Lake Charles - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More
Photo by Lindseye117

Tasty Slow Cooker Pulled Pork

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
It was good, but a little bland. Makes a great base for a sauce, but I added extra garlic and onion for more flavor. Plus I needed to add salt. It was sweet, but needed something more. Overall with the changes it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Banana Nut Bread by PAM®

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I am really surprised by this recipe. I've never made banana bread with honey and egg beaters before. It came out great! The only thing I changed was I added chocolate chips instead of the nuts. My family just don't eat nuts in their bread. Also, I used Pam coconut oil spray to spray down the pans. I love it for baking! I was really surprised when I found it at the store. I suggest trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Polish Kielbasa and Pierogies

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
There really isn't anything bad I can say about this recipe. It is amazing. I have made it so far both with and without the addition of cream to make it creamier, and both ways are simple and delicious. The Johnsonville sausage gives it so much flavor. I'm definitely keeping this recipe. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Golden Potato Soup

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I didn't have any chopped ham, so I substituted Johnsonville smoked sausage instead. It gave it such a smoky delicious flavor! This soup was delicious!! The only other thing I did differently was omit the celery as no one in my house likes it. A keeper recipe for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Key Lime Cake II

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I wad desperately looking for lime recipes because my neighbor brought me a huge bag of limes. I didn't have cream for a pie, so I'm glad I found this. I'll admit, I modified the recipe a bit due to limited ingredients. I only had yellow cake and vanilla pudding, so I added more fresh lime juice. I used about 1/2 cup. I also added coconut extract to both the cake and the glaze. Omg it was amazing. I would take a picture, but it's already gone! I made a bunt cake out of it, and it was so moist. Thanks so much for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

No Bake Cookies I

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
The first batch didn't set. I boiled the correct amount of time and even set them in the freezer after an hour and a half, and they still did not set. For the second batch, I boiled the same amount of time, but used only a 1/4 c. butter and 2 tablespoons of peanut butter. The cookies set perfectly. This is my husband's favorite cookie. It thrills him to have these to take to work, so I'll be making these quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Banana Split Bars

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
Rich, but sensational! I made this into a pie and reserved some of the pre-baked crust crumbles to sprinkle on top in place of the nuts. I mixed a couple of spoons of brown sugar into the pineapples to keep from being too twangy. And the pineapple juice does work for the bananas. Such a delicious dessert, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Black Bean Brownies

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I didn't care for the taste of these. The bean and coffee flavor was too distinguishable, even after adding a little more cocoa powder than was called for. However, these did bake very nicely and really resembled brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Deep Fried Dill Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I think the brand of pickles is what makes this recipe. I got super crispy hamburger dills and LOVED them. I order frickles (fried pickles) all the time here in Texas. They go great with home made ranch. They are super easy to make. My only suggestion is to double the flour/corn meal mixture as there was not enough to do the whole 32 oz jar. The liquid portion was perfectly portioned. I will be saving this recipe and making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Grilled Tuna

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Wonderful easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Reynolds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawtell, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

Lemon Cupcake with Blackberry Buttercream

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
These mini-cakes were wonderful. Next time I will skip the icing, no need at all. I cooked them the day ahead for a party and ate 3 right away before I iced them. I had to wrap them up tight to keep from eating more. The second day they weren't as good though. I added lemon extract and vanilla extract. Next time I will cut the vanilla way back to maybe 1/2 tsp. and make a lemon glaze. I WILL be making these again... and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Avocado Cheesecake with Walnut Crust

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This cheesecake is anything but cheesecake. It is not sweet at all. Think of a bland avocado pudding. The consistency is like gelled avocado. It reminds me of those old cookbooks from the 50's and 60's that have nothing but gelatin recipes. The raspberry sauce is this only saving grace, and that is a serving suggestion not the recipe itself. My family wouldn't touch it. I followed the recipe exactly as written as well. I really wanted to like this, but I just couldn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Amazing Muffin Cups

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
These were pretty yummy! If I had to change anything though, I'd add less cheese. They made them more chewy and less airy. If fact, I'd omit the cheese all together. These make great lunch pack items for the next day though. I had them for lunch 2 days in a row. I will make these again! Also, I must add that Johnsonville sausage is the best breakfast sausage I have ever tried. Perfect flavor and really juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Alfredo Chicken

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I was looking for a quick and easy weeknight meal that was under 6 ingredients. This seemed simple enough, and it was delicious! I did use sliced Johnsonville Italian sausage instead of the chicken though, and I will say that added a lot to the flavor. I would have never thought to add Italian sausage to an alfredo. I'm so glad I did!! Just slice it up and saute until cooked before adding the sauce and seasonings. I also watered mine down a bit to make sure I got all the sauce out of the jar. This was delicious!! Super easy too! If the flavor is lacking for anyone, try adding a bit of onion powder, salt, and pepper to the dish. I don't think it needed it though. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
I was skeptical at first because the carnitas I know are always deep fried. This to me sounded more like a guisado (stew), However, the dish did not disappoint! I was out of chipotle powder, so I substituted smoked paprika instead. However, I think the addition of chipotle would make this dish even more delicious. The "salsa" was lacking, so I added red pepper flakes, a little squirt of lime, some green onions, and garlic. However, the dish doesn't need the salsa as it can stand on its own. My husband begged me to keep this recipe in my favorites, so it looks like I'll be making this one again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindseye117

Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I found the salmon ok, but the salsa really made the dish. First off, I soaked my salmon in buttermilk in the fridge for an hour to get rid of any fishy smell and taste. Then I patted it dry and prepared the rub as stated above. While it was cooking, I made my salsa. I did however make changes to the salsa. I forgot to pick up the jalapeños, so I substituted red pepper flakes instead. I also added a little salt and garlic powder. It came out amazing. I was surprised too, seeing how I am not the biggest fan of grapefruit. It wasn't tart or sour at all. After my salmon was done, I took it out of the oven and tasted it as is. I found it kind of bland, but when I added the salsa the flavor was amazing. I'm giving this 4 stars, because without the salsa the fish is ok, but you really need the salsa to complete the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Yummy and delicious fudge! I ended up making quite a few batches of this to give away as Christmas presents. I paired mine with the saltine toffee cookies also found on this site. I followed the recipe to the T. No complaints at all! In fact I got rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Saltine Toffee Cookies

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
These were great! I ended up making a whole bunch of them to give out as gifts. I ended up putting them in a tin with some homemade fudge as well (recipe also in here on Allrecipes). This definitely will be a go to for gifts for the holidays! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spicy Pretzels

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Awesome! Used garlic powder, not garlic salt. Added 1 1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce. Did not bake as stated in other reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Manuel Schnitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA

Ruth's Grandma's Pie Crust

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Perfect crust! Easy to roll out and has a great flavor! I quartered the recipe because I only needed to make one pie, and it still worked out great! I used my left over crust after trimming it to make stuffed mini "pies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindseye117

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Friendswood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-20 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States