New Orleans - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Buckwheat Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
As a Cajun I tried this and was SUPREMELY disappointed. Dry, bland and like foam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kyle's Favorite Beef Stew

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
All this work, and then use powdered onion soup? Why? Just a little more seasoning would be better -- the recipe would probably be fine by just omitting the powdered onion soup.. As a newbie com, I'll admit to using powdered and canned seasonings, but I don't need or want them now....Chef John's recipe is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Seafood Gumbo

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Roux?!And file doesn't go in seafood gumbo. It's a thickener and the okra and roux are already thickeners. Oh wait...no roux or okra here. Add those, cut out the tomato sauce and it's not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Meh...no really. Maybe it needed time for the flavors to meld or something. I expected this to be like the restaurant dipping sauce for onion mums, etc. Tasted nothing like that
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Pasta Salad

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Add a coupla teaspoons of sweetener to salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jambalasta

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Recipe is great for the most part, but to be truly authentic 'Pastalaya' as it's called in Louisiana, firm short pasta should be used because long spaghetti, linguini, fettuccini noodles will break up and get kind of mushy. Also, Kebalsa and Cajun just don't do together Shaa, so please use Andouille or a good smoked sausage and you'll have yourself a delicious, authentic Cajun Pastalaya that everyone will love. My pasta preference is Penne or Ziti, but Rotini and Bowtie is also good. Cest bon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Stuffed Pork Chops I

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
Very good, except I adjusted the recipe - Added salt, pepper and garlic powder to chops before browning. Used regular cut pork chops instead of thick - should have cooked less time. Used "Herb" Pepperidge Farm stuffing. Sauteed chopped onion and about the same amount of chopped bell pepper, but not the celery. (celery was still a bit crisp and it was really good.) Used "Roasted Garlic" cream of mush. soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Sclease

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Pot Pie IX

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
The seasonings were fine, only the method was slightly off. As others have noted don't boil the veggies in water - it's easiest to just sauté them in the butter until medium soft. I had previously simmered an entire chicken and deboned it .. Stored in the freezer for a later meal with the broth in another container. After sautéing the veggies, I added the flour and continued sautéing for 3 or 4 minutes. The only veggie addition I made was 8 oz of chunky chopped mushrooms to the veggie mixture. Add the cool broth and milk, and continue to cook until it's the thickness you want. You can also add a little Kitchen Bouquet if you want a little darker sauce. Since I was using an entire chicken, my pie was very meaty, but that's what my guys want it. I mixed about 1/2 the chicken in with the veggies, and spread the rest in the bottom of the pie pan. Then poured the mixture on top. It came out perfect. Hint: this is very similar to Chef John's chicken and biscuits recipe. You just make the chicken mixture and put biscuits on the top instead of using a double crust pie. Will certainly try this again ... Maybe even make my own crusts next time ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Puff Pastry Salmon

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
I combined this with another recipe and the results were wonderful! I sautéed asparagus pieces (instead of spinach) in butter with a little onion. Made a hollandaise sauce from a mix (instead of pesto) and then layered asparagus on one sheet of puff pastry, the salmon fillets, more asparagus, then topped with the hollandaise sauce and the second sheet of puff pastry. It took quite a while to bake and I finally put it under the broiler for a minute to brown the top but the results were beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zesty Seafood Pasta

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I much prefer angel hair pasta with this recipe. I used 1/2 & 1/2 but I think the recipe can do without milk. The trick to this recipe is all of the herbs & spices, they really brighten the recipe. I used Progesso© brand Lobster Sauce (3 12 oz cans) as seafood stock. And yes cook the seafood separately to keep from over-cooking it. Good Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was awesome. I used the "Jane & Rich" suggestion in their Review of Jan 11, 2008, as follows: "I followed the recipe until it said to discard the marinade. I put it in a small saucepan, removed the garlic & simmered it until it was reduced to syrup. When the tenderloin had 10 minutes of cooking time remaining, I glazed it with the reduced marinade. It gave it more flavor & a nice color." The only thing I did differently was I did not remove the garlic. It was really fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Sclease

