Shreveport - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Festive JELL-O Popcorn Balls

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
So easy. Used the method of cooking popcorn found on this site in a paper bag - one/half cup popcorn mixed with 3/4 tsp oil and placed in paper lunch bag, folding the top over several times. In our microwave, the popcorn cooked in 1 1/2 minutes, but the directions say 2-3 minutes, stopping when there are 2 seconds between pops. Any method you chose for your popcorn, however, don't make the same mistake I made and dump it directly nto the marshmallow mix -it took forever to dig out the unpopped kernels. The second batch, I poured the popped corn onto paper towels and picked out the unpopped kernels before using. Also, melted the marshmallows and butter together in a large pot on the stove and then turned it off before adding the popcorn. Quick and easy. This made 12 - 13 large treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Microwave Popcorn

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This worked great. In our microwave, it took 1 minute and 45 seconds. Tried the suggestion about the tape, but it came undone and wasn't needed anyway. Used the same bag twice with good results. This makes 12 cups of popcorn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kickin' Collard Greens

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
After seeing an article which claims collard greens can reduce cholesterol 13% more than prescription drugs, have been wanting to try cooking some. Of course, with the bacon used for seasoning, not sure how much good remains but these are really great - the additions of some of the reviewers are necessary to make it so. No olive oil - with all the wonderful bacon drippings (used 6 slices), why? Sauteed the onion and added the garlic in the drippings before adding the bacon back in. Used water and a cube of chicken bouillon in place of broth, as that was on hand. Did not add salt, as there is plenty in the bouillon. Did add about a tablespoon of sugar (mix of white and brown). Cooked all afternoon on low heat, barely simmering. Yummmeee! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sister Beth's Carrot Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Excellent. Drain your pineapple thoroughly. Did not have/use coconut. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bourbon Pecan Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I just made this Bourbon Pecan Chicken and WOW! I loved it... my kids loved it... my friends who came over for dinner loved it! What a hit. I made it with Panko crumbs as they tend to make a crunchier crust than mm. This is a recipe I'll make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin G

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Beef Paprika

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was pretty good; however, if I make it again, I will reduce the ketchup to 1/2 cup, leave out the brown sugar and make sure the paprika is not Hungarian sweet - all to reduce the sweetness, as it came out too sweet for us. I reduced the salt to 1 teaspoon and that was plenty and did not brown the meat. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pumpkin Pasta

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I wanted to like this, but it was just too bland and soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awampler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Taco Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very tasty and easy recipe! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awampler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Insanely Easy Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe was pretty good, however, I made a few changes. I left out the celery and corn and added two small chorizo links (casings removed. making it decidedly non-vegetarian) - I was mainly trying to adapt ingredients that I already had, rather than go out and get more! Anyway, it was quite flavorful and filling. In the future, I would probably also leave out the mushrooms, such an odd addition to a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awampler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This recipe was pretty good, however, I made a few changes. I left out the celery and corn and added two small chorizo links (casings removed. making it decidedly non-vegetarian) - I was mainly trying to adapt ingredients that I already had, rather than go out and get more! Anyway, it was quite flavorful and filling. In the future, I would probably also leave out the mushrooms, such an odd addition to a chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awampler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Crispy Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
This was tasty, but I think mostly due to the spices added not called for here. I had 6 breasts, which I cut into tenderloin liked pieces. I sprinkled them very liberally with cayenne and Paul Prudhomme's chicken seasoning on both sides before dipping in the butter and crumbs. My hope was that, if the chicken did turn out crispy, they would be nice for leftovers and a lot better for us than fried, a stick of butter and sleeve of crackers aside. However, even though after I placed a paper towel under and on top of the leftover pieces before storing in the fridge, they did become soggy when cold. Also, we added at least a teaspoon and probably 2 of both the cayenne and chicken seasoning (like seasoned salt, but more for chicken) were needed for what flavor resulted. Not sure a teaspoon of seasoned salt and a pinch of garlic would have done much for 6 chicken breasts. Thanks for sharing - this was easy and worth cooking if eating warm and adding a lot more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Goof Balls

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Only about half the kids liked these - and I, who love condensed milk and caramel, did not like them either. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Haunted Oreos®

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
All the 5th grade kids liked these. My food coloring drops never did make the orange color look quite right. We used m&m's for the eyes and candy corn for the nose - very cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Halloween Ghosties

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
These were easy, good and cute, but not all the 5th grade kids liked them . . .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chef John's Easy Apple Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was really good. We'd been to an apple orchard in Iowa and had an abundance of Jonathan apples. They were not large, so just measured 6 cups of peeled and sliced. Did not make a lattice for top, but used a lot of cut outs instead. So yummy - of course, it is from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
As expected, Chef John delivers a delicious and easy, yet extravagant dish! We had a little more than half the short ribs needed, and should have halved the sauce, but am glad we didn't, as it is sooo good with mashed potatoes (another of Chef John's easy recipes). Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Banana Pie

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
Let me say that, because of what was on hand, I changed this a bit but am certain the original is even better and this turned out wonderful! I used a graham cracker crust and no nuts for swiftness and ease. Also, because I was afraid I would run out of room, did not use all of the second banana - and could and should have. Everything else was as directed. Mouth full of awesomeness with each bite. Can't wait to try it with the pecans in the crust; just didn't have time to make a crust! Thanks for sharing, Jeannette
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Country Apple Dumplings

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Halve the butter and sugar and line the pan with foil for ease of cleanup. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Key Lime Pies

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
These were great. Half the recipe produced 7 little pies for us. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Okra

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
Tasty way to serve okra. Much less grease than frying with great flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States