New Orleans - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Zesty Seafood Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I much prefer angel hair pasta with this recipe. I used 1/2 & 1/2 but I think the recipe can do without milk. The trick to this recipe is all of the herbs & spices, they really brighten the recipe. I used Progesso© brand Lobster Sauce (3 12 oz cans) as seafood stock. And yes cook the seafood separately to keep from over-cooking it. Good Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I was sick yesterday and out of canned stuff so I figured I could attempt making my own. It came out pretty good, but I made substitutions based on what I had...which included a mix of chicken and vegetable broth, some frozen/canned veggies, and canned chicken (my grandmaw gave that to me, I've been wondering what to do with it). I used Italian seasoning, marjoram, and a dash of Tony's Chachere's, and I threw some angel hair pasta in the mix because I don't have egg noodles. Came out good, better than the canned stuff. Hopefully next time I can use a rotisserie chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This recipe by itself isn't very good, however, I read a bunch of the reviews and decided to use a lot of the added suggestions to come up with the best 5 star version of this recipe. I used a whole cut up chicken on the bones and with the skin. I used 3/4 cup of low sodium soy sauce, 1 1/2 tsp. brown sugar, 2 bay leaves, 1/8 cup red wine vinegar, a cup of chicken broth, a yellow onion, 2 tsp fresh ground ginger, a generous amount of granulated garlic and cracked pepper. I cooked it on high in the slow cooker for 4 hours and kept it on warm till dinner. I served it over white rice with a dark green salad and a homemade balsamic vinaigrette. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Enjoyed this recipe very much -- thanks, Katie KS! As others have noted, you can easily customize it to whatever protein/veggies you have on hand. The real star is the sauce. However, I reduced the soy sauce to 1/2 cup and I still think it was a little too salty -- even with my reduced-sodium soy sauce (but I also didn't have enough rice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe! I had to make a couple of substitutions based on what I had on hand: I didn't have tomato sauce, but I had an 8 oz can of chipotle sauce -- definitely kicked it into high gear, so not for the heat sensitive crowd. I didn't have chili beans, but had a can of charro beans to add along with the (drained, rinsed) black beans. I frequently find cooking with beer adds a bitter/metallic taste to the food, but I tempered it by adding some shredded carrot and a tsp of baking soda to counter the acidity, and it was awesome. Don't skip the beer! topped with cilantro, green onions, cheese, tortillas and sour cream for a fantastic meal. Thanks, Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Scaled the recipe to 8 for 3 pounds chicken. Replaced water with pineapple juice. I only used 1/3 of the spices (cayanne and red pepper) because I was afraid it would be too spicy. It was just right. Served this chopped in lettuce wraps. Also marinated 24 hours and baked it in the marinade for 45 minutes. Topped the lettuce wraps with pickled cucumbers and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I knocked this down to 10 servings. I thought I had red wine vinegar, but it turns out I just had red cooking wine, so I used half that and the other half rice vinegar to get the vinegar portion. Still turned out really tasty on my homemade Greek salad today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Such an easy and delicious recipe!! I throw in a little apple pie spice to the sugar/butter mixture and has come out delicious every time I've made it! I never knew baking an apple pie could be so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Not quite like the kind of cobbler my parents made, but still a very tasty and super easy cobbler recipe. I made mine with apples, and I added some vanilla and apple pie seasoning to the batter before baking. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Sugar Snap Peas

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Excellent! Of course, the snap peas themselves do not need much to make a delicious roasting veggie. I had eaten these raw and they are delicious! Roasting them brings them to a whole new level. I used some lemon thyme and added about a tablespoon of chopped onion chives. Other than that, followed the recipe to a tee. Roasted for 9 minutes at 450. My husband was more impressed with them than the main dish, which was homemade chicken tarragon crepes. That's OK. I loved them too! Will definitely make these again and again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Doha, Ad Dawhah, Qatar

CPG New Orleans Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Three suggestions: 1)The beans need to be soaked overnight to be thoroughly hydrated and cleaned - drain and refill the water after soaking. 2)Add the ham hock and cook for about 3 hours before adding the veggies and prefried/drained sausage. 3)While sauteing the veggies add a couple of large spoons of beans and mash into the veggie mixture. This flavors and slightly thickens the sauce. As a New Orleans native, I grew up eating beans and rice almost every Monday -- this is the taste I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Authentic New Orleans Red Beans and Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I liked seasoning mix -- extremely close to what I currently use -- but I put the hot sauce on the table. Three suggestions: 1)The beans need to be soaked overnight to be thoroughly hydrated and cleaned - drain and refill the water after soaking. 2)Add the ham hock and cook for about 3 hours before adding the veggies and prefried/drained sausage. 3)While sauteing the veggies add a couple of large spoons of beans and mash into the veggie mixture. This flavors and slightly thickens the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

