New Orleans - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I have this in the slow cooker right now - I've tasted a potato and carrot and just from that I can tell that the gravy is amazing. I used a 1/2 round roast that I had in the freezer, in case I didn't like it I wouldn't mess up a whole roast. I was very skeptical, even though the reviews are great, I didn't know how the Ranch dressing mix would taste (I didn't have Ranch dressing mix so I used Ranch Dip seasoning - practically the same thing!) I made a few minor changes - First I browned all sides of the roast then added dried diced onions, about 2 T. minced garlic, about 1/4 C Burgundy wine and about 2 tsp Lea & Perrin's Worcestershire sauce. I added a little black pepper and NO salt, and the gravy is perfect. As it cooked the gravy got very thick so I added more water as needed. I can't wait until the roast is finished cooking - I want it to be fall apart tender. It smells so good and will have it with fresh collard greens, also on the stove right now. I'm not going to tell my husband about the Ranch Dip & Italian Dressing seasoning, otherwise he'll get it in his head that he won't like it. - Great Recipe! If the roast comes out as good as the gravy then I have a new quick way of cooking a roast in the slow cooker. Next time I'll use a chuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StillWild1111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
A few slight changes. I used about 1-1/2 pounds of meat; a half cup of seasoned bread crumbs and half cup of wheat bran (no noticeable texture difference). I forgot the Parm cheese in the balls, but no biggie. I just added it to the finished dish. I also baked the balls 30 minutes at 350, then slid them into the sauce, which I already had underway. I happened to have a half-finished bottle of red wine (!), so I added a cup to the sauce. After cooking down for the recommended time, the sauce was VERY thick, so I added a little more wine! And a small can of tomato sauce. ;-) My dad, who is a gravy fiend, LOVED it. Easy, quick and delicious - my three favorite ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Creamy Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Excellent -- even my son who doesn't like cauliflower enjoyed this soup. I love that it's thickened with the potatoes -- so no cream and it freezes very well. I probably only used a little over 3 lbs of potatoes because I didn't think I could cook 5 pounds of potatoes in that amount of water, but I don't see where that would have affected the taste any. I hesitated on that many onions, but it wasn't too oniony tasting at all. I froze half without the cheese and will add it when I reheat. Made the French rolls on this site to go with it. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Bread Rolls to Die For

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Made these rolls in my Zojirushi bread maker -!they were excellent, and I loved the chewy crust. I had no issues with the cook time or temp - I made 12 rolls and cooked them on a silicon mat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Chops for the Slow Cooker

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Adding honey, halving the soy sauce, frying first. The soy sauce was too much, but it tasted okay -- my issue was that the pork chops completely dried out and were hardly edible. Maybe pork doesn't have enough fat for such a long cooking time or this might be worth trying on a larger piece of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Becky's Cajun Shrimp Alfredo

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Pretty good. Super easy. I added 1 tsp celery salt, 1 tbs granulated onion, and 1 tbs of crab boil to give it a Cajun kick. Spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick and Easy Alfredo Sauce

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Pretty good. Super easy. I added 1 tsp celery salt, 1 tbs granulated onion, and 1 tbs of crab boil to give it a Cajun kick. Spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Bake

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
While making it I thought this would be a waste of time but i had all the ingredients for it and we needed dinner. In the end no time was wasted bc it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ground Beef Vegetable Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Greater starter recipe to add your own touches! Since I live in LA I added garlic and rotel tomatoes for a little kick. We always love Worcestershire with any beef recipe. I had some chicken broth and added about 2 cups, frozen corn, and one large sweet potato instead of carrots. Yummy and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLA Deb
Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bacon Gravy for Biscuits

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I followed the recipe, but crumbled the whole package of bacon into the gravy, I think I am now getting jewelry for my birthday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oven Roasted Parmesan Potatoes

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Loved it. My husband said this is definitely a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Broccoli Soup I

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was excellent -- hard to believe that someone gave it 3 stars because it didn't have as much salt as they liked -- that's assumed salt to your taste in my book. I made almost as directed -- just decreased the milk by 1/2 cup because I like it a little thicker. I also added 12 oz of crawfish at the very end, but the soup was great before I did that -- just felt like I would like the soup with crawfish and a little heat ... and I did. I can see adding more veggies to this soup too .. thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cindy's Awesome Clam Chowder

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I had to use vegetable soup mix bc I couldn't find leek soup mix. I had to thicken with cornstarch at the end and I mashed some of the potatoes to help thicken. My secret ingredient is Cajun seasoning and a dash or two of cayenne. Also a splash of red wine vinegar is yummy too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Baked Kale Chips

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I don't have a salad spinner so I used a blow drier (like for your hair) on a low setting to dry the washed kale! Tossed the kale in the olive oil, baked 6 minutes, turned the kale and added salt and cracked pepper, and baked for 6 more minutes. perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamtard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rockin' Good Smashed Cauliflower with Garlic

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
So good! Used fresh cauliflower and I didn't have garlic cloves so I subbed garlic powder and garlic salt. I also added some Tony's Sacherie's and parsley to it. I will definitely make this regularly and it'll be real easy to play around with too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pamtard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used three cartons of button mushrooms (on sale; couldn't resist), which was a bit more than doubling it. I roasted the shrooms 20 minutes with some fresh rosemary sneaked from my neighbor's bush, plus some fancy lemon-flavored olive oil. Skipped the heavy cream and used fat-free evap milk. Sparingly used my immersion blender in the pot instead, cause I'm my father's daughter and like chunky soup. Then forgot and got caught up in a great old movie and came back an hour later to find the soup cooked down halfway but thank goodness not burned. Threw in a little more broth and a few spinach leaves that needed to be used. AMAZING!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Szechwan Shrimp

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Easy and yummy. I had fresh ginger on hand and added it at the wrong time. This left me with firm ginger pieces. It was good nonetheless. If using fresh ginger add it with the onions and garlic. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Restaurant Style Egg Drop Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Recreating a Massachusetts New Years from afar. It was great and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage II

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I didn't have bacon so I used butter and added toasted pine nuts at the end. Very, very good! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I thought I was finished my Christmas baking, but this recipe caught my eye. And I'm glad it did!! This bread is AMAAAAAAAAAZING!!!!!!! I subbed 1/2c. brown sugar for part of the white sugar and 3/4c. whole wheat with AP flour. Upped the amounts of coconut and white chocolate to 1-1/2 c. each and increased the banana to about 3/4c. more. Got 5 mini loaves and had to freeze four of them so I wouldn't be tempted. Can't wait to share this one with my friends and family - thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States