Lafayette, Louisiana - Cooks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes

the buzz

Welcome to The Buzz

Newest Reviews Learn More

Easy Mint Chocolate Chip Ice Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I made it, omitting the vanilla extract because I didn't think it needed it. It turned out fantastic. Will make again, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chunky Monkey Pancakes

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
Both of my chunky monkeys ages 2 and 4 loved these pancakes! I'm not a fan of bananas myself, but I enjoyed these pancakes as well. I followed the recipe exactly, and these pancakes came out light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Butter Pecan Ice Cream

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Delicious, but a little too sweet for my liking. Will make again, decreasing sugar to 3/4 cup. Very rich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Chocolate Irish Car Bomb Cake

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This cake is evn better (I know- it hardly seems possible!) if you use half the ammt of crm cheese and substitute marscapone for the other half. All marscapone does not work well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Spinach Quiche

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I love quiche because you can add whatever ingredients you prefer. I always layer my meat, cheese, and spinach in the empty pie crust then pour the milk mixture on top, this way the ingredients are evenly distributed and you get some of everything in each bite! Also give you quiche time to set after cooking or it will be runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Sweet and Savory Kale

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I'm from Louisiana so I am accustomed to eating "greens". We usually eat collard or mustard greens but this was my first time cooking kale in this manor. The vinegar is a must! I cooked mine about 30 minutes because I prefer a very tender green. I will definitely try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Best Spanish Rice

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This recipe didn't hit the mark for me, my husband ate it, but I found it to be bland. I will try again adding cumin and some other spices and report back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Eggplant Parmesan II

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Tasty without the extra calories from frying. I did place my eggplant in a salt water bath and rinsed well before coating. I also double dipped my eggplant in the egg then bread crumbs. I baked on a rack for about 20 minutes so the bottoms would stay crispy. They would be great alone as a snack or appetizer with marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by snmaxie83

Cream Cheese Squares

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Good recipe, you can really make this your own by adding additional toppings to the filling. I made the recipe as written to give a fair review, but I can't wait to jazz it up! My kids ages 4 and 2 loved it! I'm going to add fruit and nuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by snmaxie83

J.P.'s Big Daddy Biscuits

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These came out soft and tender!! A key to soft tender biscuits is to handle the dough as little as possible! I mixed in the milk with a fork turned the dough out and rolled it just enough to make it flat. Also, make sure your shortening is ice cold, I put mine in the freezer for about 30 minutes before using it. This will definitely be my go to recipe for biscuits!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Fluffy Peanut Butter Frosting

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Good taste, but not the consistency that I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by snmaxie83

Mrs. Sigg's Snickerdoodles

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I made these exactly as written and they came out great! Nice and fluffy just like I like them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Home-Fried Cheese Sticks

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
These were excellent! I followed the recipe exactly! The breading came out perfect. No one could believe I made them from scratch. I made a double batch and put some in the freezer. They freeze great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
I've made this recipe several times and each time it comes out great. My husband swears he doesn't like slaw, but he always enjoys this one! Make sure to not over-dress your slaw because it will Become too soggy/watery and isn't as enjoyable that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Sausage Stuffed Jalapenos

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were awesome!!! The first time I made this recipe as written, the second time I was looking to do something a little different so I changed it up a bit. I added cheddar cheese instead of parmesan. I also roasted my peppers for 10 minutes in the oven the chopped them up. I mixed the peppers inside the mixture and put this inside of wonton wrappers and fried them. It was SOOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Guacamole

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is the best guacamole I have ever eaten!!! I made several adjustments just for my personal preference. I ommitted the onions because I do not like the taste of fresh onions. I also added a little cumin, and some diced jalapeno peppers for kick. I made the recipe for company that was staying the weekend. I made this recipe 3 times during the weekend because everyone loved it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by snmaxie83

Cherry Enchiladas

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These were delicious!!! The first time I made the recipe as written, and the second time I made several changes that made it even better! For the sauce I used heavy cream instead of water, and cut down the butter to 2 tbsp. I also added 1tsp of mexican extract. For the filling I added vanilla extract, sugar, and cinnamon. I also mixed 1 package of cream cheese with some condensed milk. I spread the cream cheese mixture on the inside of the tortilla and continued the recipe as stated. This was very tasty, and something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I made these today. I can definitely see why this is one of the most popular recipes on this site. I followed the directions exactly with the exception on changing the sugar ratio per other reviewers. My hubby is a sugar cookie fan, and he said these were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by Cajun Girl

Smiling Caprese Salad

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This one I added some Romano Cheese....talk about good! Brings out all the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cajun Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Grandma Johnson's Scones

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I was looking for something quick, easy, and not overly sweet. These scones hit the spot! I added vanilla, cinnamon, and a cranberry/raisin mix. Super easy to mix up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by snmaxie83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 41-60 (of 100) reviews
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Most Popular Blogs

Read our allrecipes.com blog

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States