Slidell, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Colleen's Slow Cooker Jambalaya

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Ingredients look ok but I am from New Orleans, my parents are from NO, my parents parents are from NO. This is more like Gumbo than jumbalaya. Jumbalaya is not liquidy, or soupy. You should think of jumbalaya as more of a cajun rice pilaf made with veggies and meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
excellent cookie. no need to change the recipe. try the recipe as is before making alterations. It is really good. My kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I made this last night, following the recipe as best I could because I used fresh catfish, as my husband does not like tilapia, and I could not find miami sazon, so I used Tony Chachere's instead. This was great, I doubled the recipe using 10 pieces of fish for three of us and there was not a piece left. I had one piece, and my son and husband devoured the rest. I made salad, a side and a vegetable, and the fish still dissapeared. Will definitely make the a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherry Cheesecake Frozen Yogurt

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Use non-fat Greek yogurt and non-fat cream cheese to lower the calories/serving to 130! Still tastes delicious and freezes well. The Greek Yogurt overpowers the cream cheese so it doesn't taste very much like cheesecake but ease of prep and taste make it a recipe worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Cajun Shrimp Pasta

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I am a cajun man from New Orleans and i chose your recipe cause it was just what i was looking for to cook for my wife and i. It came out perfect with a nice tossed salad and homemade garlic bread, and a glass of white wine to compliment the dish. I also added as a garnishment some fresh chopped parsley and freshly grated parmasean cheese. Ce' Si Bon'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingweezle61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
The trick is finding the right recipe for the crust. I have to work on my crust but my neighbors loved this pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jim Kaczmarek's Chili

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I really wished I had read the reviews before making this. It had way too much salt; even the salt loving husband said so. I used no salt added tomato sauce and that didn't help cut the salt factor at all. I think this would definitely be an amazing recipe if the TBSP of salt was omitted. I will make it again and maybe add a can of Rotel to kick it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slammin' Salmon

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Eh. Ok, but not super special. grill fish next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBailey89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Bread Pudding

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was so easy to make and really really good. I used the recipe for rum sause instead of the praline sause.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Spiced Pork Chops

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I love the spice combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thetravelingcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shredded Chicken Tacos

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made these tonight for dinner and my husband and I loved them! I didn't care for the sweetness of the sauce so next time I am going to omit the sugar but other than that this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thetravelingcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Winter Blossom's Often Requested Ham Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Made it almost exactly as written. I'm not a huge fan of raw onion taste & have never used dried onion so I cut back on the amount used. Made it around noon for dinner that night. I found it to be a bit salty but served it on Hawaiian bread and it helped to balance it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Parmesan Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Need more flavor! pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBailey89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Style Meatloaf

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Tad bit spicy, but AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBailey89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Suisun City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cajun Crawfish and Shrimp Etouffe

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
not bad, my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
mine didn't come out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Salad

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
What a fresh tasting salad/dip that is both attractive and healthy. I used three small roma tomatoes, a big bunch of cilantro, less oil and more lime and honey. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edodson630

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hudson's Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My husband and daughter loved the fish and the dill sauce. If you need something simple to spice up your fish this is the way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamamia84la

Special Buttercream Frosting

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I have used this recipe multiple times. Everyone in the family always asks for a piece to take home. Do as users say 1/2 butter 1/2 shortening. And there is a flavoring called WEDDING BOUQUET. They call it the baker's secret. And it is!!! It makes cakes and frosting taste amazing! ENJOY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Instant Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
You know what, I was surprised to taste the mayo. It may be because I knew it was in it but I didn't really care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States