Monroe, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken Florentine Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Made this last night for the hubby and served with potatoes and toasted garlic bread topped with mozzerella cheese :) The only change I made on the recipe was that I used 1 can of spinach instead of 2. Im not a huge spinach eater anyway, but had I used 2, I feel it would have been way too much. The hubby devoured this and I caught him eating out of the baking dish! ;) He said it was one of his favorite meals Ive made. Definately recommend this recipe! :) Happy Eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Slow-Cooker Pepper Steak

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
Needs more umph!. Will add red pepper flakes and ginger next time like others suggested. Otherwise excellent base recipe. I'm from the south and we like things spicy here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Basil Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Delicious! I was looking for a recipe to recreate my favorite meal from our local Thai restaurant. This was right on the money. I couldn't find the chiles, so I used a Thai chili sauce instead. Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Dragland Nix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Adding this to the rotation. It was a hit with the family. Some ate it as tacos, some as nachos, others as burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fire Side Coffee

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Makes a cute Homemade Christmas Gift!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Swedish Cookies (Brunscrackers)

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
These are excellent!! They spread so I place each log on a separate cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Slow Cooker Tamale Pie

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
lacking on all counts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I did the entire recipe without any pre-cooking. Placed in fridge overnight and cooked it as specified. Excellent. Will put this in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Ever Meatloaf I

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Everyone loved it and asked for seconds. Will be putting this into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Onion Meat Loaf

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Loved by all. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheeseburger Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Family loved it. Used bowtie pasta and added an extra can of petite diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Steve's Stuffed Mushrooms

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
best mushrooms i ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyirishman

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mini Tacos

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Excellent. Sprayed tins prior to baking as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Coconut Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
DEE-licious!!! I used coconut cake mixes and made my 3 year old's pirate cake. Colored the cool whip blue for ocean water and the cake was a HUGE hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chow Mein Noodle Casserole

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Burrito Pie

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Good hearty meal. Used corn tortillas because that's what I had. Added chili powder also. Tastes like a tamale pie. MMM good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
I have used this recipe several times. First off, it tastes AMAZING! It is the perfect combination of richness without being too heavy or too sweet. If you're like most of my family, and you cringe at the sweetness of buttercream halfway thru a slice of cake, you WILL love this flavor. I can just about eat this straight out of the bowl, if I didn't know better. I have made this with and without altering the recipe by substituting powdered sugar. It is slightly firmer with powdered sugar (do add 1 3/4 C. instead of 1 C). I should also mention that I do freeze my metal mixing bowl and balloon whisk attachment prior to beating the cream (old trick I've used for years anyway). I whip the cream first, then transfer it into another bowl, then it goes into the freezer while I mixed the cream cheese and sugar. Once I take my whipped cream out of the freezer and mix them together in the metal mixer bowl, I return it to the freezer until I frost my cake. I don't leave it long enough to freeze, maybe 15 minutes tops. But the chill helps it to stay firm, I'm sure. My favorite way to use this recipe is as a filling/frosting for a layered strawberry shortcake. Amazing flavors! My only complaint is that everyone asks for this cake for their birthday and it isn't exactly a fun one to decorate. I much prefer playing around with buttercream and fondant so it would be NICE if someone would ask for a regular cake one day! Not that it has anything to do with this recipe! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~~Jenn~~

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Pancakes II

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Yumm-o! Going into my regular rotation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Green Chili Enchiladas

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Tasty and easy to make. Will be making again soon. Family loves it and I will definitely put this recipe into the rotation of meals. I made 4 trays of 4 and freeze for busy days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Quick Egg Roll Dipping Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
Excellent. I added 2 T. of brown sugar and doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States