Monroe, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Foil Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These were quick and easy side dish. I made them last night with steaks and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizsweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. This is the BEST soup. I used a bit of cream with the milk to give it a creamier taste, but I think it'd be just as good with the milk. WOW. Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Best soup i've had in quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney.hirschinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was fantastic, although I did alter quite a bit. I used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon, and fat free evaporated milk. I did not add white pepper or dried dill weed. Instead I bought one of those baked potato four cheese seasoning mixes and added it in with the water and chicken broth. I didn't measure out the salt, I just tasted and added to my liking. It's amazing how thick and creamy and rich this soup was. My boyfriend and I were stuffed after one bowl! We topped ours with a spoonful of sour cream and a handful of sharp cheddar cheese! Yum! I definitely recommend this recipe, and don't be afraid to add your own spin to it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney.hirschinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent!! ~ Served this salad for a friends Bridal Shower, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Wonderful Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Wonderful! My husband actually liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mc Calla, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This chicken recipe was fantastic, even my kids ate it! The chicken was very moist and the flavor was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mc Calla, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Sugar Cookie Icing

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
I LOVED this icing! It worked great for icing Christmas cookies. I had no trouble making it at all, and it is true to its' description...it dries hard and shiny with bright colors! I used gel food coloring and it turned out wonderfully. The kids made a mess (what was I thinking making 8 colors, including black?). But they had a blast and I think that it was really easy for them to use. We used a multitude of "tools"...skewers for detail, spoons for large areas, and plastic knives for spreading. They had a blast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Cream Cheese Danish

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Those of you who think there is too much filling aren't cream cheese lovers. I thought about halving the filling, but didn't & I am glad that I didn't. I think without that much cream cheese it would of just tasted like a crescent roll. I had a bit too much crescent roll, maybe it was just the brand or that it was 10.1 ounces who knows. I just trimmed it off. The only thing I changed was I added about a tablespoon of the filling to the topping....very good!!! I didn't wait for it to cool before trying.. though I am thinking it will taste better that way..we shall see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Famous Butter Chicken

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Maybe it is just me, but it was toooo sweet. Ritz crackers are really sweet & then add all that butter.... It was edible, but I wouldn't fix it again. There are better ways of cooking chicken for it to come out moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Mice

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This recipe was just okay. Having made something very similiar before. I had high expectations. I use hershey kisses as the head, and then make chocolate covered cherries (leaving the stem out for the tail).. I still use almonds for ears.. and then a red icing pen for the nose. You can roll in cocoa, but I am not really big on that flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

General Tsao's Chicken

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
DON'T TRY THE CHICKEN WITHOUT THE SAUCE. Wow... I just made hubby go and run and get something else for dinner. As the chicken didn't look or taste good. Now I am sitting here sneaking bites because it tastes better with the sauce. I would NEVER cook the chicken like this again. It tastes just like soy sauce...yuck. Instead i will just use the same method I do for my sweet & sour chicken. The sauce is wonderful. I didnt use the peppers, but used crushed red pepper. And unless you like something super spicy...i wouldnt put too much. Some people were like use 2 tbl...ummm no. I just shook it until it looked good & it was way less than 2 tlb (like some suggested) & still VERY spicy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Green Tomatoes with Shrimp Remoulade

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I live in New Orleans and took this recipe to Grand Isle with me this weekend. I bought shrimp (right off the shrimp boat) and took fresh green tomatoes from my Mom's garden. I made this to go with the boiled crabs we caught early in the morning. Everyone raved over it! And believe me, those Cajuns know good food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvdemsaints

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Men Love This Steak

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
5 stars +++!!! I made this for my boyfriend last night and all I heard him say was "yummmm, yummmm, yummmm". Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvdemsaints

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Kettle Corn

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I just finished making this recipe minutes ago. The three kernels test is a good way to start the first batch. I placed the oil in the pan, then the popcorn. Once the oil starts to sizzle then, sprinkle the sugar over the popcorn. Leave as much of the top of the pot open as possible and use the 3 seconds on, 3 seconds off the fire rule. FANTASTIC!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle-Lime Dressing

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These are so delicious!! I made these while camping. I grilled the fish and served on corn tortillas with shredded green cabbage and that incredible Chipotle-Lime sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Excellent!!! Light, fluffy and very easy to make. I made one change, I used Bread Flour instead of All Purpose, that's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Potato Chips

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I am always skeptical about microwave recipes, but I was hungry and had unused potatoes. So I gave it a try. I just sprayed a pan, laid out the potato slivers and then sprayed again with pam. The easiest way to make the potato chips if you don't have the mandilin, then use a peeler. Takes a little practice, but works perfectly fine. I seasoned with a little lemon pepper, salt, and cajun seasoning...yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ultimate Breakfast Casserole

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Great recipe! I found this recipe last week and have already made it twice. I changed a few things to make it lowfat, I replaced some of the ingredients with healthy choice cream of mushroom, lowfat sour cream, egg beaters, a lb of venison sausage, low fat cheese, and no butter. It came out terrific! The rest I kept the same. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sticky Buns II

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I cannot understand how this recipe gets such great reviews. The major problem is the dough. Once I mixed everything together (and I measure everything precisely) the dough wasn't anywhere NEAR stiff enough to knead, let alone roll out. It didn't even "pull together" like dough does. I had to add more flour, which I did a little at a time, just to be able to get it out of the bowl in one piece. All in all, I probably added at least another 1 1/2 cups of flour, which I also added in a smidge of extra baking powder and salt to accomadate for. There has to be something wrong with the measurments in the ingredient list, a typo maybe? Secondly, the filling isn't sticky at all. What didn't spill out onto the top of the muffin pan and burn, was dry and hard. And I even pulled it out of the oven almost 10 minutes early, because I smelled burnt sugar. The reason I'm giving this recipe 2 stars is because after everything, the "sticky buns" tasted ok. They were edible. Not a recipe I will ever use again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rosemary Ranch Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-71 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States