Lafayette, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were awesome!!! The first time I made this recipe as written, the second time I was looking to do something a little different so I changed it up a bit. I added cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. I also roasted my peppers for 10 minutes in the oven the chopped them up. I mixed the peppers inside the mixture and put this inside of wonton wrappers and fried them. It was SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Guacamole

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is the best guacamole I have ever eaten!!! I made several adjustments just for my personal preference. I ommitted the onions because I do not like the taste of fresh onions. I also added a little cumin, and some diced jalapeno peppers for kick. I made the recipe for company that was staying the weekend. I made this recipe 3 times during the weekend because everyone loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by snmaxie83

Cherry Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were delicious!!! The first time I made the recipe as written, and the second time I made several changes that made it even better! For the sauce I used heavy cream instead of water, and cut down the butter to 2 tbsp. I also added 1tsp of mexican extract. For the filling I added vanilla extract, sugar, and cinnamon. I also mixed 1 package of cream cheese with some condensed milk. I spread the cream cheese mixture on the inside of the tortilla and continued the recipe as stated. This was very tasty, and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made these today. I can definitely see why this is one of the most popular recipes on this site. I followed the directions exactly with the exception on changing the sugar ratio per other reviewers. My hubby is a sugar cookie fan, and he said these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Cajun Girl

Smiling Caprese Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This one I added some Romano Cheese....talk about good! Brings out all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I was looking for something quick, easy, and not overly sweet. These scones hit the spot! I added vanilla, cinnamon, and a cranberry/raisin mix. Super easy to mix up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I only made the topping and used canned filling that I jazzed up. Very similar to a sugar cookie. Great taste, if you're looking for something easy and non traditional this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Deep Fried Dill Pickles

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I mixed all the ingredients together to make a batter per other reviewers. Came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Creamy Chicken on Linguine

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this with boneless skinless chicken thighs. I seasoned the chicken the night before and let it marinate overnight. After reading reviews I added 2 tablespoons of flour after sautéing the onions to help with thickening. I also used chicken broth instead of water and left out the milk. Everyone raved about this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Stef's Super Cheesy Garlic Bread

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
I made this recipe as written for dinner guest and got rave reviews! I made this for a second time tonight using margarine and mayo with olive oil. It was just as delicious as the first time, and a tiny bit healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by snmaxie83

Best Ever Jalapeno Poppers

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
These were marvelous! I used buttermilk instead of regular milk, and seasoned bread crumbs. I also coated mozzarella string cheese for the kids. I put them in the freezer for about an hour before frying. The second time I added browned pork sausage to the cream cheese mixture, even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Smooth Sweet Tea

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Awesome taste! I used really cheap tea and it still came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Baked Potato Soup

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Great recipe!!!! I boiled my potatoes in the broth instead of baking, and added a little more seasoning to my liking. I also used heavy cream because that's what I had on hand. Great Flavor and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

White Bread For The Bread Machine

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Rating recipe as is! Followed recipe as written and it turned out great. The kids made french toast and the hubby made a sandwich the following day. Thanks for posting -- definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Heavenly Hot Dog Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Best ever...Have made this quite a few times and always try something different each time...But I always add garlic powder and onion powder and use beer instead of water!!! Whole family loves this and I use my slow cooker everytime....start it b4 bed and by the morning its done:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Eggplant Au Gratin

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I made this in a casserole dish. It was good, but not great. Next time I will add pasta to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Walker, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

World's Best Lasagna

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I have made this recipe twice,and both times it was great!!! I made the recipe as listed with the exception of fennel seeds because I didn't have any on hand. This is my go to lasagna recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Country Fried Squash

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is a good base recipe, but it definitely needs more seasoning. After cooking the first batch I jazzed up the dredge by adding garlic powder, onion powder, paprika,and cayanne pepper. I also double dipped my squash for a thicker batter/crust. With these adjustments this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Chantal's New York Cheesecake

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This was my first time ever making a cheesecake. After reading the review I was tempted to change the recipe, but I decided to make it as is, and I am happy I did. I did however change the crust recipe by adding cinnamon and sugar to the graham cracker crumbs. I don't own a spring form pan so I used a 9x9 glass dish. I also halved the recipe becasue I only had 2 packages of cream cheese. I baked it in the oven on 325 with a dish full of water on the shelf below. I only allowed it to cool in the oven for about 1 1/2 hours then put it in the fridge. I was plesantly surprised at the flavor and texture. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Dessertlover's Classic Caramel Sauce

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
I made this sauce last night to use as a topping for a cheesecake. The first time I made it I allowed my sugar to get too brown and the caramel tasted burnt. The second time I used 1/4 cup brown sugar, and 2/4 cup white sugar (I halved the recipe). It came out great, and it made about 1 cup of sauce. This recipe is great, you just have to have patience! It took about 20 minutes (not 5-10) for the white sugar to begin to brown. I have an electric range so that could be why. Either way, it tasted great and I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 61-80 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States