Metairie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

White Chocolate Macadamia Nut Cookies III

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I refrigerated the dough before baking (one night make the cookie doughs, bake another night) and rolled into walnut-sized balls. They spread a little, but stayed small and neat, and were DELICIOUS!!!! My man said they were the best cookies he'd ever tasted. Two thumbs wayyyy up - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Wine Cookies (Original Italian)

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I hate to give a negative review, but these cookies didn't do it for me. In 25+ years of Christmas cookie baking and trying countless recipes, I've never thrown away a batch of cookies, but these were the first. I'd like to try again with a sweeter wine and more sugar, but I have so many other recipes that I love. Good thing there were so few ingredients. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Jamaican Me Crazy Chili

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This hit all the right spots - easy, tasty and different. It made a huge pot, which I shared with co-workers and family. YUMMYYYY!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I usually prefer a more complicated cookie, but I was helping a friend make sugar cookies for her new man's birthday. We didn't roll them in sugar, but made a small batch of cookies and a cookie cake (which came out fantastic). They reminded me of shortbread, and the texture was gorgeous! I think they'd be fun to experiment with too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cherries in the Snow Cake I

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I made this cake tonight and just finished having some. Wow! It was delicious. All three of us had second helpings. I thought the cherries might turn the cake too sour, but the combination of the vanilla pudding and yellow cake with the cherries was perfect. Do make sure you use the pan size specified. Mine was too small, so once the cake was cooled, I put it on a cookie sheet and then added the toppings. Absolutely delicious!! I definitely will make this again. I doubt the leftovers will last very long! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken and Rice Soup II

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
really yummy, just needs a little more broth to make it more like a soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Autumn Muffins

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
These muffins are so great! I got mixed dried fruits that included, dried cherries, cranberries, and dried golden raisins. I'm actually going to make them again, and add more apple. My step-dad wasn't sure he'd like them, but he ended up eating them over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Slow Cooker Cranberry Turkey Breast

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
This was excellent!! I made it exactly like the recipe said. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Bread Machine Bagels

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
I've made one batch of these. My husband and I quickly and happily devoured one each when they came out of the oven. I found shaping them to be difficult, but I may have let the dough rest too long after the machine was done. Once I can figure out the trick to best shaping the dough, I'll give it five stars. I found it difficult to actually shape it into a smooth ball. For future batches we'll play with adding ingredients to the dough using the machine's raisin bread setting (i.e., chocolate chips, chopped spinach, maybe some whole grains & flax seeds). These are almost as good as our local bagel place which has some of the best bagels I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Lemon-Blueberry Dessert

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I took this to a friend's house for a birthday lunch, and it was SLAMMIN'! Quick and easy too. I did use three lo-fat cream cheeses and lo-fat Cool Whip. Also, I had some leftover gingersnaps, so I put those in the crust with the vanilla wafers and omitted the extra sugar. If I'd had more time I'd have skipped the Cool Whip (too much chemicals) and made my own whipped cream topping. ;-) Instead of adding half the berries to the cake and topping with the rest, I just added them all in the cake, and no one complained. I had to fight for the leftovers to take to two friends who didn't make the party, and made lots of people happy. Thanks for an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Sour Cream Pound Cake

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Another winner at Father's Day/Dad's birthday dinner! Everyone loved it! We're in the thick of blueberry season here, and i'm thinking of ways to use this year's crop. This was it! I didn't have butter flavoring, so I used 1-1/2 teaspoons each of vanilla/almond extracts, and it was fine. I also made a spiced blueberry sauce for extra heavenliness. Another delicious recipe - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

White Chocolate Cheesecake with White Chocolate Brandy Sauce

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Awesome cake - BIG hit with the family for Father's Day and my dad's birthday. SIL (professional chef) pronounced it "da BOMB" and everyone agreed. It was very easy and delicious, but I think next time it might get a crust of some kind. Thanks a bunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Fiesta Salad

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This was excellent, and I adhered to the recipe. My 18 year-old son told me to "make it more often!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Hawaiian Chicken Kabobs

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This was a lot of work (for me!), but it was worth it. Everyone loved it. I stuck to the recipe exactly. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken Bolognaise

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
We had this tonight for dinner. I agree with the other posters that it was watery and lacking in the spice department. I think that by thickening the sauce and adding some fresh veggies and herbs, it will be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Penne with Chicken and Asparagus

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was Delicious!!!! I didn't give five starts only because made a few changes. I used Cream of Chicken because I didn't have broth. I used chicken tenderloins since they cook faster. I added salt and pepper, wrapped them in foil (to keep the steam in) and ran them in the oven. Steamed the asparagus as suggested and combined all ingredients. This is my first review. I had to share how much I enjoyed this meal. Thanks Laurel B.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbeauty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

Roasted Cauliflower Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
no lika
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Texas Caviar I

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I took this to a New Year's party, and it was a HUGE hit! I changed a few things, just to make it a little easier on myself. I used fresh black-eye peas instead of canned and a bunch of parsley instead of cilantro (some people are weird about cilantro), and a can of fire-roasted tomatoes for extra flavor and less prep time. I also seeded one of the jalapenos, and it was neither too hot nor too bland. And I let it sit a day to blend the flavors. Thanks for a great recipe that will be one of my go-tos for parties and potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn Casserole I

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
we have made this in my family for years! always a favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken, Stuffing and Green Bean Casserole

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
kind of bland and soupy... so will have to mess around with this recipe to make it a little better next time if we decide to make it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States