New Orleans - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Tetrazzini IV

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
Made exactly as the recipe called for and it is really bland.Next time I'll brown boneless skinless tenders in olive oil and butter on each side then saute diced onions, sliced green onions and minced garlic in the pan drippings. I'll double the roux in a separate pot then add more milk instead of heavy cream. The sauce should be thinner and more plentiful when put into the oven so the al dente spaghetti can absorb the liquid while keeping the casserole moist and creamy. Love the sherry and next time I'll add more to taste and use white pepper instead of black. I cooked the spaghetti in water with chicken bouillon for more flavor. It's just something I do, but not necessary. I think next time I will also add finely shredded parmesan, instead of grated, to the sauce and then top the casserole with Mozzarella or Italian Blend cheese. Another tip, Always taste the dish before putting it in the oven and adjust seasonings as needed. This sauce needed more seasoning! Everything is already cooked and warm so once it starts bubbling in the oven, it's done - it doesn't need an hour to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Graffagnino

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Dinomite's Fluffy Bites

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This recipe is awesome! Calamitous is a genius. I drizzled mine with maple syrup topped it with whip cream! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Impossible Coconut Pie II

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I absolutely LOVE this pie. A local but very popular bakery here in New Orleans (McKenzie's went out of business about 12 yrs ago) used to make an incredible custard pie. I tried for years to duplicate that crust. Now I've found it! Tried all types of ways, using every kind of pie crust, and to find out I didn't need it! I made versions with and without coconut and love them both. Now have been reading about the incredible health benefits of coconut oil, so plan to make a custard (no coconut) version using extra virgin coconut oilinstead of butter. Have started using that stuff for everything. VERY high heat point, so able to roast veggies in oven. May sound nuts, but brussels sprouts tossed in this oil and roasted is unbelievably delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUFFSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best in Show Blackberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
I am standing in my kitchen trying to figure out exactly what I did wrong. The only change I made was to substitute fresh blueberries for the blackberries. It took well over an hour to bake and when I took it out the berries were lying on top looking kind of gooey (along with the rest of the cobbler). Do the berries need to be shoved into the batter? I'm not going to toss it out, it certainly is not the best in show around here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
Simple and delicious! I used the immersion blender to smooth it out and added a dash of cumin for depth. Really, really good. (Also veggie broth to keep it meat-free).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne Pasta with Spinach and Bacon

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2015
However you slice it (sorry!), cooking bacon is a bit labor-intensive. That's the only reason I took off one point. And I can never seem to cook just 6 slices, or half a package. Three teenagers almost command a pound of bacon per person, lol. But ok, the recipe. It was very versatile. Enjoyed it as written, with the exception of tomatoes. My "adult" teens hate tomatoes. I slid by that using sun-dried tomatoes, per another review. Sauteed the onion and garlic in the barest amount of bacon grease. (Hint: here's how to dispose of bacon grease. Find a styrofoam soft drink cup, let the grease cool, and, using a funnel, pour into cup. Let grease harden and throw away.) I added a bit of Parmesan, a shake of red pepper, a tiny bit of salt -- there's bacon, after all -- and it was so delicious. Forgot to sautee the spinach -- just folded it into the final product -- but it was great as is. Thank you for this recipe! Throughly enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lysa

Aunt Blanche's Blueberry Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
I usually make the 'best of the best...' recipe on this site but decided to use this one because I didn't have enough blueberries or buttermilk for that recipe. This is a good recipe but I still prefer the best of the best because of the sugar topping. I only used 1 cup of sugar as recommended but found that it could have used more sugar so would stick to the recipe. I did add the tsp of vanilla though. It's not a bad muffin. I just prefer the other recipe so won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lysa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Waffles I

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2015
I have a gluten intolerance, so I substituted all purpose gluten free flour. They were delicious!!! Best waffles I have ever made yet!!! My husband who is not so keen on eating my gluten free food even thought they were good. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Fiegel Suriff
Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chicken Piccata

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2015
Chef John does it again! A company-worthy recipe that's also quick and easy for weeknights. I was in desperation mode tonight, trying to get something together after my 9 yr old son's basketball game. Quick Chicken Piccata recipe to the rescue! My son was too hungry to wait for the lemon/wine/butter so I just pan fried his. The final result was worth the wait (not that it took that long.) My daughters loved it, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Stuffed Chicken Breast

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
We really enjoyed this. I also laid a strip of prosciutto in the middle and laid a whole leaf of fresh basil in the middle. I also sprinkled Italian seasoning on top for the last 5 minutes of baking. There were no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chorizo Stuffed Bell Peppers

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Delicious did add some hot peppers for a bit of a kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Goat Cheese Stuffed Lamb Burgers

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Made per recipe and charcoal grilled. Very flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hot Cheesy Spinach Dip

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Added a tin of artichokes. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tabithafsu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamworth, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cream of Mushroom Soup I

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Delish! Didn't have sherry so added a dash of nutmeg and a dash of cumin. "A delicately nuanced soup with layers of intricate flavors for the discerning gourmet." I made that up myself. It's just real, real good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MizMagg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Fried Rice II

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
Yum! I cut a fresh pineapple instead of using canned, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonika

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
We really enjoyed these. I used thin-cut breasts and deglazed the pan with white wine before adding the whipping cream (I used low-fat half and half and it came out great). My only issue was that it didn't have enough sauce, despite the fact that I doubled it. But the flavors worked really well together and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Double Chocolate Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
It was way too loose and the only way I could get it to become a little more stiff was to freeze it. The taste was super awesome. Just couldn't keep it to hold. I read all the other reviews and followed the recipe exactly again and see what happens. If anyone has any advice, PLEASE post it. I'm really confused.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by graysin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
Super easy. Very good. I asked my husband if this was a keeper recipe and got an "Oh God, Yes."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Slaughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Was a bit bland as written, but a couple dashes of Tony's made a big difference. Because I used uncooked shrimp, I sauteed those first in butter/garlic till pink. Sprinkled liberally with Tony's before I cooked. Removed from pan, started pasta water. Meanwhile, in same shrimp pan, added 1.5 cups of low-fat half n half, a T of water/cornstarch, more Tony's, and shredded Parmesan along the way. Added a splash of white wine, too. After it reduced, I added the fettuccine and then the shrimp. Green onions and/or shallots would've been a nice addition, too. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Smooth Sweet Tea

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Great recipe, I cut the sugar about 2 tablespoons, but it's such an insignificant amount I still give the recipe 5 stars. I love sweet tea and this definitely satisfies my craving, and this is coming from someone raised in Louisiana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Picayune, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States