Shreveport - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I am not a fan of broccoli. This recipe changed my mind. I put only 1/2 tsp of salt as suggested by others and it was perfect. I also didn't have any lemon but will definitely use it next time. I sprinkled it lightly with Parmesan cheese. Delicious. A keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
The first time I made this it was awesome with no changes to the recipe. Yesterday I made it for the 2nd time and it would not set up. I continued to add powdered sugar and after approx. 6 or 7 cups I quit, still runny. Any ideas? I would give 5 stars for the first time alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

Baked Teriyaki Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I have made this over and over for family and friends. It's super easy. The only modification I make is to double the sauce/marinade. It is absolutely delicious. Everyone asks for the recipe every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy N.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

Lemon Whiskey Slush

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Used 3/4 cup whiskey and more sugar - quite delicious! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef and Guinness® Stew

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
A great stew! Our bacon was of the peppered variety, so left off any additional salt and pepper (thankfully, as there was plenty of both). The chuck steaks were a dollar per pound cheaper, so bought a little over two pounds and cubed them. Also, could not find Guinness, so used Coors and don't know if this made a difference. To the beef (not chicken) stock, added some cleaned baby portabella mushrooms and liquified in the blender so that DH could not distinguish them, as he will not eat mushrooms if he can see them, lol. Used baby carrots with great success and left out the celery. Completely forgot the thyme, both at the store and while cooking, but will try to remember this next time. Near the end of cooking, thickened the gravy somewhat by removing some of the juices to cool and mixing in flour. Also made the mashed potatoes with very little butter and cream and no additional salt or pepper because of salt and pepper in the stew itself. Very tasty, as are all of Chef John's creations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Fried Cabbage

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Oh my goodness I cannot stop eating this cabbage! I didn't use the oil, otherwise I followed the recipe and it's just too good!! Will be my go-to from now, on. Thank you for the awesome recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham Casserole

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Very good recipe for using leftover ham! I boiled the onion with the potatoes and carrots, saving 3 tblsp of butter from my fat content! Did not sauté the ham or use celery or green pepper (but they would have been tasty additions). Used Monterey Jack, which I grated directed into the butter-flour sauce to melt. Did add pepper but no salt. After pouring sauce over the ham and potato mix, I spooned a layer of Greek nonfat plain yogurt on top and under the crumbs, to add a sour cream effect. Used about 8 Ritz crackers in place of crumbs. Put it all together early in the day to cook later; by that time, the cracker topping was soft (like soft bread crumbs). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mocha Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
The flavor of these is good - used the tip of 1/4 cup oil and 1 cup applesauce; 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup white; 3 tablespoons of coffee granules in 1 tablespoon water; 1/2 cup mini semi sweet chips and 1 cup dark chips. Removed banana mix from processor and stirred in the flour mix and chips by hand gently. However, these stuck to the paper liners - I always spray my liners with cooking spray but did not this time as no one mentioned an issue of sticking. Next time, will spray the liners so we can enjoy the whole muffin. . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brussels Sprouts Gratin

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These were great! Did not use the butter on the topping and really did not measure anything except the heavy cream - used 3 slices bacon and simply sprinkled a small amount of crumbs and freshly grated Roma cheese over top. Really enhanced the flavor of brussels sprouts - if you don't care for them, remember they are the main ingredient in this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Asparagus with Balsamic Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Did not think the sauce really added anything to the asparagus. They were good from roasting, but salt was really all we tasted other than the flavor of the asparagus themselves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poppyseed Salad Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A very good substitute for store bought dressing. Made as directed, juicing the onion in the blender for the onion juice, but did not strain the juice, just measured straight into the mix. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
These were quite tasty. They definitely need to cool completely before they are eaten, as they taste too floury until they are cooled. Next time, will probably add cayenne to the cracker mixture as, even with the "hot" pepper jelly, we wished for more spice. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy, No-Bake Nutella® Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Quite yummy. Made my own chocolate cookie crust from a no-bake one on this site and made fresh whipped cream to replace the cool whip. Awesomely decadent - special occasion only, as it is quite calorie and fat laden, especially with the changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mock Chocolate Cookie Crust

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Great and easy crust. I do lower the sugar to 1 cup, though, and careful about that temp and cooking time or it will harden - still yummy, but almost impossible to slice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops Over Rice

