Lafayette, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Spicy Slow Cooker Black Bean Soup

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
great recipe. I added the end of a honey ham to the crock pot and cooked all day on low. Husband loved it and he usually doesn't like black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Zucchini Patties

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Very good except I baked them at 375 for 25 min intead of frying....also added some grilled onions I had on hand and onion and garlic powder, cayenne pepper, and I used sharp cheddar and monterey jack cheeses. Will make this again and often!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Roquefort Pear Salad

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Excellent salad.Although I did not care for the roquefort cheese. It was way too bitter or too tangy. Just not a good fit. I think I would substitute the cheese for feta. Or omit the cheese period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Creamy Parmesan Brussels Sprouts

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This recipe was amazing. No one in my family has a love of brussels sprouts but they all loved this recipe. I will defintely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Corn and Black Bean Salad

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
OMG! I AM a huge fan of balsamic vinegar but with this recipe it was too much. I like the idea of this recipe really I do. I think when I make this next time I will totally omit the balsamic vinegar. Stick with the seasonings and olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chicken with Chipotle

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Sooooo delicious! I ended up using shrimp instead of chicken and it came out really super good! I bet it'll be good on anything. The sauce is super easy to make so this is now my go-to sauce for getting a flavorful dinner on the table when I'm short on time or just want something truly yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Dahl Blount

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Webster, Texas, USA

Crisp Anise Seed Butter Cookies

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
I knew I would like these cookies but I was unsure of my son because of the licorice taste of anise seed but he loves them! Way too go. I will be making these more often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Greek Layer Dip

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Made this for an office party and it disappeared so fast I wish I had made a double batch. I did make a couple of small changes. First, I used roasted garlic hummus since I prefer that flavor. Also I seeded the cucumber and tomatoes before chopping to keep the mixture from being too watery. Finally I used greek seasoning and a pinch of salt instead of just oregano. I find that the mint and other spices in the greek mix just had a better flavor. Layered in a 9" pie plate and served with pita chips, carrots, and celery. Huge hit!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Tacos in Pasta Shells

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Absolutely delicious dish! I did make a few changes after reading the reviews. First, since we didn't have ground beef, I used ground chicken. I omitted the salt and chili powder and instead added in an envelope of taco seasoning and some cilantro to the cooked chicken to add extra flavor to the filling. Also, I put a jar of Pace chunky salsa in the bottom of my baking dish to prevent the shells from drying out. Used a can of red enchilada sauce to pour over the shells. I also used one cup of shredded mexican cheese blend and one cup of shredded pepper jack. The shells came out fantastic and we served them with shredded lettuce, sour cream and black olives. Even my picky kids loved them. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Sugar Coated Pecans

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I make these every year around the holidays to give to coworkers and neighbors. The only addition that I made was 2 tsp of mexican vanilla. Very easy and Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Hot Artichoke Spinach Dip

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I found this recipe and gave it to my sister who is not the best cook. She made it for our family Christmas Eve dinner. The dip came out great with no alterations! The family enjoyed it, and there was none left at the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Mustard Fried Chicken

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made this as a week day dinner. I seasoned the chicken they day before using my regular spices then basted with mustard. I let the chicken sit overnight and continued with the recipe the following afternoon. My husband said the chicken was moist and flavorful. My chicken was crispy on th outside, and moist on the inside, just like I like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

French Toast Stars

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Great Recipe!!! I made this for my family when they were visiting, everyone enjoyed it! I used a loaf and french bread cut into thick slices, and followed the recipe exactly. My kids especially loved it, they were eating leftovers all day long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Restaurant Style Chicken Nachos

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I made these for my husband, and my kids (ages 2 and 4). They were delicious, and everyone enjoyed them! A lot of people are complaining about having to add things to the recipe, but I feel like any good cook will take a recipe and add their own twist, that does not mean that the recipe was bad, just that due to personal taste some people like to add a little more or less! I did add Refried beans, and a nacho cheese sauce. I also used chicken thighs because I think they hold more flavor. This is a great recipe to add whatever ingredients you likeand make it your own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Baked Soy Lemon Chops

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
As suggested by others, I replaced half the soy sauce called for with water. Glad I did so because otherwise it would have been way too salty (and I am a saltaholic!). Next time I will add in a little more lemon juice because I felt like that got lost in the other flavors. I used bone-in center cut pork chops and marinated them about 4 hours and then baked the chops in the marinade for 40 minutes. The chops came out tender and flavorful. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAVLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Mexican Taco Quiche

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Loved this! Hubby raved. I made it a dinner meal and didn't add eggs. I added cheese on top and baked it for 25 mins. Hummock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Home Style Macaroni and Cheese

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I made a few changes to this recipe. Instead of regular cheddar, I used white sharp cheddar and instead of bread crumbs used ritz crackers. I also added a little bit more salt and pepper. It came out fabulous. I think I will keep this one going.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Fuselier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Easy Lemon Cookies

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These are simply delicious. I used the juice and zest of 1 lemon instead of extract. Perfect little morsel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShalanaPatout

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Frosting I

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made devil's food cupcakes with this frosting on top... yummmmm! The only thing I changed was that I used margarine instead of real butter, and I added a tsp. of vanilla extract. It came out fine, tastes great, and because there is no butter, it will not spoil if left out at room temperature for a while...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Pecan Pie

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This pie was fabulous, and so easy! I used light corn syrup and margarine instead of dark corn syrup and butter because thats what I had on hand (I read other reviewers say they used light syrup and it came out good, so I tried it too), and I didnt have enough pecans for this recipe, maybe 3/4 cup, but it worked out just fine. I poured them on top and pushed them down into the filling a little bit. I had to bake it an extra 15 minutes. The sugar did crystalize a little (nobody noticed but me) I'm not sure why this happened, but still it was the best pecan pie I ever ate... my family gobbled it up so fast, I only got a tiny piece... :( Anyway, thanks so much for this fast, easy and delicious recipe. I will treasure it for life...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-100 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States