Slidell, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
Even better if you use lemon pepper instead of salt and pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billyboy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabeth, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Cream Pie I

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Just like Grandmas. I made two...One in a graham cracker shell with bananas and vanilla wafers. That was REALLY good :)))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

My Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
I submitted this recipe and would like to mention....The creole seasoning blend I use is home made. If you use Tony's or such, it will be salty.Would also like to say when I say simmer, I mean so slow the bubbles don't actually pop the top. A nice long slow simmer will make the beans creamy. If you use pickled pork in your beans, do not use the vinegar. And yes!!!! Tomato sauce!!! My Father-in-law, who is (very) Cajun, said "Girl, these beans are good, don't change a thing. They taste like they do down in New Orleans....them some good beans."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Pecan Pie II

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My family and friends love it! It's easy to make. I like that it makes two pies at a time, especially around the holidays! I don't mix the chocolate chips in the filling, I poor them into the crust and make a even layer, then add the filling. Also you have to cover them at some point or the crust will burn. Thanks for a great recipe Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tickfaw, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Hughes

Wasabi Yellowfin Tuna

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Made to directions. Didn't achieve the "crust" I was hoping for however still tasty enough I would serve at a dinner party. Second time I made it I finished it off with a tiny drizzle of suracha cream sauce and was very pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tex-Mex Beef and Cheese Enchiladas

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
I am giving this 5 stars because I made it exactly as written and it was PERFECT! I lived in George West Tx for years and my favorite enchiladas was from the El Comadore Café and this sauce taste just like theirs. I made this in the morning and let it set so the seasons could merry together. The first hour it set, it tasted like chili powder, the second all I could taste was the camino. by dinner, the seasons had blended together and tasted perfect. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My husband loves this sauce. I did not use honey because I am not a fan of sweet sauces. I did not use cayenne powder but I did use the pepper flakes, I did not want to make it too spicy for the kids. And I did not use anchovies. I only took out those three things and left the rest of it the same and it was great. Extremely easy to whip together and could definitely make ahead of time and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I love pecan pie. This goes together in a snap and is the best I've had. No more half empty bottles of corn syrup! I use 2 cups of pecan halves instead of chopped pecans and I always overdo it on the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Sugar cookies are my FAV... and this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellanola1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Baked Catfish

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a great recipe and extremely easy. I made it exactly per the recipe, other than using Tilapia filets, as that's what I had on hand. But that was the only change I made. I only gave this four stars because it was a little too much parsley for me, and it seemed the other herbs didn't quite mix with the parsley. I put the herbs in a covered container and shook it to get everything to mix, but the herbs stayed in the bottom of the container, and the parsley stayed on top. But the fish still had a great taste and was verty moist, and I would definitely make again, but try to figure out how to get the herbs blended better before putting on the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Family approved! Added the corn as others suggested! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaeldesselle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe! I made it during Thanksgiving last year and two more times since! They never leave leftovers! I didn't make any changes, just followed recipe. Quick,easy and taste is great! Its a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaeldesselle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oyster and Cornbread Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is by far the best Oyster and Cornbread dressing! I made this twice for both Thanksgiving and Christmas. It was a big hit. The only thing that I suggest is that you go easy on the poultry and sage seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This gravy is good, but not good enough. I made it for Thanksgiving using turkey wings and it came out good. The second time I made it, I used turkey drums, which came out OK. The two times I made it, it had different taste. I also didn't find that it had a lot of flavor. I give it two stars because It was still good to eat, but there was no consistency. I don't think I'll make this again because it might turn out different again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is the best apple pie I've ever had and I don't eat pies. It was fresh and delicious. It's also very easy. My husband begs me every time to make it for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
The cheesecake it self was very delicious and easy to make. My problem was the amount of cream cheese I had to use. The recipe said it's for 1-9 inch pan, which is not true. I had to use 3-9 inch pans. I made it for Christmas and it was a hit, but I was left with three cheesecake. Therefore I gave my neighbor some. I also did not leave it in the oven for 5-6 hours. I took it out immediately and let it cool, then refrigerate. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I thought this was going to be hard, but it was really easy. I didn't have ham so instead I used maple bacon. It was so good. My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Broccoli Soup V

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I thought this soup was real easy and good. It took no time to make and the whole family loved it. The only issue I had was mixing the milk into the butter and flour mixture. It got clumpy but I was able to smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Oh, this is sooooo good! Cooked according to directions other than the topping. I didn't bother crumbling and measuring the Ritz. I just crushed an entire sleeve, which probably was the measure in the recipe lol. Plus I also cooked the onion down first. My husband doesn't like ANYTHING with sour cream. But he loved this. We cook this twice monthly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Hughes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have never had fish tacos before, but my husband and I love mexican so we couldn't wait to taste it. PHENOMENAL! It is very spicy, so if you have children BEWARE! I recommend having CHOLULA mexican hot sauce with it. It really accentuates the flavor. And, if you've never tried Jicama (this was my first time) it's a good healthy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States