Shreveport - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent! Used a microplane grater placed over the bowl of flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt to grate the chilled butter and mixed in with fork while grating. Cut into squares instead of rounds, as the dough was already in a rectangle. Did not brush the tops, as my hands were moist with placing the biscuits on the silpat. These were just right - crispy on the outside and soft and wonderful inside. Made 8 biscuits and froze half - hope those hints are good ones! Thanks so much, Chef John. Your recipes can always be counted on to be the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lime Fudge

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is a great recipe but, as the submitter, can attest to the fact that it would be almost impossible to get 64 servings from anything which fits into an 8x8 pan! However, it is very rich and can serve quite a few because of that. Also, the chocolate doesn't have to be from those, or any, brand name products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This tasted fairly good, but so moist as to seem underdone and a little gooey, in spite of cooking the recommended time and waiting until it began to pull from the side of the tube pan. The parts nearest the pan sides were done, as was the top and bottom, and I think cooking longer would have resulted in an overdone (and possibly still gooey) cake. Hubby said it was "rubbery" and we did not finish it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Short Pastry

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great crust. Used powdered sugar in place of granulated, a little less than the teaspoon of salt, and 3/4 cups unsalted butter in place of the 1/2 cup butter-1/4 shortening. My strawberry pie needed a precooked crust so baked, as indicated by Chef Tena, at 425 for almost 15 minutes before cooling and adding the filling. Wonderful flavor. Had a pretty tough time rolling out and almost gave in to the desire to simply press it into the pie pan. Persevered, however, and in the end got it almost in one piece into the pan. Flaky with just the right amount of sweetness. With practice, feel sure this will become our favorite sweet pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Bean Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Loved this soup. Used a bag of dried beans (soaked over night and cooked in the morning to soften) in addition to the one can of kidneys we had on hand. Only had one ham hock and some diced ham and no sausage, so went with this. Did not have celery or parsley and did not want to make a trip to the store, so left those out. Sauteed an onion after browning the ham hock and before adding remaining ingredients, then cooked in the oven at 200 for the rest of the day. Great over cornbread muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Banana Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Excellent and elegant. Much more subtle than other condensed milk or pudding banana pudding recipes. Felt it could have used another banana and will add one next time. Because of cholesterol issues, used cool whip in place of whipped cream but, even so, wonderful flavor. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

E-Z Drop Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Incredible and really easy! The only change I made was omitting the cream of tartar. Will include it next time to see if it makes any difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Ziti I

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
A good hearty meal but not as flavorful as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I am not a fan of broccoli. This recipe changed my mind. I put only 1/2 tsp of salt as suggested by others and it was perfect. I also didn't have any lemon but will definitely use it next time. I sprinkled it lightly with Parmesan cheese. Delicious. A keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The first time I made this it was awesome with no changes to the recipe. Yesterday I made it for the 2nd time and it would not set up. I continued to add powdered sugar and after approx. 6 or 7 cups I quit, still runny. Any ideas? I would give 5 stars for the first time alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made this over and over for family and friends. It's super easy. The only modification I make is to double the sauce/marinade. It is absolutely delicious. Everyone asks for the recipe every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

Lemon Whiskey Slush

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Used 3/4 cup whiskey and more sugar - quite delicious! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Guinness® Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
A great stew! Our bacon was of the peppered variety, so left off any additional salt and pepper (thankfully, as there was plenty of both). The chuck steaks were a dollar per pound cheaper, so bought a little over two pounds and cubed them. Also, could not find Guinness, so used Coors and don't know if this made a difference. To the beef (not chicken) stock, added some cleaned baby portabella mushrooms and liquified in the blender so that DH could not distinguish them, as he will not eat mushrooms if he can see them, lol. Used baby carrots with great success and left out the celery. Completely forgot the thyme, both at the store and while cooking, but will try to remember this next time. Near the end of cooking, thickened the gravy somewhat by removing some of the juices to cool and mixing in flour. Also made the mashed potatoes with very little butter and cream and no additional salt or pepper because of salt and pepper in the stew itself. Very tasty, as are all of Chef John's creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Fried Cabbage

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Oh my goodness I cannot stop eating this cabbage! I didn't use the oil, otherwise I followed the recipe and it's just too good!! Will be my go-to from now, on. Thank you for the awesome recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very good recipe for using leftover ham! I boiled the onion with the potatoes and carrots, saving 3 tblsp of butter from my fat content! Did not sauté the ham or use celery or green pepper (but they would have been tasty additions). Used Monterey Jack, which I grated directed into the butter-flour sauce to melt. Did add pepper but no salt. After pouring sauce over the ham and potato mix, I spooned a layer of Greek nonfat plain yogurt on top and under the crumbs, to add a sour cream effect. Used about 8 Ritz crackers in place of crumbs. Put it all together early in the day to cook later; by that time, the cracker topping was soft (like soft bread crumbs). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The flavor of these is good - used the tip of 1/4 cup oil and 1 cup applesauce; 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white; 3 tablespoons of coffee granules in 1 tablespoon water; 1/2 cup mini semi sweet chips and 1 cup dark chips. Removed banana mix from processor and stirred in the flour mix and chips by hand gently. However, these stuck to the paper liners - I always spray my liners with cooking spray but did not this time as no one mentioned an issue of sticking. Next time, will spray the liners so we can enjoy the whole muffin. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brussels Sprouts Gratin

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were great! Did not use the butter on the topping and really did not measure anything except the heavy cream - used 3 slices bacon and simply sprinkled a small amount of crumbs and freshly grated Roma cheese over top. Really enhanced the flavor of brussels sprouts - if you don't care for them, remember they are the main ingredient in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Did not think the sauce really added anything to the asparagus. They were good from roasting, but salt was really all we tasted other than the flavor of the asparagus themselves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poppyseed Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A very good substitute for store bought dressing. Made as directed, juicing the onion in the blender for the onion juice, but did not strain the juice, just measured straight into the mix. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These were quite tasty. They definitely need to cool completely before they are eaten, as they taste too floury until they are cooled. Next time, will probably add cayenne to the cracker mixture as, even with the "hot" pepper jelly, we wished for more spice. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States