Metairie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chicken, Stuffing and Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
kind of bland and soupy... so will have to mess around with this recipe to make it a little better next time if we decide to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Puffs

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
it was a huge hit with my family!!! added a lil more garlic, salt pepper, and some homemade seasoning that i have. also used round cresent rolls which makes it very easy to fill, just flatten out and put the filling in there. for the most part was a very good base recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
reminded me of chili a lot but still pretty good! i changed it a little by browning the meat and preparing with the taco seasoning before adding it. also decided using a can of beer instead of the water which added some good flavor, using only chili beans (we aren't a big bean family) and omitting the corn. Used a can of tomatoes with habenaro peppers added in, and one can with tomatoes and green chilies. Was spicy but very good. toped with sour cream, cheese and tortilla chips. then sprinkled with chives. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Fettuccine Alfredo

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I thought that this was a really great recipe!!!! Although I did make a few changes... i used olive oil to saute the shrimp and garlic along with the onions and green/red peppers I added.. I actually used 5 cloves of garlic and didnt use salt and pepper..I used creole seasoning to taste instead. After the sauce thinckened I added some green onions and sprinkled some shredded chedder cheese..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pearl River, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

Tiramisu Layer Cake

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
always a hit!!! everyone wants to know the recipe. delicious, rich, and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Man Pleasin' Jambalaya

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
no where close to the jambalaya that we cook in the south.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Veggie Lasagna Florentine

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I'm sorry I don't like to give negative reviews, but I didn't care for this recipe. The spinach filling was too sparse, and the tomato sauce was overpowering. Maybe cooking it longer than 15 minutes and increasing the spinach filling would have helped. Also the veggies in the sauce almost disappeared. I might make it again with these changes. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Blueberry Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
AMAAAAAAZZZZING cake! Made it for Sunday dinner; it couldn't have been easier or quicker! I skipped the lemon sauce (no time) and we ate it with vanilla and fudge ripple ice cream. The only change I made was 1 cup each white and whole wheat flour. Used a gentle hand mixing everything, and the end result was a gorgeous, fluffy cake. Can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sandy's Chocolate Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This cake was a HUGE hit at a co-worker's birthday party; I had to cut tiny slices because I invited about 20 people to partake (me and my big mouth!). It's the BEST chocolate thing to wrap your lips around, and everyone raved. The frosting is incredible - we thought we died and went to Heaven! I had no problem putting it together, but I baked the cake one night and frosted it the next, so it had a little time to set up. Thanks a million from a bunch of chocoholics!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Egg Casserole

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
I've been making a similar version..I saute chopped onions, garic & bell peppers. I also add cubed potatoes that I brown before adding, and I put crumbled bacon on top after taking out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: La Place, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I saw this recipe yesterday and went home and made it last night. A-FREAKIN-MAZING!!!!! The only thing I didn't add was sherry (didn't have any) but tossed in a handful of frozen shrimp before finishing. The cauliflower would be great on its own as a side dish as well. It doesn't make an enormous pot of soup (as I'm used to making) but that's OK. DELICIOUS, DELICIOUS, DELICIOUS!!!!! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Crab Pasta Salad

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I made this and think that it is a great recipe!! One thing I changed is that i did 1/2 cup of half mayonnaise and half sourcream instead of a 1/2 cup of just mayonnaise and I added red onions chopped up really fine and left out the tomatoes. I also used real crabmeat instead of imitation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ASHLEY

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pearl River, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

Italian Cream Cake I

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was a delicious finish to Easter dinner. My family RAVED, and my sister-in-law, a professional chef, requested it for her birthday! I took the leftovers to work, and made some lucky co-workers very happy. Thanks for a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC

Country Pumpkin Muffins

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Good muffin, just missing a little something to put it over the top. If I can find a light frosting or glaze that goes with pumpkin I might raise the score to 5 stars. The raisins and walnuts don't overpower the pumpkin. Its quite good overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I had my doubts, but it worked out just fine. I made it according to the recipe and I thought the dressing was a little overpowering. I then drizzled a little olive oil on it and it was much better. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC

Maple Salmon

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Good dish for a non-fish eater. The maple syrup adds a little sweetness and cuts down on the fishy taste. Don't be afraid of the garlic...as it cooks, the garlic loses its pungency and actually acquires a mellower taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cake Cookies

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Oh baby!!! I have tinkered and experimented with other cookie recipes and this one really is the best. Mine didn't flatten as they baked so they came out really ugly...but who cares when they taste like this! My only change was to reduce the chocolate chips to 1 cup since I also crammed in a cup of walnuts. Enough talk...must get another cookie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Kelly's Butterscotch Pudding

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Much better than packaged pudding. Its worth it if you have the time and want to try it from scratch. Don't expect the overly strong, pre-processed taste. This butterscotch flavor is more subtle. I was a little paranoid about the tempering part but it turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Turtle Candy

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
A little messy, but very good. To make caramel and chocolate chips easier to work with, heat them in a bowl with a bit of milk. Just keep adding milk and heat until they get to a workable consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RussellC

Panhandle Grits

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
Very tasty and filling...but there's a lot of chopping involved! Makes a good breakfast or side dish. I was getting a bad feeling when I was cooking the grits themselves, but it all came together when I returned the meat and cheese (but then again, doesn't bacon solve most of the world's problems!). Heeding another reviewer's comment, I seeded and dried the tomatoes before I cooked them. They still tinged the dish slightly red, but it didn't taste like tomato sauce. I also reduced the amount of ingredients to 1/3 (just 2 servings) and it still made a lot for two people. Overall it was a good dish, but it took me an hour and twenty minutes from start to finish. Good dish for a weekend meal, but too much for me to handle during the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States