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Fabulous! Used 1/2 t. of cayenne but think I'll use slightly less next time. Used cooked rice instead of cooking rice with the pork chops. Really good, even the day after leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Pimento Cheese Sandwiches with Avocado and Bacon

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This flavor combination is wonderful! I fixed the cheese mixture beforehand, and we split a sandwich for breakfast a couple of days during the Christmas holidays. I did sub onion powder for the onion and Miracle Whip for the mayo and left out the jalapeño, so doubled the cayenne. Delicious - thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Special Occasion Seafood Au Gratin

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made a lot of changes and am rating for what was created thereby so it will show me in the future one of my top rated recipes. Here's how it came out: cut it in half, as there were just two of us; couldn't find scallops, so excluded them but did not increase the other seafoods. Used 4 baby bellas for the mushrooms and sautéed them with 4 green onions and 2 garlic cloves in butter for about 30 minutes. Had large frozen shrimp and thawed and dried with paper towels before adding them to the sautéed mix and continuing to sauté an additional 3 minutes before adding the crabmeat and removing from heat. Melted 3 tablespoons of butter and added 2 tablespoons of flour before adding a cup of heavy cream (in place of broth) and left out the wine. Put seafood mix in a buttered casserole, covered with the cream sauce and topped with freshly grated provolone then roma cheeses. Put all this together early in the day and refrigerated until dinner time. Removed from fridge while oven heated and cooked 15 minutes. Absolutely one of the best dishes we've enjoyed. A side of oven roasted asparagus went very well with this. Thanks for sharing and giving me the courage to try this yummy dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Au Gratin

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I made a lot of changes and am rating for what was created thereby so it will show me in the future one of my top rated recipes. Here's how it came out: cut it in half, as there were just two of us; couldn't find scallops, so excluded them but did not increase the other seafoods. Used 4 baby bellas for the mushrooms and sautéed them with 4 green onions and 2 garlic cloves in butter for about 30 minutes. Had large frozen shrimp and thawed and dried with paper towels before adding them to the sautéed mix and continuing to sauté an additional 3 minutes before adding the crabmeat and removing from heat. Melted 3 tablespoons of butter and added 2 tablespoons of flour before adding a cup of heavy cream (in place of broth) and left out the wine. Put seafood mix in a buttered casserole, covered with the cream sauce and topped with freshly grated provolone then roma cheeses. Put all this together early in the day and refrigerated until dinner time. Removed from fridge while oven heated and cooked 15 minutes. Absolutely one of the best dishes we've enjoyed. A side of oven roasted asparagus went very well with this. Thanks for sharing and giving me the courage to try this yummy dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Spinach Soup

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made spinach soup from fresh spinach since I saw a recipe on the back of the bag of fresh spinach back in the 90's. That soup was awesome. This recipe is very similar except for the frozen spinach and lack of parmesan cheese. I've tried to copy that recipe since because I figured it would be included on the next bag of spinach I bought, I didn't cut out the recipe. But not so lucky. I know that nutmeg is in the recipe just not how much. I see some people have altered the recipe to include the nutmeg though. Try adding about 3/4 cup or so of parmesan cheese into the soup...you will love it. I do anyway. I've even substituted part mozzarella and part parmesan. Today I used heavy cream because it would get old otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by agadoelleon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lufkin, Texas, USA

Spiced Applesauce Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
This is really delicious. Kudos to all the reviewers who had such wonderful suggestions too - we added: 1/2 tsp ground cloves; doubled the nutmeg and cinnamon; halved the oil; used 3/4 cup brown and 1/2 cup white sugars; an extra 1/4 cup applesauce; a peeled and minced gala apple; a tsp vanilla; sprinkled the pan with sugar and cinnamon mixture after spraying with pam; used 1 cup white and 1 cup white wheat flour; and, sprinkled brown sugar and cinnamon over the top of the loaves before cooking. This made 3 mini loaf pans which were filled 3/4 full and rose perfectly while cooking to come slightly over the top of the pan. Not sure how long the cooking was - maybe 40 minutes before the toothpick test came out right. Wonderful for sharing with friends and family. Thanks for submitting this healthy (except for the sugars) and delicious (because of the sugars?) recipe for us to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States