Monroe, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Florentine Casserole

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This has become my goto recipe when company comes. Delicious! I am definitely going to try it with shrimp. This & some Cheddar Bay Biscuits from this site and your company will rave over it. Thanks for an awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvdemsaints

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Pasta Primavera

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This Pasta Primavera tasted great! My kids even loved it! The veggie soup gave it a really good taste, but I wish the vegetables were fresher tasting and heartier. But, all-in-all, this is a very good, fast recipe for a busy weeknight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Barbie's Tuna Salad

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I used canned chicken instead of tuna and reduced-fat mayo instead of the regular mayo. It tasted great! Because of all the great flavors, I may try the fat-free mayo next time to try to cut down on the total amount of fat grams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hernando, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Thin Mint Crackers

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Wow!! I used Chocolate Wafer Cookies and dipped them in melted Bittersweet Chocolate and I added one teaspoon of peppermint extract. I used the cold cookie sheet lined with waxed paper. Refrigerate! These are delicious and better than GS Thin Mint Cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Easy OREO Truffles

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Excellent!! I used the food processor to crush the cookies to make a nice fine crumble. Once I mixed in the cream cheese I refrigerated the cookie mix for about 30 minutes, rolled them in balls and refrigerated again before dripping them into a mixture of melted milk&white chocolate. Then rolled then into chopped walnuts (used food processor). A-ma-zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Mom's Chocolate Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This pie set really well, but I changed just a couple of things. 1. I used 1 tbsp. of real butter to stir in just before pouring into crust to make it more silky. 2. I cooked the filling a little longer than 2 minutes, because it needed it. 3. I used 8 eggs whites for the meringue, because it needed more. Other than those minor things, it's perfect. First time I've EVER had a chocolate pie set well enough that it made clean slices and did not run into the pie plate. The flavor was really good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Meatball Nirvana

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been looking for a meatball recipe for as long as I've been cooking---at least 25 years! I can't ground pork where I live, so I used 80/20 sirloin. These were by far the best meatballs I have EVER made. I only used 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes and they were still too hot for me---but other than that, they were perfect. I didn't change a thing, except I used Club cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. These meatballs were reminiscent of Flora's, an old Italian eatery I frequented as a kid. I've been trying to reproduce that flavor. These are so moist, not dry at all (I mixed everything for about 20 seconds with my hand mixer to keep it from getting dense and tough). I cannot wait to try them on crusty Italian bread with marinara and melted mozzarella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DUGARNER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Original Nestle® Toll House® Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Would have been 5 stars except for the consistency of the dough. I've made enough chocolate chip cookies to know that made as per the instructions, this cookie dough is way too soft. It's almost to the point of being soupy. I added about 4-5 tbsp. of flour just to get it right. I think refrigerating it would have made some difference, but not enough. Other than that, the recipe is perfect! Some people were saying to omit 1/2 of the salt, but I did not do that. I think that you need a good amount of salt in any dessert recipe, esp. when including chocolate, because it brings out the flavor. It isn't too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
This was better than I expected it to be! Me and my husband chowed like there wuttin' no tomorrow! :) keeping this in my recipe box permanently! Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
I had never made home-made spaghetti sauce before and am I glad I chose this one as my first! I followed the recipe almost exact, made a huge pot for family and company. It was all eaten! Our family loves italian sausage so I added some to the meatballs. Very, very good recipe! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvdemsaints

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

Banana Crepes

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I made these this morning. I didn't make the banana part but the crepe was simple, delicious and came out beautiful. Thanks for the recipe!!! Will definitley be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizsweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Chinese Chicken Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
OMG! I just made this, I mean I am eating it as I type this. It tastes just like Chinese should taste like. It was so simple and I had all of the ingredients in my cabinet. I follwed the recipe exactly except for the cilantro, I used green onion instead. My four year old is even eating it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizsweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foil Wrapped Veggies

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Made these tonight and it was a hit. The flavor was amazing. I just used regular potatoes, sweet potatoes, vidalia onion, red and yellow bell pepper. A great side with almost any main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizsweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

BLT Salad

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was a great salad especially the dressing. I was getting so tired of ranch they all started to taste funny. This simple but flavorful dressing is just what I was looking for. I made sort of a wedge salad because I did not have romaine. It was better than the restuarant wedge salads that I have tried. Thanks I will be using this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizsweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Foil Potatoes

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These were quick and easy side dish. I made them last night with steaks and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizsweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Oh. My. Goodness. This is the BEST soup. I used a bit of cream with the milk to give it a creamier taste, but I think it'd be just as good with the milk. WOW. Amazing. Absolutely amazing. Best soup i've had in quite a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney.hirschinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
This was fantastic, although I did alter quite a bit. I used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon, and fat free evaporated milk. I did not add white pepper or dried dill weed. Instead I bought one of those baked potato four cheese seasoning mixes and added it in with the water and chicken broth. I didn't measure out the salt, I just tasted and added to my liking. It's amazing how thick and creamy and rich this soup was. My boyfriend and I were stuffed after one bowl! We topped ours with a spoonful of sour cream and a handful of sharp cheddar cheese! Yum! I definitely recommend this recipe, and don't be afraid to add your own spin to it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by whitney.hirschinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Excellent!! ~ Served this salad for a friends Bridal Shower, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Wonderful Waffles

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Wonderful! My husband actually liked this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Westrom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
This chicken recipe was fantastic, even my kids ate it! The chicken was very moist and the flavor was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi Westrom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States