New Orleans - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Grilled Stuffed Chicken Thighs

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I never use garlic salt. I'd replace it with Garlic Powder. Know what would make this PERFECT? If you used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and wrapped them in bacon! So I used stuffing mix instead of the bread and chicken broth instead of Sherry. I used more broth, though, because stuffing mix is much dryer than the bread this recipe calls for. I pounded my boneless, skinless thighs a bit and stuffed them with my stuffing and wrapped them in bacon and grilled them. THAT was 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Nacho Mamas Bean Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
very good, I used dry pintos cooked and added a tsp of sugar with extra jalapeños and onion/garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramelized Baked Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I made this exasctly as written but used with drum sticks. Really good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Ponchatoula, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The flavor was pretty good. However, the cream curdled which made for an unappetizing presentation. I followed the recipe exactly except for draining the fat off the sausage. Maybe that had something to so with it, not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Broccoli Cheese Soup V

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe is perfect exactly the way it's written, though I do prefer to finely chop my onions. If I don't have enough Velveeta I'll use a good quality shredded cheddar cheese to make up the difference. Of course always taste and season to your preference. Another great alternative is to use Swiss cheese instead of the Velveeta for Broccoli Swiss Soup - Absolutely Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Super-Delicious Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I make this with turkey Italian sausage and turkey bacon bits. I also use a cup of skim milk in place of the whipping cream. It is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bullet

Best Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
I added some fresh dill and a pinch of cumin (a similar recipe on AR called for those) and it was delicious. I had the choice between yellow, purple, and orange carrots and I chose the purple one thinking it would come out purple tinted, but of course it didn't. should have used orange, lol. anyway, great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Made this yesterday. I used 1/2c regular flour and 1/2 whole wheat flour and regular milk with a bit of lemon juice. It came out pretty good. It was a little drier than expected but I think that may have been due to using the wheat flour (or I'm used to southern corn bread). Overall, I'd make it again and my husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Chana Masala (Savory Indian Chick Peas)

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
definitely needs at least a tsp of salt rather than the suggested "dash", but otherwise this was great! I'll be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Golden Rum Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
this recipe was very easy to make and absolutely delicious i used pecans instead of walnuts the cake was very moist !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Seven-Up® Cake II

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T... and found that the bottom (or the top when you flipped it out of the cake pan) was REALLY pale. I have calibrated my oven, so the temperature is exact. Not sure what happened there. My cake is two toned at this point, and this has NEVER happened to me before with a 7 Up cake. I give it 3 stars because the technique is easy, the batter comes out light and airy and the cake itself has a great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kel Jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kumquat Marmalade

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
this was my first attempt at making marmalade. I used pink grapefruit instead of oranges because that's what I had and added some fresh ginger and a little mulling spice, and it turned out beautiful and tart. I didn't change the recipe at all other than that. it was confusing to me to have the citrus slices so large. didn't seem appetizing so I put the fruit in the blender before the last gel stage to chop it up finer. if I make marmalade again I'll reference this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Vegan Pancakes

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
I've been making pancakes (vegan and non) for years and have never made pancakes as good as these. Light, fluffy and great tasting. I'd submit a photo but we ate them too fast. My only complaint is that I only got 6 pancakes from the above ingredients and we wanted more :) Will make a double batch next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brie Cheese Appetizer

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
I have made this recipe with the fruit preserves in the center and it's fantastic. But when I'm in the mood for savory I brush the inside of the dough with melted butter and sprinkle with granulated garlic (instant garlic bread) then put Zesty Red Onion Preserves (Ball's Blue Book) in the center. Talk about wonderful! There is just enough sweetness in the preserves yet it's still considered savory. Serve with garlic crostini. Let it cool down a bit before cutting so it doesn't run out all over your platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zuppa Toscana

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Cook only about 15-20 minutes after adding potato. I also used 1/2 and 1/2 as it is what I had on hand. came out great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
yes i have it was very good my family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Bullet

Rice Lasagna

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
delicious and very simple. I added a bunch of veggies (bell pepper, miniature eggplant, onion, and a separate layer of fresh spinach) plus a free more spices to make it more interesting) and used ground turkey instead of beef. Came out wonderfully, and this is cheaper to make than a more traditional lasagna. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Pudding with Praline Sauce

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaValerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bullet

Sweet Potato Sage Balls

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I've been getting a lot of sweet potatoes in my weekly produce box and I don't really like them because they're, well...sweet. I was worried these would still carry the sweetness of the potatoes, but it's totally mellow and not sweet at all. They definitely need a dip or a sauce because they're a little dry, but they're versatile so you could add anything to suit what you're making. They would probably be good as a substitute for meatballs in a red sauce pasta dish. The only thing is change would be to add salt to the mixture. It's too bland without it. I added salt afterwards while they were still hot and they were fine. I'll be experimenting with these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bullet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by miranda868

Cranberry Upside-Down Sour Cream Cake

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I would give this 5 stars with the following edits: like other reviewers I bumped the sour cream to 1 cup and added the zest of an orange to the sauce. I also put in a half tsp of vanilla extract and a half tsp of orange extract. It was a big hit for thanksgiving! And really gorgeous on the table!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States