New Orleans - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by miranda868

Cranberry Upside-Down Sour Cream Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I would give this 5 stars with the following edits: like other reviewers I bumped the sour cream to 1 cup and added the zest of an orange to the sauce. I also put in a half tsp of vanilla extract and a half tsp of orange extract. It was a big hit for thanksgiving! And really gorgeous on the table!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Peanut Butter Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Very light and tasty! I made it exactly like the recipe, with one exception...I spread Nutella in the bottom of the graham crust. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Nuccio Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hello Dolly Bars

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Delicious! You can play around with the toppings to suit your tastes. I like dark chocolate, coconut, and almonds. Next time I make these, which will be soon since they're so easy, I'll include the white chocolate chips as well. Perfect for parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Shortbread Cookies

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
Delish! I followed another's cook's suggestion to increase the whipping time after every addition. Plus, I replaced the maraschino cherries with pecan halves. Easy recipe and great results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This was delicious! I changed proportions depending on what I had (less broth, more wine, no celery, and Rotel tomatoes with chili peppers.) very spicy but exceedingly yummy! It is a flexible recipe which is the best kind for the everyday cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Prosciutto-Wrapped Chicken Breasts with Herbed Goat Cheese

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I was so happy to find this recipe! I did add chopped mushrooms and sundried tomatoes. My 11yo even loved it. Thanks to hubby no leftovers. Highly recommend this wonderful recipe! Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachaels37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
Oh heavenly fudge gods! This is an easy and delicious fudge recipe.. Just a note substitute Nutella for the peanut butter, and witness Nirvana!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJChefMEM

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meat Pie (Tourtiere)

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
When I was a child my Uncle Joe would make this on Christmas Eve. Now he's gone and so is his recipe.... however this one is just as memorable as his. Now everytime I think of Uncle Joe I make this Tourtiere. Thanks for the great recipe and the memories
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cabbage Rolls II

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Made these with ground turkey and they were so yummy. I even forgot to add the rice so I just dumped it on top and came out fine. I used wild rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany68

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Spaghetti

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
My family and I loved this dish. It is very similar to lasagna so I really had no doubts my family would eat it. And I had almost everything on hand! This is now my weekday go-to Lasagna recipe. Thanks for sharing it! The only reason I gave it 4 out of 5 is I think it is a little too bland. Next time I am going to use more seasoning when cooking the hamburger and add more sauce as it was a little dry for my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Richard's Chicken Breasts

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
So easy, and so good. Changes I made weren't enough to peg it a star. Chicken needs a little salt and pepper before sprinkling with flour mixture. After pan frying the chicken, I added a dollop of butter and sautéed the onion/mushroom mixture before deglazing the pan with the wine. I also added about 1/2 cup of chicken broth before putting the breasts back in for the final cook period. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Buckwheat Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
As a Cajun I tried this and was SUPREMELY disappointed. Dry, bland and like foam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bullet

Southern Turnip Supreme

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made a bunch of substitutions and it turned out great. Instead of sour cream I used Bulgarian yogurt, and added dill to the broth. At the end after melting the cheese in, I threw in some thinly sliced cucumbers and topped with chives. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Maybe it needed time for the flavors to meld or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Add a coupla teaspoons of sweetener to salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jambalasta

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Recipe is great for the most part, but to be truly authentic 'Pastalaya' as it's called in Louisiana, firm short pasta should be used because long spaghetti, linguini, fettuccini noodles will break up and get kind of mushy. Also, Kebalsa and Cajun just don't do together Shaa, so please use Andouille or a good smoked sausage and you'll have yourself a delicious, authentic Cajun Pastalaya that everyone will love. My pasta preference is Penne or Ziti, but Rotini and Bowtie is also good. Cest bon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Very good, except I adjusted the recipe - Added salt, pepper and garlic powder to chops before browning. Used regular cut pork chops instead of thick - should have cooked less time. Used "Herb" Pepperidge Farm stuffing. Sauteed chopped onion and about the same amount of chopped bell pepper, but not the celery. (celery was still a bit crisp and it was really good.) Used "Roasted Garlic" cream of mush. soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Sclease

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The seasonings were fine, only the method was slightly off. As others have noted don't boil the veggies in water - it's easiest to just sauté them in the butter until medium soft. I had previously simmered an entire chicken and deboned it .. Stored in the freezer for a later meal with the broth in another container. After sautéing the veggies, I added the flour and continued sautéing for 3 or 4 minutes. The only veggie addition I made was 8 oz of chunky chopped mushrooms to the veggie mixture. Add the cool broth and milk, and continue to cook until it's the thickness you want. You can also add a little Kitchen Bouquet if you want a little darker sauce. Since I was using an entire chicken, my pie was very meaty, but that's what my guys want it. I mixed about 1/2 the chicken in with the veggies, and spread the rest in the bottom of the pie pan. Then poured the mixture on top. It came out perfect. Hint: this is very similar to Chef John's chicken and biscuits recipe. You just make the chicken mixture and put biscuits on the top instead of using a double crust pie. Will certainly try this again ... Maybe even make my own crusts next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puff Pastry Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I combined this with another recipe and the results were wonderful! I sautéed asparagus pieces (instead of spinach) in butter with a little onion. Made a hollandaise sauce from a mix (instead of pesto) and then layered asparagus on one sheet of puff pastry, the salmon fillets, more asparagus, then topped with the hollandaise sauce and the second sheet of puff pastry. It took quite a while to bake and I finally put it under the broiler for a minute to brown the top but the results were beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Seafood Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I much prefer angel hair pasta with this recipe. I used 1/2 & 1/2 but I think the recipe can do without milk. The trick to this recipe is all of the herbs & spices, they really brighten the recipe. I used Progesso© brand Lobster Sauce (3 12 oz cans) as seafood stock. And yes cook the seafood separately to keep from over-cooking it. Good Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States