Slidell, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Pecan Pie II

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
My family and friends love it! It's easy to make. I like that it makes two pies at a time, especially around the holidays! I don't mix the chocolate chips in the filling, I poor them into the crust and make a even layer, then add the filling. Also you have to cover them at some point or the crust will burn. Thanks for a great recipe Carolyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tickfaw, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
My husband loves this sauce. I did not use honey because I am not a fan of sweet sauces. I did not use cayenne powder but I did use the pepper flakes, I did not want to make it too spicy for the kids. And I did not use anchovies. I only took out those three things and left the rest of it the same and it was great. Extremely easy to whip together and could definitely make ahead of time and refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie V

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I love pecan pie. This goes together in a snap and is the best I've had. No more half empty bottles of corn syrup! I use 2 cups of pecan halves instead of chopped pecans and I always overdo it on the vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Porter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Sugar Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Sugar cookies are my FAV... and this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellanola1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Herb Baked Catfish

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a great recipe and extremely easy. I made it exactly per the recipe, other than using Tilapia filets, as that's what I had on hand. But that was the only change I made. I only gave this four stars because it was a little too much parsley for me, and it seemed the other herbs didn't quite mix with the parsley. I put the herbs in a covered container and shook it to get everything to mix, but the herbs stayed in the bottom of the container, and the parsley stayed on top. But the fish still had a great taste and was verty moist, and I would definitely make again, but try to figure out how to get the herbs blended better before putting on the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Family approved! Added the corn as others suggested! Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaeldesselle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe! I made it during Thanksgiving last year and two more times since! They never leave leftovers! I didn't make any changes, just followed recipe. Quick,easy and taste is great! Its a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachaeldesselle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oyster and Cornbread Dressing

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is by far the best Oyster and Cornbread dressing! I made this twice for both Thanksgiving and Christmas. It was a big hit. The only thing that I suggest is that you go easy on the poultry and sage seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This gravy is good, but not good enough. I made it for Thanksgiving using turkey wings and it came out good. The second time I made it, I used turkey drums, which came out OK. The two times I made it, it had different taste. I also didn't find that it had a lot of flavor. I give it two stars because It was still good to eat, but there was no consistency. I don't think I'll make this again because it might turn out different again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
This is the best apple pie I've ever had and I don't eat pies. It was fresh and delicious. It's also very easy. My husband begs me every time to make it for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
The cheesecake it self was very delicious and easy to make. My problem was the amount of cream cheese I had to use. The recipe said it's for 1-9 inch pan, which is not true. I had to use 3-9 inch pans. I made it for Christmas and it was a hit, but I was left with three cheesecake. Therefore I gave my neighbor some. I also did not leave it in the oven for 5-6 hours. I took it out immediately and let it cool, then refrigerate. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I thought this was going to be hard, but it was really easy. I didn't have ham so instead I used maple bacon. It was so good. My family loves this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Broccoli Soup V

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I thought this soup was real easy and good. It took no time to make and the whole family loved it. The only issue I had was mixing the milk into the butter and flour mixture. It got clumpy but I was able to smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvgaudet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Slidell, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fiery Fish Tacos with Crunchy Corn Salsa

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I have never had fish tacos before, but my husband and I love mexican so we couldn't wait to taste it. PHENOMENAL! It is very spicy, so if you have children BEWARE! I recommend having CHOLULA mexican hot sauce with it. It really accentuates the flavor. And, if you've never tried Jicama (this was my first time) it's a good healthy snack :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Asian Coconut Rice

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Okay I used COCONUT MILK instead if of the can because I thought it was the same thing. It was so bland! I think the can would be much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Ultra Creamy Mashed Potatoes

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
DELISH!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This recipe is flawless!!! Fattening, but flawless :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Wonderful Short Ribs

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
OMG!!!! This was AWESOME! The flavor and tenderness of the meat was delish. But you do have to SLIM THE FAT!!! What I did different was I boiled the ribs in water for 30 min. prior to cooking them in the tomato sauce. Other than that I followed the recipe to the 'T'. I served it over creamy mashed potatoes. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Lemongrass and Citrus Poached Salmon

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Ehhhh. It was okay. I love fish and the price I spent on lemon grass and OJ wasn't worth it. I think I'll stick with grilling salmon. But thanks anyway :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Chunky Tomato Potato Soup

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
DO NOT cook this soup according to the directions! It needs to simmer A LOT longer than instructed. The flavor was great but the veggies are not tender in 20 min. Simmer 35-40 min. and it will be delish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamamia84la

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Slidell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States