New Orleans Barbeque Shrimp

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
We added extra beer and Worcestershire sauce for a little extra juice and served it over grits with chopped green onions over the top. No need to add butter to the grits because the sauce is perfect. French bread if you have it, but BBQ Shrimp and Grits is a great New Orleans tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen

Stuffed Peppers My Way

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
This is a good base recipe. The first time I cooked this I followed it as written but found it to be a little bland. I made it a 2nd time today and made these changes: I added a chicken bouillon cube to the water I cooked the rice in, I used 1/2 can of mild Rotel since I didn't have any fresh tomatoes, I probably doubled the Italian seasoning, and I had tomato basil feta on hand. It came out pretty yummy! Also, adding frozen corn to this is a great addition. Next time I'll probably add some ground beef or pork to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I was in a hurry when I made this cake and didn't follow the egg white/egg yolk directions as written (I beat the yolks into the whites). But it turned out OK in the end. I baked it in a 10" nonstick pan and didn't have a problem with dripping in the oven. Also, it came out of the pan beautifully. It was a bit juicy on top when done, but we just ran it through the broiler for a few minutes and it was DEVOURED by all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kale and Quinoa Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Looking for something to make with fresh kale, I saw this recipe and said "I have most of that stuff." However once I got started, I realized I had no pecans, no currents, and no feta cheese. I hate it when that happens! But necessity is the mother of invention and sometimes magic happens. I prepared the quinoa, dressing and kale as directed then used avocado, fresh strawberries and grated Swiss cheese as the replacements. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Potato Salmon Patties

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
I found these dry and not a taste I liked at all. Adding the onion without sauteing it first was a mistake -- the onion taste was completely separate .. I'd say just use onion powder if not sauteing the onion. I'd omit the potato flakes -- they didn't add anything at all, add 1/4 cup of fine chopped celery to add a slight crunchy moisture, and find a good sauce -- possibly a honey mustard or something spicey. But I won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rachael's Superheated Cajun Boiled Peanuts

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
AWESOME!!! Thanks SO much Rachael! I am a New Orleans girl relocated to Florida, I fell in love with boiled peanuts. This recipe is great! I did omit the salt because Tony Chachere's (cajun seasoning) has plenty. I also added a teaspoon of Cayenne pepper. After 12 hours I started checking for the peanuts for softness. I think everyone likes them differently. I like them soft but not too soft. Mine were done perfectly around 14 hours on low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachaels37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pressure Cooker Red Beans and Sausage-cpg

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Will not be cooked in 30 minutes -- even with overnight soaking. I only ding it for being so far off on the cooking time, and not recommending soaking the beans. Seasoning mix was very good -- fairly close to what I currently use when cooking regular stovetop beans -- I don't currently use cumin in mine, but I liked the taste with the added cumin. I usually cook my beans until soft and then fry the veggies and mash up a couple of big spoons of beans in the pan. I wondered if the beans would have the creamy textured liquid that I wanted -- they didn't. In the end, I just mashed some beans in the pot and cooked a while longer to thicken. Next time I'll do as another reviewer recommended and cook 30 minutes -- stop cooking, and use my prior method to sauté the veggies and mash some beans. Then pressure cook another 20 minutes. I will still soak overnight to clean the beans and completely hydrate the beans. I'm from New Orleans where spicy is not just hot -- 1 tablespoon of cajun was enough for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pressure Cooker Red Beans and Sausage

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Will not be cooked in 30 minutes -- even with overnight soaking. I only ding it for being so far off on the cooking time, and not recommending soaking the beans. Seasoning mix was very good -- fairly close to what I currently use when cooking regular stovetop beans -- I don't currently use cumin in mine, but I liked the taste with the added cumin. I wondered if the beans would have the creamy textured liquid that I wanted -- they didn't. In the end, I just mashed some beans in the pot and cooked a while longer to thicken. Next time I'll do as another reviewer recommended and cook 30 minutes -- stop cooking, and use my prior method to sauté the veggies and mash some beans. Then pressure cook another 20 minutes. I will still soak overnight to clean the beans and completely hydrate the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States