Shreveport - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Peach Pie with Sour Cream

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Am writing this review for the crust only - which I have used for my bottom crust 4 times in the past month! Excellent, easy and tasty. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
My entire family went crazy for this meal. It was absolutely fantastic, I didn't change a thing to the recipe. Served ribs and sauce on a bed of mashed potatoes. I can't believe how much my 2 year old ate. This will definitely be part of our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Classic Waffles

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Excellent! Delicate, fluffy and yummy! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peanut Butter Cookies with Chocolate Chunks

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
These are good little cookies - nothing out of the ordinary tho. Replaced 1 cup of all purpose with 1 cup of white whole wheat flour and the chocolate chunks with 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and a whole tablespoon of vanilla. Flattened the cookies out somewhat before cooking. Did not chill the dough and cooked for a little more than 10 minutes. This made 40 cookies for me and will make again, as it was simple, quick and tasty. However, the honey was quite noticeable, so if cooking for someone who doesn't care for honey, beware.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sangria! Sangria!

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Made this for the 4th of July and it was a smashing hit. Everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Peach Blueberry Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Have made this pie 3 times in as many weeks. Used a little over 3 cups peaches each time - only change. Yummy delicious! Made with the Short Sweet Pastry on this site as the crust. So good. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crispy Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Having grown up in a family of 7 children and both parents (a total of 9), I can attest that, even cutting the wishbone from the breasts to make a separate piece, a chicken will only yield 9 good pieces - and two of those are the tiny wings! So, to say this 4 pound chicken yields 8 servings is bit of a stretch, imo. Also notice that almost all reviews added quite a bit in the way of spice or brining to their chicken to get some flavor. To me, this deserves a high rating for an excellent method of cooking, but as a recipe, not so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Strawberry-Banana-Peanut Butter Smoothie

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I wasn't crazy about the combination of strawberries and peanut butter. Maybe two bananas?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tater Tot Bake

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
For more flavor, try using a can of Campbell's beef gravy in place of the soup; use no milk but add a tablespoon each of ketchup and Worcestershire. Mix that with the browned beef and sautéed onions in the skillet before transferring to a 9x9 pan. Sprinkle with grated medium sharp cheese, then cover with tater tots (about 1/2 of the bag will do it). Cook at 425 for 25 minutes or so. Yum. Great for breakfast or dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Giant Chocolate Chip Cookie

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
This is the exact recipe from the Nestle chocolate chip package. Reduce flour and salt as others mentioned. (Use 2c flour, 1/2t salt) Bake on parchment & leave a 1&1/2" space around entire edge of a 16" round pizza pan and it will bake up to fill the entire pan to the very edge. I worked at Great American cookies as a youngster and here's a couple tips from that experience: Make the dough a day ahead, chill & then roll out the next day to make it super easy to work & spread evenly. Bake for about 20-23 minutes & turn the pan every 7ish ignites to assure even browning. Remove when a little underdone (puffed up but not browned in middle) & let sit on pan for 10 minutes to finish. Wrap cooled cookie up tightly in saran overnight and the edges will be soft to serve the next day - cookie still fresh as ever!!! Otherwise, simply trim the edges off if you don't want them crunchy. That's the way they do it. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Biscuits and Gravy

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Found that this calls for too much milk after the can of evaporated - too late to save it, so had to add quite a bit of flour to make it thicken, which changed the flavor. Tried it again on another weekend, adding only 1/2 cup milk after the evaporated milk, which was just right. Also, added the butter before adding the flour. As written, however, we found it too thin and milky, tasting more like that from a restaurant trying to cut corners and stretch the sausage for more servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fabulous Colcannon (Mashed Potatoes and Cabbage)

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
We think this is the bomb! A great mix of flavors and a meal in one dish - no need for anything else. Did not vary anything except for the use Greek Yogurt in place of mayo and a little more than half a pack of pre-shredded cabbage (will use the whole package next time). Yummmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grands!® Mini Chicken Pot Pies

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Not five stars, but a definite four stars. Eating these were fun and filling, which makes up for the missing fifth star. I stuck with the recipe which is unusual for me. The only change is that I had a 6 muffin tin and eight biscuits, so I separated the remaining 2 biscuits (peeling them apart in thirds) and covered the tops with the 1/3 separated biscuits. Wow! So easy and so good. family loved them too. Next time I might at some garlic powder and onion powder, but the were really good just as the recipe alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Potato, Carrot, Apple, and Red Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Awesomely delicious! After reading some of the reviews and because of personal preference: replaced butter with coconut oil; did not peel anything; shredded the carrots and apple; used 3/4 cup lentils; 1/8 tsp powdered ginger in place of the fresh; no salt or chili powder; curry in place of cumin; cayenne in place of paprika; 2 cups vege broth, 2 cups chicken broth and 1 1/2 cup coconut milk in place of the 6 cups vege broth; and added fresh baby kale and spinach to the final product about 5 minutes before serving. I know this is a lot of changes, but would never have put this together without the original recipe posted here and that would be a shame! Thanks for sharing, zhidaoma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Buttermilk Biscuits

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Excellent! Used a microplane grater placed over the bowl of flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt to grate the chilled butter and mixed in with fork while grating. Cut into squares instead of rounds, as the dough was already in a rectangle. Did not brush the tops, as my hands were moist with placing the biscuits on the silpat. These were just right - crispy on the outside and soft and wonderful inside. Made 8 biscuits and froze half - hope those hints are good ones! Thanks so much, Chef John. Your recipes can always be counted on to be the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lime Fudge

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
This is a great recipe but, as the submitter, can attest to the fact that it would be almost impossible to get 64 servings from anything which fits into an 8x8 pan! However, it is very rich and can serve quite a few because of that. Also, the chocolate doesn't have to be from those, or any, brand name products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Applesauce Cake III

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This tasted fairly good, but so moist as to seem underdone and a little gooey, in spite of cooking the recommended time and waiting until it began to pull from the side of the tube pan. The parts nearest the pan sides were done, as was the top and bottom, and I think cooking longer would have resulted in an overdone (and possibly still gooey) cake. Hubby said it was "rubbery" and we did not finish it :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sweet Short Pastry

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Great crust. Used powdered sugar in place of granulated, a little less than the teaspoon of salt, and 3/4 cups unsalted butter in place of the 1/2 cup butter-1/4 shortening. My strawberry pie needed a precooked crust so baked, as indicated by Chef Tena, at 425 for almost 15 minutes before cooling and adding the filling. Wonderful flavor. Had a pretty tough time rolling out and almost gave in to the desire to simply press it into the pie pan. Persevered, however, and in the end got it almost in one piece into the pan. Flaky with just the right amount of sweetness. With practice, feel sure this will become our favorite sweet pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ham and Bean Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Loved this soup. Used a bag of dried beans (soaked over night and cooked in the morning to soften) in addition to the one can of kidneys we had on hand. Only had one ham hock and some diced ham and no sausage, so went with this. Did not have celery or parsley and did not want to make a trip to the store, so left those out. Sauteed and onion after browning the ham hock and before adding remaining ingredients, then cooked in the oven at 200 for the rest of the day. Great over cornbread muffins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Banana Pudding

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Excellent and elegant. Much more subtle than other condensed milk or pudding banana pudding recipes. Felt it could have used another banana and will add one next time. Because of cholesterol issues, used cool whip in place of whipped cream but, even so, wonderful flavor. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States