Metairie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Chocolate Rapture Cake

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made this for Christmas dinner. Moist and delicious! I thought the directions were a bit off too, but I figured it out. Didn't have quite enough coconut - maybe 3/4 cup, which was plenty - but it came out very well. I tossed in a little more chocolate because we're a family of chocoholics and frosted it with chocolate buttercream. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Cheesy Thumbprint Appetizers with Hot Pepper Jelly

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Made three batches of these little goodies for Christmas parties. Big hit! I made it as is, and used Tabasco red pepper jelly. I also made them a lot smaller than specified. They go fast, so next time I'll at least double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Crumb Bars

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I made this to take to my BF's sister's house for Hurricane Isaac. The only change I made was to use 2c all purpose flour and 1c whole wheat. BIG hit with the evacuees!!! Had lots of requests for another, bigger batch. I might add chopped pecans in the crust next time. Thanks for making us happy during the big blow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Lavender Avocado Loaf

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I've never cooked with lavender but was curious. And I don't care for plain avocado (although I love a good chunky guacamole - go figure), but this recipe intrigued me. I tasted a lavender bud and thought it was quite strong, so I heated the milk and steeped the lavender in the milk overnight, then discarded the buds. This gave the milk a nice light lavender taste and no crunchy buds. I added a cup of chopped pecans for texture, which came out really good. One of my "guinea pigs" loved the bread, and so did I, It came out just a tad tangy and completely delicious. I also made one 9"x 5" and three mini loaves for sharing. Next time I make it I might just go hog wild and leave the buds in. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

French Leek Pie

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Muy delicioso! I wasn't sure about no eggs either, so I slipped one in the mixture. I subbed the light cream (couldn't find it anyway) with fat-free evap milk, and it worked fine. The only thing wrong with this recipe was that it only made one dainty little civilized pie. Easy enough to double, and maybe try the Gruyere or Swiss mixed with another similar cheese. Thanks for an amazing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pineapple Zucchini Muffins

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I subbed 1-1/2 c. whole wheat flour to the all-purpose and cut the sugar to 2 cups, one of white and one of brown. I got two dozen regular size muffins and a half dozen jumbos. Also one cup of oil (WAYYY too much at 2 cups!!) and one of applesauce. The most work was shredding the zucchini. ;-) I might cut back the cinnamon next time, as one of my taste-testers thought it was too much. I won't decide until I try it again. Overwhelming positive response; next up, see what Papa Bear thinks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Gomen Wat

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Yum! I grew up in the Southern U.S. and really only knew one way to cook collards (with meat). This vegetarian dish is delicious! I weighed my collards and after cooking them down, it seemed like I could have used double the amount in this dish without sacrificing flavor. The flavor is the real bonus of this dish! I was looking for a vegetarian collard dish that would be flavorful and this is perfect! My only suggestion is to cut down on the reserved liquid you add. It took me about 20 minutes to cook down the water and I added about 2/3 of my liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Savory Pork Chops

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Savory is a good way to explain it. The mustard flavor was very pungent in the mixing bowl, but it mellowed out nicely as it cooked. The pork was moist and as tender as I would expect for less than 30 minutes in the pan. I'll cook this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Salmon II

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
i'm not much of a salmon person. however my husband loves it. so i tried out this recipe and we were both head of heels for it! its simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kariann
Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Lemon Souffle Cheesecake with Blueberry Topping

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Un-be-LIEVE-ABLE!!!!! Made this for Mother's Day, and it got RAVES from everyone! My brother nearly tackled me as I was wrapping the leftovers to take home! The only thing I did differently was used two blocks of lo-fat cream cheese (my secret!) with the full fat and just cooked the blueberries down with the sugar. Didn't feel like juicing and all that work. And no one was any wiser. I also used a 10" springform, and the cake rose to the edge of the pan. Thanks for a 10-star recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Twinkie® Weiner Sandwich

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Is it possible to give a recipe NO stars???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Poblano Chicken Enchilada Casserole

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe sounded good..but it came out very bland, no flavor at all..and the sauce was way too thick and flavorless. I will try it again and adjust the seasonings and use a different cheese..I was very dissappointed ..also I don't see any salt or pepper or anything to make the taste POP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: La Place, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fried Cabbage I

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I made this last night to use a cabbage I got in the St. Patrick's Day parade. Used two gala apples and cut the butter to 2 tablespoons. That said, simple and delicious! The cabbage stayed a bit crunchy, but that's how I like it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Chip Banana Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made these with about half of the oil, half of the sugar, and a mixture of whole wheat white and all-purpose flour. I was also running low on bananas and had maybe half the amount of bananas required. Nonetheless, these were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Baked Shrimp with Feta and Tomato

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this dish on vacation for my best friend and her husband, and we ate every bit! I put the shrimp raw into the oven, as sauteeing them would have overcooked them. Awesome recipe - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Shrimp Artichoke Dip

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Took this to a Twelfth Night party last weekend, and the dish was CLEANED OUT!!!! It was a smash hit, and half the folks at the party asked for the recipe. :-) I boiled my shrimp in a little crab boil before adding to the dip, coarsely chopped the artichokes, and used sour cream in place of mayo. I also had a brainstorm that you could almost use this as an entree; just toss it over some noodles. YUMMMM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Argentine Lentil Stew

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Although I usually follow a recipe to a T the first time I make it, I improvised this one from the start. I used a whole 16-oz. bag of dried lentils and increased the seasonings accordingly, added two more carrots and another cup of peas. I replaced the fresh tomatoes with a can of stewed roasted. It filled my 5-quart pot, which is good. Anyway, I loved this soup and can't wait to share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Emily's Famous Parmesan and Peppercorn Ranch Dressing

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I did not like this. I had to borrow a packet of ranch mix from a neighbor to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sewverymindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Yantis, Texas, USA

Stuffed Mexican Peppers

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I was in the grocery and found poblano peppers "reduced for quick sale." I followed this recipe as written, but added some chopped onions and (obviously) used the poblanos instead of bell peppers. I purposely left some of the seeds in the poblanos after broiling them and removing the skins, and then stuffed them per the recipe. I also slathered these with Mexican style cheese when they were almost finished baking. These were a hit with me, my mom and husband! I know my son will gobble the rest of them up when he gets home tonight. Thanks for a great recipe!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Orange Herb Roasted Chicken

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I tried this last night and it was awesome. I just happened to have all the herbs growing outside, except for the sage, so I used (rubbed) sage powder. I used mandarin oranges because I had them on hand and needed to use them up. Like some other reviewers, I chopped the herbs and mixed them with the butter before rubbing on the chicken. Everyone loved this dish, and from now on when I roast chicken, this will be the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saucy Wench

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-40 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States