Shreveport - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Seafood Au Gratin

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made a lot of changes and am rating for what was created thereby so it will show me in the future one of my top rated recipes. Here's how it came out: cut it in half, as there were just two of us; couldn't find scallops, so excluded them but did not increase the other seafoods. Used 4 baby bellas for the mushrooms and sautéed them with 4 green onions and 2 garlic cloves in butter for about 30 minutes. Had large frozen shrimp and thawed and dried with paper towels before adding them to the sautéed mix and continuing to sauté an additional 3 minutes before adding the crabmeat and removing from heat. Melted 3 tablespoons of butter and added 2 tablespoons of flour before adding a cup of heavy cream (in place of broth) and left out the wine. Put seafood mix in a buttered casserole, covered with the cream sauce and topped with freshly grated provolone then roma cheeses. Put all this together early in the day and refrigerated until dinner time. Removed from fridge while oven heated and cooked 15 minutes. Absolutely one of the best dishes we've enjoyed. A side of oven roasted asparagus went very well with this. Thanks for sharing and giving me the courage to try this yummy dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Spinach Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made spinach soup from fresh spinach since I saw a recipe on the back of the bag of fresh spinach back in the 90's. That soup was awesome. This recipe is very similar except for the frozen spinach and lack of parmesan cheese. I've tried to copy that recipe since because I figured it would be included on the next bag of spinach I bought, I didn't cut out the recipe. But not so lucky. I know that nutmeg is in the recipe just not how much. I see some people have altered the recipe to include the nutmeg though. Try adding about 3/4 cup or so of parmesan cheese into the soup...you will love it. I do anyway. I've even substituted part mozzarella and part parmesan. Today I used heavy cream because it would get old otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

Spiced Applesauce Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is really delicious. Kudos to all the reviewers who had such wonderful suggestions too - we added: 1/2 tsp ground cloves; doubled the nutmeg and cinnamon; halved the oil; used 3/4 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugars; an extra 1/4 cup applesauce; a peeled and minced gala apple; a tsp vanilla; sprinkled the pan with sugar and cinnamon mixture after spraying with pam; used 1 cup white and 1 cup white wheat flour; and, sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon over the top of the loaves before cooking. This made 3 mini loaf pans which were filled 3/4 full and rose perfectly while cooking to come slightly over the top of the pan. Not sure how long the cooking was - maybe 40 minutes before the toothpick test came out right. Wonderful for sharing with friends and family. Thanks for submitting this healthy (except for the sugars) and delicious (because of the sugars?) recipe for us to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Doggy Meatloaf with Vegetables

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I would never use white bread. Dogs need to eat healthy too.The recipe is mine only it has an apple and I use navy beans in mine with brown rice and/or sweet potatoes, and turkey and spinach as well as the carrots other listed ingredients. I make one giant meatloaf and freeze portions until I'm done with the one in the fridge. I have big dogs and little dogs and they all love the meatloaf. BTW, to the person who said to use garlic, it's not good for dogs at all. Onion and Garlic are toxic to dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

Salisbury Steak

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This is AWESOME! Hamburger steaks are one of dh's favorite dishes, so we have them regularly - they have never come out as tender with such good gravy as this tho. Next time I will attempt to double the gravy (did double the Worcestershire) and hope it comes out as tasty. Did not add the flour or salt, and cooked, covered, in the oven at 175 for several hours after browning. Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
These are a bit of every flavor, if you add chocolate chips, as we did. Cut the white sugar to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 cup almond butter and used crunchy peanut butter. Only used 1/2 teaspoon salt and added an extra half cup of oatmeal, a teaspoon of vanilla and about 10 ounces of mini chocolate chips. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country-Style Steak

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good just as it's written. Double gravy as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Cherry Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My grandmother made this pie every time I begged for it. No canned cherry filling for her or me. Old tried and true recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
6 stars! I've just put the final product into my crockpot and plan on serving it in a few hours with garlic bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Curry Tuna and Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This was really unique and delicious. My changes: cream of chicken (didn't have cream of celery), (1) 7 oz. can of tuna, and added celery salt. Will definitely be adding this to the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Tips and Noodles

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Used cream of chicken in place of cream of mushroom, as dh won't eat mushrooms. Used 1/2 can cream and 1/2 can water and, of course, left out the mushrooms -would have used fresh anyway. Used lean stew meat (already cut up). Served over a baked potato. Nice, easy, tummy warming meal. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
This bread was a hit with the family. I did not have walnuts so I used pecans instead. The bread came out moist a full of flavor. Great recipe and I will make it again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by depdog1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Vivian, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Graham Cracker Crust

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
A simple recipe for one of the simplest pie crusts. Made my own crumbs with mostly graham crackers and a handful of shortbread cookies we had on hand. Refrigerated overnight before filling with key lime pie ingredients - which cooked for 30 minutes at 375 and made the crust even more delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Key Lime Pie I

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
Used the advice of Shrae1 and the tip shared by them as well - didn't have key limes, so used a half cup of juice of 5 lemons and a half cup of juice from 6 limes (wonderful hint). Added that to the 4 egg yolks and blended well before incorporating 2 cans of Eagle Brand condensed milk. Had made a no-bake graham cracker crust found on this site, using a handful of butter cookies as part of the crumbs. My crust was made in my deep dish pie pan, so even with the extra can of condensed milk and double juice, it fit nicely. Cooked at a preheated 375 for 30 minutes and it came out exactly as we like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage II

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2013
Easy and tasty. One of the best ways to enjoy cabbage. Did not measure anything, just used a head of cabbage, probably a little more than 1/4 cup onion, no water, sugar or vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale, Quinoa, and Avocado Salad with Lemon Dijon Vinaigrette

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Nice to see this healthy recipe here - so good. Really dislike seeing people rate a recipe even though they don't even like the main ingredient - and chose to make it even with that ingredient the lead in the title! Really a head scratcher. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Vegetables

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
Good basic recipe for fried rice. Gonna give it a try with quinoa. I do not know how the submitter could have made it plainer that the rice needs to be chilled, but apparently some folks don't read directions well?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Banana Bread

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
We made muffins with this - got 14 large ones. Sprayed the paper muffin liners with cooking spray. Added cinnamon and grated nutmeg to the flour mix. Did not use nuts. Used more than 1/4 tsp vanilla and slightly more than 1/3 cup chocolate chips - used mostly mini chips. Took just 22 minutes to cook at 350 (directions shared by Sarah Jo -thanks!). As with most of Chef John's recipes shared here, this was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Awesome Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
This is the best pasta salad I've ever had. Made as written, or adjusted to your own preferences, you just can't go wrong with this recipe. I've done it several different ways, adding avocado, sliced black olives, cucumber,red onion, various cheeses (feta is really good), anything and everything works in this pasta salad. So, so good. I think I'll have another bowl! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States