Monroe, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

The World's Best Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This will be my 1st Turkey to cook..just wondering about the meat thermometer....how do you read it if it's in the bag?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brilliant Potatoes With Paprika and Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had some cans of potatoes that my Mom had given me. Had no idea what to do with them having never used them before. I googled and this recipe popped up. Great one and so easy. They tasted fresh. No one could tell they were canned. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Hill Masters

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Rosemary Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
didn't like too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I followed the recipe to a "t" with the exception of the zuccini and celery and it came out dry. Im not sure what I could have done to keep it from getting dry during the baking time. :/ any suggestions? It was ok. not as good as I was hoping it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chicken Parmesan Bundles

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I cooked this last night and my husband could hardly eat for telling me "how good it was". Even at bedtime he was still talking about it. My 19 yr old son gave it 10/10!. I added fresh parsley and basil along with garlic granules to stuffing, mixed Italian bread crumbs with Ritz! FABULOUS AND PRESENTS WELL....LOOKS LIKE SOMETHING FROM FINE DINING RESTAURANT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This is fantastic and so easy to put together and very economical with only 5 ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant and Lamb Stew

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I substituted 1 can stewed tomatoes, Used garlic salt in same measurement as regular salt.Added shoulder joint and 600 gms of cubed lamb (as others suggested was not enough lamb).Cut eggplant in large chunks, placed in cockpot was bland at first but spices built on my palate and it became more flavorful. served with cornbread...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leftover Turkey Casserole

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
It's just my husband and myself so a 20lb turkey leaves for alot of leftover turkey! :) I found this recipe and just had to try it. My husband and I ate it up like nothing else! :) It was soooo good! Definately going to be a staple in our recipe box from now on! In fact, Im making it again tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chicken Florentine Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Made this last night for the hubby and served with potatoes and toasted garlic bread topped with mozzerella cheese :) The only change I made on the recipe was that I used 1 can of spinach instead of 2. Im not a huge spinach eater anyway, but had I used 2, I feel it would have been way too much. The hubby devoured this and I caught him eating out of the baking dish! ;) He said it was one of his favorite meals Ive made. Definately recommend this recipe! :) Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Spicy Basil Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious! I was looking for a recipe to recreate my favorite meal from our local Thai restaurant. This was right on the money. I couldn't find the chiles, so I used a Thai chili sauce instead. Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Dragland Nix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fire Side Coffee

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Makes a cute Homemade Christmas Gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Swedish Cookies (Brunscrackers)

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are excellent!! They spread so I place each log on a separate cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Steve's Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
best mushrooms i ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyirishman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Coconut Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
DEE-licious!!! I used coconut cake mixes and made my 3 year old's pirate cake. Colored the cool whip blue for ocean water and the cake was a HUGE hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I have used this recipe several times. First off, it tastes AMAZING! It is the perfect combination of richness without being too heavy or too sweet. If you're like most of my family, and you cringe at the sweetness of buttercream halfway thru a slice of cake, you WILL love this flavor. I can just about eat this straight out of the bowl, if I didn't know better. I have made this with and without altering the recipe by substituting powdered sugar. It is slightly firmer with powdered sugar (do add 1 3/4 C. instead of 1 C). I should also mention that I do freeze my metal mixing bowl and balloon whisk attachment prior to beating the cream (old trick I've used for years anyway). I whip the cream first, then transfer it into another bowl, then it goes into the freezer while I mixed the cream cheese and sugar. Once I take my whipped cream out of the freezer and mix them together in the metal mixer bowl, I return it to the freezer until I frost my cake. I don't leave it long enough to freeze, maybe 15 minutes tops. But the chill helps it to stay firm, I'm sure. My favorite way to use this recipe is as a filling/frosting for a layered strawberry shortcake. Amazing flavors! My only complaint is that everyone asks for this cake for their birthday and it isn't exactly a fun one to decorate. I much prefer playing around with buttercream and fondant so it would be NICE if someone would ask for a regular cake one day! Not that it has anything to do with this recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Pancakes II

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Yumm-o! Going into my regular rotation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sticky Munky Bread

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I used Rhodes frozen dinner roll dough and it was SCRUMPTIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Ooey Gooey Breakfast Rolls

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I used Rhodes frozen dinner roll dough and it was SCRUMPTIOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Caramel-Apple Crisp

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Best Apple "pie" like dessert...EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campbell's® Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I had always heard of Green Bean Casserole being a traditional family gathering dish, but had never made it, or had it. We were having a family get together so I decided to give it a try. I followed the recipe exactly, and was overwhelmed by the blandness! I wish I had given this recipe a trial run before serving to guests! This will not be part of our family tradition! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 21-40 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States