic recipe on the bland side. I might have used the rong sausage. The there are several seasoning posibilityto try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Indiana, USA
Living In: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Mexican Peppers

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I've made this several times, and the only thing different I do is add finely chopped fresh mushrooms, to reduce the calories, but not the volume. My husband loves this and I have to keep him out of the pot to make sure the peppers get stuffed! We love it, thanks! Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daschie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brusly, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States