Monroe, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by RPeters

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Perfectly Moist, delicate and delicious!! Don't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Strawberries and Cream Trifle

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This recipe is BEST! when you use fresh whipped cream instead of Cool Whip. Basic yellow cake, baked , cooled and cubed. Instead of Angel Food which is very sweet and has no texture. And topped with a few toasted sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RPeters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Oven Fried Parmesan Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
This is wonderful! I stuck mostly to the recipe, but used what I had on hand: drumsticks, dried parsley and seasoned panko breadcrumbs. Juicy and flavorful all the way to the bone! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
amazing!! the only thing i did different was add bit more broth...i wanted it a little soupier ;) making again for tonights dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Quick Chili I

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
hubby and i loved this! the only thing i did differently was I used 2 cans of kidney beans instead of 1, did not use the pinto beans. I used crushed tomatoes instead diced and omitted the tomato sauce. Turned out brilliant! I also made homemade beer bread to go with it! PERFECT for that cold night! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Cream Cheese Frosting II

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Loved this frosting, you can actually taste the cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Swiss Chard with Feta

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe to the T, and it was delicious! And pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Good for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies VI

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This cookie is crispy and has a very good texture. I added cinnamon, nutmeg, walnuts and changed the flour to 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup all purpose flour. Will make again :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Irish Car Bomb Cocktail

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I am not a beer drinker, but this tastes like chocolate milk. As another reviewer stated you have to chug it or it curdles. I live in Ireland and when in the USA introduced this to my Irish husband. He had never heard of it and we got him so drunk, the next morning before awake he was shouting "INCOMING"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Rich Italian Sausage and Potato Soup

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Yum! I used spicy Italian sausage and I loved it! I also used regular bacon because I'm not sure what pancetta is. One warning, once you slice up the sausage, it's really hard to "set it aside." I nibbled the whole time the potatoes were cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice of Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

OREO Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I had trouble with these...mine definitely don't look like the photo but I gave it my best shot. Would be nice if some of the tricks of the trade were shared. My oreos stuck together even after refrigeration for 15 min as instructed at bottom of recipe. Spreading the filling "dirtied" the cream. My semisweet chips cooled as I was working with them and reheating in microwave did not work for me. I melted a chocolate bar 90% cocoa and this stayed nice and silky. I tried brushing chocolate on Oreo but my brush hardened, so I used a baby feeding spoon. I put a few in freezer as I worked on others, then assembled. Great idea, time consuming...would appreciate some hints...probably my ineptness :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

The World's Best Turkey

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This will be my 1st Turkey to cook..just wondering about the meat thermometer....how do you read it if it's in the bag?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Brilliant Potatoes With Paprika and Caramelized Onions

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I had some cans of potatoes that my Mom had given me. Had no idea what to do with them having never used them before. I googled and this recipe popped up. Great one and so easy. They tasted fresh. No one could tell they were canned. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Hill Masters

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Marinated Rosemary Chicken

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
didn't like too much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lentil Rice and Veggie Bake

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I followed the recipe to a "t" with the exception of the zuccini and celery and it came out dry. Im not sure what I could have done to keep it from getting dry during the baking time. :/ any suggestions? It was ok. not as good as I was hoping it would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Chicken Parmesan Bundles

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I cooked this last night and my husband could hardly eat for telling me "how good it was". Even at bedtime he was still talking about it. My 19 yr old son gave it 10/10!. I added fresh parsley and basil along with garlic granules to stuffing, mixed Italian bread crumbs with Ritz! FABULOUS AND PRESENTS WELL....LOOKS LIKE SOMETHING FROM FINE DINING RESTAURANT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This is fantastic and so easy to put together and very economical with only 5 ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant and Lamb Stew

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
I substituted 1 can stewed tomatoes, Used garlic salt in same measurement as regular salt.Added shoulder joint and 600 gms of cubed lamb (as others suggested was not enough lamb).Cut eggplant in large chunks, placed in cockpot was bland at first but spices built on my palate and it became more flavorful. served with cornbread...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Leftover Turkey Casserole

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
It's just my husband and myself so a 20lb turkey leaves for alot of leftover turkey! :) I found this recipe and just had to try it. My husband and I ate it up like nothing else! :) It was soooo good! Definately going to be a staple in our recipe box from now on! In fact, Im making it again tonight! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifersheremetta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

Displaying results 1-20 (of 71) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States