Metairie - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by chadrockman

Baked Beans, Texas Ranger

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Will definitely be making this again! Wow these were good!! I also used the Bush Maple baked beans instead of pork and beans. Not sure if the maple added to the sweetness or not, but some of my guests did comment it was too much on the sweet side for their taste. Other guests couldn't stop eating it (including myself). Next time I will cut the brown sugar in half or try pork and beans instead of Bush maple. This are some of the best baked beans I have eaten. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chadrockman

Best Ever Saucy Beef Kabobs

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
This is one of my favorite recipes and is always a big hit. The marinade / sauce is super yummy - you can literally eat it by itself! You will not stop taste-testing :) The first time I made this, I went straight to the grill. The second-time I marinated for 10 hours. Both were excellent. Definitely don't be shy brushing that sauce on as your grilling! Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chipotle Crusted Pork Tenderloin

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is a fantastic tasting rub and very easy to make. I threw it on the BBQ pit. However, it is extremely spicy even for me (and I love spicy), so you may want to cut back on the chipotle as other reviewers have noted. I will try 1 - 2 tablespoons next time. Super delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fresh Pineapple Upside Down Cake

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I was in a hurry when I made this cake and didn't follow the egg white/egg yolk directions as written (I beat the yolks into the whites). But it turned out OK in the end. I baked it in a 10" nonstick pan and didn't have a problem with dripping in the oven. Also, it came out of the pan beautifully. It was a bit juicy on top when done, but we just ran it through the broiler for a few minutes and it was DEVOURED by all!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Maria Montealegre Saddler

Flavorful Flounder For the Oven

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Easy meal . But didn't like the flounder this way. Tried it w tilapia and turned out much better. Fish stayed firm. But the flounder mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Montealegre Saddler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Millington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I'm giving it four stars because my family enjoyed them. However, I did not. Like others, I also found it to taste and have the texture of meatloaf. I followed the directions exactly and also thought it lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Garlic Lemon Broccoli

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I'm a beginner cook, but a very experienced consumer :) This was really easy to make. I squeezed a little lemon over it when it was done. Tasted fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Fudge Truffle Cheesecake from EAGLE BRAND®

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
This year's Easter dessert, along with a bananas foster upside-down cake! AMAZING cheesecake, very rich, even with one block of lo-fat cream cheese! I had my usual issue with cracking, but covered it with more chocolate, which added to the decadence. The only change I made was omit the sugar in the crust. I'd give it eleven stars if the ratings went that high!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sesame Beef

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Love this recipe! Easy to make, easy to double and looks like great served up on a platter with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Moist Chocolate Muffins

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
Since I don't have a special Valentine this year, I made a batch to bring to work for Valentine's Day. I increased the chocolate chips in the batter to 1 cup, which made them even better. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar, and I got 18 muffins without skimping on the portions. Watched baking time and started checking at 15 minutes, and they were well done at 18 minutes. They came together fast and easy too. Not overly sweet, better yet the second day, even better slightly warmed. I had a dozen very happy Valentines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Campfire Creme Brulee

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
A recipe for special occasions. Its very delicate but very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
A few slight changes. I used about 1-1/2 pounds of meat; a half cup of seasoned bread crumbs and half cup of wheat bran (no noticeable texture difference). I forgot the Parm cheese in the balls, but no biggie. I just added it to the finished dish. I also baked the balls 30 minutes at 350, then slid them into the sauce, which I already had underway. I happened to have a half-finished bottle of red wine (!), so I added a cup to the sauce. After cooking down for the recommended time, the sauce was VERY thick, so I added a little more wine! And a small can of tomato sauce. ;-) My dad, who is a gravy fiend, LOVED it. Easy, quick and delicious - my three favorite ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

German Chicken

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I did a double batch and added some garlic seasoning to the chicken and a tiny bit of sriracha to give it a bit of kick. We had it with black eyes peas and homemade mac n cheese. It was awesome! My fiance who doesn't like sauerkraut really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roasted Mushroom Soup

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I used three cartons of button mushrooms (on sale; couldn't resist), which was a bit more than doubling it. I roasted the shrooms 20 minutes with some fresh rosemary sneaked from my neighbor's bush, plus some fancy lemon-flavored olive oil. Skipped the heavy cream and used fat-free evap milk. Sparingly used my immersion blender in the pot instead, cause I'm my father's daughter and like chunky soup. Then forgot and got caught up in a great old movie and came back an hour later to find the soup cooked down halfway but thank goodness not burned. Threw in a little more broth and a few spinach leaves that needed to be used. AMAZING!!!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Coconut Banana Bread

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I thought I was finished my Christmas baking, but this recipe caught my eye. And I'm glad it did!! This bread is AMAAAAAAAAAZING!!!!!!! I subbed 1/2c. brown sugar for part of the white sugar and 3/4c. whole wheat with AP flour. Upped the amounts of coconut and white chocolate to 1-1/2 c. each and increased the banana to about 3/4c. more. Got 5 mini loaves and had to freeze four of them so I wouldn't be tempted. Can't wait to share this one with my friends and family - thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Sweet and Tarty...just like my girlfriend. I was initially concerned about hand squeezing lemons and getting enough juice so I'll admit I did buy lemon juice (gasp!). But I tried squeezing the lemons that I bought for the zest and it turned out it was very easy. Whipping the egg whites takes time so don't get discouraged if it looks like nothing is happening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RussellC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Apple Cake and Butter Sauce

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Made for my yoga class Christmas potluck, and it got RAVES!!! I used half AP flour and half whole-wheat; half white and half brown sugar. I also roughly chopped my apples (used 2 Galas) because I like texture, which worked well. The sauce, well . . . I'd cut the sugar down, as it was VERY sweet, but we just drizzled a bit onto each slice. I think a shot of rum to the sauce would be excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Southern Collard Greens

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I'm a True Southerner,born and raised in New Orleans First thing first they are people who cooks their "Greens" different. Me personally I was taught that you do add a little sugar in your bitter greens. As far as adding raw onions and tomatoes on top of your greens well that's just absurd. I've never heard of anyone going that. So you keep on cooking the way you cook and so will everyone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cocoa Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sausage Balls

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made these for our office breakfast party today. Co-workers raved, and several asked for the recipe. I used locally made chicken-green onion sausage and 2 c. of shredded Italian cheese mix. I'd suggest to back off a bit on the cheese, maybe 1-1/2c instead of 2 cups; as much as I kneaded it, some of it didn't get incorporated into the mix. Otherwise, it made a very picky group very happy - thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Blueberry Zucchini Muffins

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I'm excited to be the first to rate this delicious recipe! Moist and juicy; an excellent way to use the last half zucchini I had left over from another recipe, plus the last of the blueberries from this year's tiny crop. I didn't measure the zucchini, but I figured it was a little over a cup, but it worked out fine. Only thing I did differently was use 1/2c. whole wheat flour instead of all white, but that's one of my standard baking secrets. Made a dozen big, gorgeous, plump muffins just right for breakfast or anytime. Couldn't eat just one, no way, and I don't plan to share these beauties with anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Metairie, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States