Monroe, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
I cooked these a few weeks ago for my husband and myself, He is not a big fan of ribs but he love these, they were delicious..I am cooking about 8lbs of ribs for Father's Day. Should I increase the cooking time? I will be cooking on a gas grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni L

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Best Toffee Ever - Super Easy

Reviewed: May 5, 2015
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Curry Stand Chicken Tikka Masala Sauce

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I made this last week exactly as written and we loved it. I made it again this week, and the only thing I changed was to DOUBLE everything so that I could freeze a batch for next week! This is PERFECT!!! It makes step #1 easier to have all of your spices measured out before you ever start cooking the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Tangy Apple Chicken Loaf

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I tasted like holiday stuffing, but had the texture of a meatloaf. We did not care for it. I used chicken, and followed the recipe exactly. The glaze was good, but not enough. It needed some sort of pour over sauce, but I couldn't identify what... maybe chicken gravy, or cranberry sauce?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Chinese Fried Noodles

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
We LOVED this!!! I agree, you don't need so many steps. You can just push your veggies aside, scramble the egg; and then push the egg aside to stir fry the noodles. I used one packet of the seasoning mix and about 3 tbsp of soy sauce. I did not have vegetable or sesame oil. I used sunflower oil for the whole thing and it was wonderful! One thing I seriously disagree about; this was not six servings. I'd say four servings, tops! My family of three ate every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Mission Mexican Pizza

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
As other reviewers suggested, I added taco seasoning to the beef, and used salsa instead of pizza sauce. My kid, who seems to get pickier every day, gobbled it up... so that's good enough for me! This one's going into regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This has become my standard deviled egg recipe. If I don't have celery, I'll substitute dried celery flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Grandma's Gingersnap Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
We devoured these! I followed the recipe exactly, and they are perfect! I didn't get five dozen, only four dozen. I guess I rolled them a tiny bit bigger, but the 10 minute cooking time was still just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Bacon-Wrapped Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
husband loved what these and so did i! I did not wrap the poppers in bacon...instead i cooked the bacon and then crumbled it on top of the cream cheese/cheddar cheese mix. was fantabulous! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chicken Enchiladas I

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
ok so i always read reviews BEFORE trying a new recipe. So the 5 stars is NOT for the exact recipe posted but because my husband LOVED what I made! ;) So heres what I did: i poached my chicken using red wine vinegar, 2 chicken bouillon cubes, minced garlic, salt, pepper and onion powder. I shredded the chicken and then I put some olive oil in a skillet and put the chicken, chili powder, pepper, salt, sour cream, parsley and oregano. I SKIPPED the water and tomato sauce. instead I added 1/4 cup of salsa and 1 can UNDRAINED rotel tomatoes and added a little more cheese :) Then rolled them in the tortillas used ENCHILADA sauce instead of taco sauce. cooked as according to the original recipe. served with sourcream on top and a little extra cheese and a side of yellow rice and jalapeno poppers. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by RPeters

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Perfectly Moist, delicate and delicious!! Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Strawberries and Cream Trifle

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This recipe is BEST! when you use fresh whipped cream instead of Cool Whip. Basic yellow cake, baked , cooled and cubed. Instead of Angel Food which is very sweet and has no texture. And topped with a few toasted sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is wonderful! I stuck mostly to the recipe, but used what I had on hand: drumsticks, dried parsley and seasoned panko breadcrumbs. Juicy and flavorful all the way to the bone! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
amazing!! the only thing i did different was add bit more broth...i wanted it a little soupier ;) making again for tonights dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Quick Chili I

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
hubby and i loved this! the only thing i did differently was I used 2 cans of kidney beans instead of 1, did not use the pinto beans. I used crushed tomatoes instead diced and omitted the tomato sauce. Turned out brilliant! I also made homemade beer bread to go with it! PERFECT for that cold night! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Loved this frosting, you can actually taste the cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Swiss Chard with Feta

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe to the T, and it was delicious! And pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VI

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This cookie is crispy and has a very good texture. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, walnuts and changed the flour to 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup all purpose flour. Will make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Car Bomb Cocktail

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I am not a beer drinker, but this tastes like chocolate milk. As another reviewer stated you have to chug it or it curdles. I live in Ireland and when in the USA introduced this to my Irish husband. He had never heard of it and we got him so drunk, the next morning before awake he was shouting "INCOMING"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Slade Talbot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States