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pork Tenderloin in Bourbon

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
This was awesome. I used the "Jane & Rich" suggestion in their Review of Jan 11, 2008, as follows: "I followed the recipe until it said to discard the marinade. I put it in a small saucepan, removed the garlic & simmered it until it was reduced to syrup. When the tenderloin had 10 minutes of cooking time remaining, I glazed it with the reduced marinade. It gave it more flavor & a nice color." The only thing I did differently was I used minced garlic and did not remove it. It was really fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti Sclease

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen

Grandma's Chicken Noodle Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I was sick yesterday and out of canned stuff so I figured I could attempt making my own. It came out pretty good, but I made substitutions based on what I had...which included a mix of chicken and vegetable broth, some frozen/canned veggies, and canned chicken (my grandmaw gave that to me, I've been wondering what to do with it). I used Italian seasoning, marjoram, and a dash of Tony's Chachere's, and I threw some angel hair pasta in the mix because I don't have egg noodles. Came out good, better than the canned stuff. Hopefully next time I can use a rotisserie chicken though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Slow Cooker Adobo Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This recipe by itself isn't very good, however, I read a bunch of the reviews and decided to use a lot of the added suggestions to come up with the best 5 star version of this recipe. I used a whole cut up chicken on the bones and with the skin. I used 3/4 cup of low sodium soy sauce, 1 1/2 tsp. brown sugar, 2 bay leaves, 1/8 cup red wine vinegar, a cup of chicken broth, a yellow onion, 2 tsp fresh ground ginger, a generous amount of granulated garlic and cracked pepper. I cooked it on high in the slow cooker for 4 hours and kept it on warm till dinner. I served it over white rice with a dark green salad and a homemade balsamic vinaigrette. PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Dumplin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Prairieville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Stir-Fry

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Enjoyed this recipe very much -- thanks, Katie KS! As others have noted, you can easily customize it to whatever protein/veggies you have on hand. The real star is the sauce. However, I reduced the soy sauce to 1/2 cup and I still think it was a little too salty -- even with my reduced-sodium soy sauce (but I also didn't have enough rice.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Excellent recipe! I had to make a couple of substitutions based on what I had on hand: I didn't have tomato sauce, but I had an 8 oz can of chipotle sauce -- definitely kicked it into high gear, so not for the heat sensitive crowd. I didn't have chili beans, but had a can of charro beans to add along with the (drained, rinsed) black beans. I frequently find cooking with beer adds a bitter/metallic taste to the food, but I tempered it by adding some shredded carrot and a tsp of baking soda to counter the acidity, and it was awesome. Don't skip the beer! topped with cilantro, green onions, cheese, tortillas and sour cream for a fantastic meal. Thanks, Patti!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shoyu Chicken

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Scaled the recipe to 8 for 3 pounds chicken. Replaced water with pineapple juice. I only used 1/3 of the spices (cayanne and red pepper) because I was afraid it would be too spicy. It was just right. Served this chopped in lettuce wraps. Also marinated 24 hours and baked it in the marinade for 45 minutes. Topped the lettuce wraps with pickled cucumbers and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess124

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Absolutely Fabulous Greek/House Dressing

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I knocked this down to 10 servings. I thought I had red wine vinegar, but it turns out I just had red cooking wine, so I used half that and the other half rice vinegar to get the vinegar portion. Still turned out really tasty on my homemade Greek salad today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Such an easy and delicious recipe!! I throw in a little apple pie spice to the sugar/butter mixture and has come out delicious every time I've made it! I never knew baking an apple pie could be so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Easy Batter Fruit Cobbler

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Not quite like the kind of cobbler my parents made, but still a very tasty and super easy cobbler recipe. I made mine with apples, and I added some vanilla and apple pie seasoning to the batter before baking. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States